Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Collection Development and Assessment: Home

This guide is for Collection Development, Management, and Creating Assessments

Chair, Collection Management and Development Group

Jodi Poe's picture
Jodi Poe
Contact:
8th Floor
Houston Cole Library
Jacksonville State University
700 Pelham Rd N
Jacksonville, AL 36265
256-782-8103
256-782-5872
jpoe@jsu.edu
Website

Welcome

Welcome to the Houston Cole Library Guide for Collection Development and Management! 

Purpose of Collection Assessment

  • Gives an overall view of your collection
  • Helps to justify expenditures
  • Enhances the school’s academic curriculum
  • Functions as a means of support for accreditation
  • Aids in collection development

When Will Assessments Be Complete?

Collections will be assessed every 5 years (or upon request by the Department, School, or Administration), except those that do not offer a degree. Those collections that are tied to non-degree awarding subjects will be assessed every 10 years or upon request.

The Chair of the Collection Management and Development Group will send out a list of assessments that will be due each year.

Assessments Due This Year

  • Art (Due December 1, 2020)
  • Emergency Management (Due October 5, 2020)
  • Library Science (Due February 1, 2021)
  • Music (Due February 1, 2021)
  • Political Science and Public Administration (March 1, 2021)
  • World History (Due April 5, 2021)

Resources for College Libraries (RCL)