Skip to main content

Library Access Off-campus: Welcome

New E-books of the Month

·       Analog Integrated Circuit Design Automation: Placement, Routing and Parasitic Extraction Techniques: http://lib-proxy.jsu.edu/login?url=https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/jsulib-ebooks/detail.action?docID=4603152

·       Aristotle’s Nicomachean Ethics: A Critical Guide: http://lib-proxy.jsu.edu/login?url=https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/jsulib-ebooks/detail.action?docID=775106

·       Bridging the Gap: How Community Health Workers Promote the Health of Immigrants: http://lib-proxy.jsu.edu/login?url=https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/jsulib-ebooks/detail.action?docID=2044598

·       Brown & Sharpe and the Measure of American Industry: Making the Precision Machine Tools that Enabled Manufacturing, 1833-2001:http://lib-proxy.jsu.edu/login?url=https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/jsulib-ebooks/detail.action?docID=4850713

·       Deciphering Sun Tzu: How to Read The Art of War: http://lib-proxy.jsu.edu/login?url=https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/jsulib-ebooks/detail.action?docID=1920738

·       Health Disparities, Diversity, and Inclusion: Context, Controversies, and Solutions: http://lib-proxy.jsu.edu/login?url=https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/jsulib-ebooks/detail.action?docID=4441454

·       Medieval Robots: Mechanism, Magic, Nature, and Art: http://lib-proxy.jsu.edu/login?url=https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/jsulib-ebooks/detail.action?docID=3442519

·       Nicomachean Ethics: Books II-IV (Displays as Aristotle: Nicomachean Ethics in ProQuest Ebook Central): http://lib-proxy.jsu.edu/login?url=https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/jsulib-ebooks/detail.action?docID=431317

·       Novel Three-State Quantum Dot Gate Field Effect Transistor: Fabrication, Modeling and Applications: http://lib-proxy.jsu.edu/login?url=https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/jsulib-ebooks/detail.action?docID=1592288

·       Project Management and Engineering Research: AEIPRO 2016: http://lib-proxy.jsu.edu/login?url=https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/jsulib-ebooks/detail.action?docID=4819665

·       Project Management Metrics, KPIs, and Dashboard: A Guide to Measuring ad Monitoring Project Performance: http://lib-proxy.jsu.edu/login?url=https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/jsulib-ebooks/detail.action?docID=5015537

·       Proposal Writing for Clinical Nursing and DNP Projects (2nd Ed): http://lib-proxy.jsu.edu/login?url=https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/jsulib-ebooks/detail.action?docID=4915746

·       Sun Tzu’s The Art of War (Bilingual Edition Complete Chinese and English Text): http://lib-proxy.jsu.edu/login?url=https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/jsulib-ebooks/detail.action?docID=1025934  

·       5G Radio Access Networks: Centralized RAN, Cloud-RAN and Virtualization of Small Cells:http://lib-proxy.jsu.edu/login?url=https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/jsulib-ebooks/detail.action?docID=4824767

·       Computer Communication, Networking and Internet Security: Proceedings of IC3T 2016:http://lib-proxy.jsu.edu/login?url=https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/jsulib-ebooks/detail.action?docID=4853802

·       Constitutional Torts and the War on Terror: http://lib-proxy.jsu.edu/login?url=https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/jsulib-ebooks/detail.action?docID=4766844

·       Cyberethics: Morality and Law in Cyberspace: http://lib-proxy.jsu.edu/login?url=https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/jsulib-ebooks/detail.action?docID=4441666

·       Designing and Teaching Online Courses in Nursing: http://lib-proxy.jsu.edu/login?url=https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/jsulib-ebooks/detail.action?docID=4866507

·       Digital SLR Photography All-In-One For Dummies: http://lib-proxy.jsu.edu/login?url=https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/jsulib-ebooks/detail.action?docID=4773844

·       Emergencies in Public Law: The Legal Politics of Containment: http://lib-proxy.jsu.edu/login?url=https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/jsulib-ebooks/detail.action?docID=4438875

·       Environmental Law Handbook: http://lib-proxy.jsu.edu/login?url=https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/jsulib-ebooks/detail.action?docID=4746926

·       Failed Promise of Sentencing Reform: http://lib-proxy.jsu.edu/login?url=https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/jsulib-ebooks/detail.action?docID=4819125

·       From Photon to Pixel: The Digital Camera Handbook: http://lib-proxy.jsu.edu/login?url=https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/jsulib-ebooks/detail.action?docID=4815067

·       Handbook of Research on Advanced Wireless Sensor Network Applications, Protocols, and Architectures: http://lib-proxy.jsu.edu/login?url=https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/jsulib-ebooks/detail.action?docID=4625993

·       Hardware Hacker: Adventures in Making and Breaking Hardware: http://lib-proxy.jsu.edu/login?url=https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/jsulib-ebooks/detail.action?docID=4826919

·       Illicit Sex within the Justice System: Using Weak Power to Legislate, Regulate and Enforce Morality:http://lib-proxy.jsu.edu/login?url=https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/jsulib-ebooks/detail.action?docID=4884300

