Skip to main content

Library Personnel Directory: Public Services

Contact information for Library personnel by name and department. Also includes contact information for departmental liaisons.

Public Services Department

The Public Services Department includes the User Services areas of Circulation, Interlibrary Loan, Reserves, and the Music Listening Room, Collection Development, Library Instruction, and Reference. Suggestions for improving Library services can be made to the Dean of Library Services.

Answers to questions about the Library, our resources, and/or our services may be found through our Ask Us option, which will either allow you to chat with a librarian or search our FAQ. If these options are not available or do not answer your questions, you can submit them to us through the Ask a Librarian form.

Head of Public Services

 

 Name  Email Address  Phone Number  Office
 Mr. John Upchurch  jupchurch@jsu.edu  256-782-5252  8th Floor

 

This department includes the following areas of systems:

 

User Services

User services is made up of the Circulation Department, Interlibrary Loan Department, Reserves, and the Music Listening Room.

Supervisor of User Services

 Name  Email Address  Phone Number  Office
 Ms. Debra E. Deering-Barrett  deering@jsu.edu  256-782-5243  4th Floor

 

Complete details about User Services can be found at the User Services Guide.

Circulation

The Circulation Desk is located in the lobby of the Library. Patrons can check circulating materials in and out at the Circulation Desk. See the Circulation section of the Houston Cole Library Policy and Procedures Manual for more information.

Circulation Personnel

 Name  Title  Email Address  Phone Number  Office
 Ms. Debra E. Deering-Barrett  Supervisor of User Services  deering@jsu.edu  256-782-5243  Circulation
 Mr. Bill Batchelor  Public Services Assistant  bbatch@jsu.edu  256-782-5758  Circulation
 Mr. Toby Falk  Public Services Assistant  tfalk@jsu.edu  256-782-5758  Circulation
 Ms. Terre King  Public Services Assistant  tnking@jsu.edu  256-782-8490  Circulation
 Ms. Tiffany Onkst  Public Services Assistant  tonkst@jsu.edu  256-782-8490  Reserves
 Ms. Linda Reeves  Public Services Assistant  lreeves@jsu.edu  256-782-8494  Media Lab
 Mr. Zachary Third  Public Services Assistant  zthird@jsu.edu  256-782-5758  Circulation

 

Complete details about these services can be found at the Circulation section of the User Services Guide.

Collection Development

Responsibility for administration of the Houston Cole Library's collection development program and for implementation of its goals and policies rests with the subject specialists. Our librarians work together to ensure that our collection meets the guidelines established in our Collection Management and Development Policy.

Collection development includes selecting resources, providing instructional and reference assistance in the use of these materials, evaluating the current collections, planning for future growth, and preserving library resources. In addition, our collections are re-assessed periodically following our Collection Assessment Guidelines.

Go to the Subject Specialists page for complete listing.

Reference Librarians

 

 Name  Title  Email Address  Phone Number  Office
 Ms. Paula Barnett-Ellis  Health/Sciences Librarian  pbarnett@jsu.edu  256-782-5249  9th Floor
 Ms. Karlie Johnson  History & Geography Librarian  kljohnson@jsu.edu  256-782-5253  3rd Floor
 Ms. Laurie Heathcock  Education Librarian  lheathcock@jsu.edu  256-782-5245  5th Floor
 Ms. Carley Knight   Fine Arts, Communication, and Language Librarian  esknight@jsu.edu  256-782-5246  6th Floor
 Mr. Harry Nuttall  Literature Librarian  hnuttall@jsu.edu  256-782-5247  7th Floor
 Ms. Kimberly Westbrooks  Business and Social Sciences Librarian  kwestbrooks1@jsu.edu  256-782-5244  4th Floor
 Ms. Charlcie Pettway Vann  Psychology, and General Reference Librarian  cvann@jsu.edu  256-782-8434  2nd Floor
 Ms. Hanrong Wang  Law, Military Science, and Technology Librarian     hwang@jsu.edu  256-782-5251  10th Floor

Distance Education

The Library provides services to the University's distance learning community. These services include instruction, reference, use of the Library's catalog, access to the library's Web-based indexes and full-text articles, and document delivery. All Library personnel assist with the providing of resources and services to our distance education students. However, the primary contact distance education students should use is our Distance Education/Electronic Resources Manager. See the Distance Education Services section of the Houston Cole Library Policy and Procedures Manual.

