The Public Services Department includes Collection Development, Library Instruction, and Reference. Suggestions for improving Library services can be made to the Head of Library Services or the Dean of Library Services.
Answers to questions about the Library, our resources, and/or our services may be found through our Ask Us option, which will either allow you to chat with a librarian or search our FAQ. If these options are not available or do not answer your questions, you can submit them to us through the Ask a Librarian form.
| Name | Email Address | Phone Number | Office |
| Ms. Jodi Poe | jpoe@jsu.edu | 256-782-8103 | 8th Floor |
This department includes the following areas of systems:
Responsibility for administration of the Houston Cole Library's collection development program and for implementation of its goals and policies rests with the subject specialists. Our librarians work together to ensure that our collection meets the guidelines established in our Collection Management and Development Policy.
Collection development includes selecting resources, providing instructional and reference assistance in the use of these materials, evaluating the current collections, planning for future growth, and preserving library resources. In addition, our collections are re-assessed periodically following our Collection Assessment Guidelines.
Go to the Subject Specialists page for complete listing.
| Name | Title | Email Address | Phone Number | Office |
| Mr. Cameron Barnes | Business and Social Sciences Librarian | cdbarnes@jsu.edu | 256-782-5244 | 4th Floor |
| Ms. Paula Barnett-Ellis | Health/Sciences Librarian | pbarnett@jsu.edu | 256-782-5249 | 9th Floor |
| Ms. Karlie Johnson | History and Geography Librarian | kljohnson@jsu.edu | 256-782-5253 | 3rd Floor |
| Ms. Laurie Heathcock | Education Librarian | lheathcock@jsu.edu | 256-782-5245 | 5th Floor |
| Ms. Laura Pitts | General Works and Literature Librarian | lepitts@jsu.edu | 256-782-5247 | 7th Floor |
| Ms. Hanrong Wang | Law, Military Science, and Technology Librarian | hwang@jsu.edu | 256-782-5251 | 10th Floor |
| Ms. Kimberly Westbrooks | Fine Arts, Communication, and Language Librarian | kwestbrooks1@jsu.edu | 256-782-5246 | 6th Floor |
The Library provides services to the University's distance learning community. These services include instruction, reference, use of the Library's catalog, access to the library's Web-based indexes and full-text articles, and document delivery. All Library personnel assist with the providing of resources and services to our distance education students. However, the primary contact distance education students should use is our Distance Education/Electronic Resources Manager. See the Distance Education Services section of the Houston Cole Library Policy and Procedures Manual.
This link opens in a new window| Name | Email Address | Phone Number | Office |
| Ms. Yingqi Tang | tang@jsu.edu | 256-782-5757 | Technical Services, Basement |
See the Library Access for Off-Campus Users Guide for more information.
The Government Documents Department is located in the Technical Services area in the basement of the Library. This department is responsible for selecting, acquiring, and cataloging U.S. Government depository documents, maintaiing the collection, and seeing that the Library adheres to all Federal Depository Library rules and regulations. See the Government Documents section of the Houston Cole Library Policy and Procedures Manual for more information.
This link opens in a new window
| Name | Title | Email Address | Phone Number | Office |
| Ms. Allison Boswell | Electronic Resources/Documents Librarian | amboswell@jsu.edu | 256-782-8137 | 4th Floor |
The Library offers Library Instruction to all individual users, classes, or groups that request these services. Go to the Library Instruction page for complete details. See the Library Orientation and Bibliographic Instruction section of the Houston Cole Library Policy and Procedures Manual (linked below) for more information.
This link opens in a new windowProfessors can use the Library Instruction Request Form to schedule a class instruction session.
| Name | Title | Email Address | Phone Number | Office |
| Ms. Jodi Poe | Head of Library Services | jpoe@jsu.edu | 256-782-8103 | 8th Floor |
| Name | Title | |
| Laura Pitts, Co-Chair | Literature Librarian | lepitts@jsu.edu |
| Jodi Poe, Ad Hoc Member | Head of Library Services | jpoe@jsu.edu |
| Cameron Barnes | Business and Social Sciences Librarian | cdbarnes@jsu.edu |
| Paula Barnett-Ellis | Health/Sciences Librarian | pbarnett@jsu.edu |
| Allison Boswell | Electronic Resources/Documents Librarian | amboswell@jsu.edu |
| Laurie Heathcock | Education Librarian | lheathcock@jsu.edu |
| Karlie Johnson | History, Anthropology and Geography Librarian | kljohnson@jsu.edu |
| Yingqi Tang | Distance Education/Electronic Resources Manager | tang@jsu.edu |
| Hanrong Wang | Law, Military Science, and Technology Librarian | hwang@jsu.edu |
| Kim Westbrooks | Fine Arts, Communication, and Languages Librarain | kwestbrooks1@jsu.edu |
Welcome to the Reference Department!
Our mission is to help you use our resources to find the information you need. Librarians can advise you about research options. There are a number of ways to contact us. See our FAQ and Ask Us area for more information about contacting us or to ask us questions. See our Research Assistance page for guidance with research projects.
Members of the department promote resources to faculty through outreach to departments, classes, and individuals. Librarians also engage in collaborative efforts with faculty to integrate library resources across the curriculum.
Houston Cole Library provides reference and research services. Our reference librarians are here to assist you in your research for information on various subjects. You can reach us by:
All the above services are available at following hours:
You may also want to contact our subject specialists concerning about finding information in your subject area:
| Name/ Title |
Specialized Areas | Email Address | Phone Number* | Office |
| Mr. Cameron Barnes Business and Social Sciences Librarian |
Accounting, business, Criminal Justice, Economics, Emergency Management, Finance, Management, Marketing, Political Science, Social Sciences, Social Work, and Sociology | cdbarnes@jsu.edu | 5244 | 4th Floor |
| Ms. Paula Barnett-Ellis Health/Sciences Librarian |
Biology, Chemistry, Computer Science, Engineering, Mathematics, Nursing, Physics, Psychology, and Sciences | pbarnett@jsu.edu | 5249 | 9th Floor |
| Ms. Allison Boswell Electronic Resources/Documents Librarian |
Government Information and Scholarly Communications | amboswell@jsu.edu | 8137 | 4th Floor |
| Ms. Karlie Johnson History & Geography Librarian |
Anthropology, Genealogy, Geography, History, Philosophy, and Physical & Earth Sciences | kljohnson@jsu.edu | 5253 | 3rd Floor |
| Ms. Laurie Heathcock Education Librarian |
Education and Kinesiology, | lheathcock@jsu.edu | 5245 | 5th Floor |
| Ms. Laura Pitts Literature Librarian |
English and Literature | lepitts@jsu.edu | 5247 | 7th Floor |
| Ms. Hanrong Wang Law, Military Science, and Technology Librarian |
Family & Consumer Science, Law, Library Science, Military Science, and Technology | hwang@jsu.edu | 5251 | 10th Floor |
| Ms. Kim Westbrooks Fine Arts, Communication, and Language Librarian |
Art, Communication, Drama, Foreign Languages, Music, and Religion | kwestbrooks1@jsu.edu | 5246 | 6th Floor |
*All telephone numbers begin with 256.782.
See our Hours and Calendar page for the operating hours and closing of the Library.
|
Houston Cole Library Telephone (Circulation): 256-782-5758 |