·       Innovation, Between Science and Science Fiction: http://lib-proxy.jsu.edu/login?url=https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/jsulib-ebooks/detail.action?docID=4908174

·       Law Professors: Three Centuries of Shaping American Law: http://lib-proxy.jsu.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=nlebk&AN=1440290&site=ehost-live

·       Mathematical Models of Electrical Network Systems: Theory and Applications - An Introduction:http://lib-proxy.jsu.edu/login?url=https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/jsulib-ebooks/detail.action?docID=4891386

·       Networking Simulation for Intelligent Transportation Systems: High Mobile Wireless Nodes:http://lib-proxy.jsu.edu/login?url=https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/jsulib-ebooks/detail.action?docID=4843083

·       Performance Anxiety in Media Culture: The Trauma of Appearance and the Drama of Disappearance: http://lib-proxy.jsu.edu/login?url=https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/jsulib-ebooks/detail.action?docID=4719906

·       Performance Anxiety Strategies: A Musician’s Guide to Managing Stage Fright: http://lib-proxy.jsu.edu/login?url=https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/jsulib-ebooks/detail.action?docID=4699773

·       Public Health Law: Power, Duty, Restraint: http://lib-proxy.jsu.edu/login?url=https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/jsulib-ebooks/detail.action?docID=4068976

·       Public Health Law in a Nutshell: http://lib-proxy.jsu.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=nlebk&AN=1249550&site=ehost-live

·       Role of SDN in Broadband Networks: http://lib-proxy.jsu.edu/login?url=https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/jsulib-ebooks/detail.action?docID=4784155

·       Skype: Bodies, Screens, Space: http://lib-proxy.jsu.edu/login?url=https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/jsulib-ebooks/detail.action?docID=4684168

·       Social Networks as the New Frontier of Terrorism: #Terror: http://lib-proxy.jsu.edu/login?url=https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/jsulib-ebooks/detail.action?docID=4779322

·       User Experience (UX) Design for Libraries (THE TECH SET #18): http://lib-proxy.jsu.edu/login?url=https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/jsulib-ebooks/detail.action?docID=1092943

Welcome Message

Welcome to the Houston Cole Library Distance Education information guide. This guide is designed  for students, faculty, staff and anyone who is interested to use our library.  We are committed to delivering a great experience in supporting your learning, teaching and researching needs. This guide covers the following topics:

For Students and Faculty
Remote Access

        Get Access
        Access Troubleshooting 

E-Resources (E-books, E-journals, Streaming Videos etc.)
        Finding Article with a Citation
        Finding an Article from Databases
        Finding an E-book
        Finding an Article on Reserve 
        Finding a Streaming Video 
        Library's Digital Collection
        Providers' Guide (EBSCOhost, Gale, JSTOR)

Printed Resources (Books, Journals etc.)
        Document Delivery vs. Interlibrary Loan
        Circulation Rules and Regulations
        Finding Printed Journals/Books
        Renewing Materials
        Borrow Reserved Materials

Research Assistance
        Citation Style Guide
        Citation Management Tools

        Publishing in Scholarly Journals
        Featured Books​
        Evaluation Resources
        Copyright & Plagiarism

        Research Help
        Statistics

Course Reserve
Finding pURL Link 
Featured Databases & Books
Requesting for Purchase
Library Instruction /Orientation Request
Faculty/Librarian Collaboration
Refero - an Anti-plagiarism Tutorial
Databases on Trial
Resources for creative teaching

New Resources

·       Cultural Periodicals from the Southern U.S., 1797-1877: http://lib-proxy.jsu.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?profile=ehost&defaultdb=cps
·       Periodicals of the British Empire and Its Colonies, 1702-1879: http://lib-proxy.jsu.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?profile=ehost&defaultdb=pbe
·       Women’s Periodicals of the Nineteenth Century, 1866-1891: http://lib-proxy.jsu.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?profile=ehost&defaultdb=wpn

·         Bloom’s Literaturehttp://libguides.jsu.edu/resources/fofblooms

Examines great writers, important works, memorable characters, and influential movements and events in world literature.

·         ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global: The Humanities and Social Sciences Collection:http://libguides.jsu.edu/resources/pqdtglobal

This database is the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses on humanities and social sciences. Coverage: 1637 – current.

·         RefWorks: http://libguides.jsu.edu/resources/pqrefworks

A reference management service that supports the needs of students, faculty and librarians.

Distance Education Service

Yingqi Tang's picture
Yingqi Tang
Contact:
Houston Cole Library
Jacksonville State University
700 Pelham Rd. N
Jacksonville, AL 36265-1602
Tel: (256) 782-5757
Fax: (256) 782-5872
Website / Blog Page

Library Contacts

Reference Hours & Calendar:

  • Mon-Thurs: 9 am-10:30 pm (CST)
  • Fri: 9 am-4 pm (CST)
  • Sat: 9 am-4:30 pm (CST)
  • Sun: 3 pm-10:30 pm (CST)

Library Calendar