Distance Education/Electronic Resources Manager

 Name  Email Address  Phone Number  Office
 Ms. Yingqi Tang  tang@jsu.edu  256-782-5757  Distance Education/Electronic Resources | Technical Services

 

See the Library Access for Off-Campus Users Guide for more information.

Instruction

The Library offers Library Instruction to all individual users, classes, or groups that request these services. Go to the Library Instruction page for complete details. See the Library Orientation and Bibliographic Instruction section of the Houston Cole Library Policy and Procedures Manual for more information. Instructors can use the Library Instruction Session Request Form to arrange for a class instruction session.

Library Instruction Personnel

 

 Name  Title  Email Address  Phone Number  Office
 Mr. John Upchurch  Head of Public Services  jupchurch@jsu.edu  256-782-5252  8th Floor

Interlibrary Loan and Universal Borrowing

Interlibrary Loan and Universal Borrowing are services provided to JSU students, faculty, and staff. These services request materials from, or supplies materials to, another library.

  • Interlibrary Loan is available to faculty members, administrative staff, staff, graduate students, and undergraduate students engaged in thesis or senior paper research. Privileges may be extended to retired employees at the discretion of the Supervisor of User Services or Head of Public Services.
  • Universal Borrowing is available to faculty members, administrative staff, staff, graduate students, and undergraduate students. Privileges may be extended to retired employees at the discretion of the Supervisor of User Services or Head of Public Services.

Supervisor of User Services

 Name  Email Address  Phone Number  Office
 Ms. Debra E. Deering-Barrett  deering@jsu.edu  256-782-5243  4th Floor

 

Complete details about these services can be found at the Interlibrary Loan and Universal Borrowing section of the User Services Guide.

Music Listening Room

The Music Listening Room is located on the 6th floor of the Library. The Listening Room houses the majority of the University's musical albums, tapes, and audio CD's.

Media Lab Assistant

 Name  Email Address  Phone Number  Office
 Ms. Linda Reeves lreeves@jsu.edu  256-782-8494  Media Lab | 6th Floor

 

Complete details about these services can be found at the Listening Lab section of the User Services Guide.

See the Music Listening Room section of the Houston Cole Library Policy and Procedures Manual for more information.

Reference Services

Welcome to the Reference Department!

Our mission is to help you use our resources to find the information you need. Librarians can advise you about research options. There are a number of ways to contact us. See our FAQ and Ask Us area for more information about contacting us or to ask us questions. See our Research Assistance page for guidance with research projects.

Members of the department promote resources to faculty through outreach to departments, classes, and individuals. Librarians also engage in collaborative efforts with faculty to integrate library resources across the curriculum.

Houston Cole Library provides reference and research services. Our reference librarians are here to assist you in your research for information on various subjects. You can reach us by:

  • Visit us: Reference Desk, 2nd Floor of Houston Cole Library
  • Call Us: 256-782-8034; 800-782-5291
  • Make an individual appointment with a librarian
  • Chat with us via Blackboard IM: jsulibrary (this services is only available for JSU faculty, staff and students)
  • Submit questions via email through the Ask a Librarian form.

All the above services are available at following hours:

  • Monday- Thursday: 9:00 am - 10:30 pm
  • Friday: 9:00 am - 4:00 pm
  • Saturday: 9:00 am - 4:30 pm
  • Sunday: 3:00 pm-10:30 pm

You may also want to contact our subject specialists concerning about finding information in your subject area:

Reference Librarians

Name/
Title
Specialized Areas Email Address Phone Number  

Blackboard  IM ID

Office
Ms. Paula Barnett-Ellis
Health/Sciences Librarian
Biology, Chemistry; Computer Science; Mathematics; Nursing; Physics & Engineering pbarnett@jsu.edu 256-782-5249 pbarnett 9th Floor
Ms. Karlie Johnson
History & Geography Librarian
Geography & Anthropology; History; Physical & Earth Science kljohnson@jsu.edu 256-782-5253   3rd Floor
Ms. Laurie Heathcock
Education Librarian
Education; Health, Physical Education & Recreation lheathcock@jsu.edu 256-782-5245 charnigo 5th Floor
Ms. Carley Knight
Fine Arts, Communication, and Language Librarian  
Art, Communication, Drama; Foreign Languages; Music esknight@jsu.edu 256-782-5246 carley_librarian 6th Floor
Mr. Harry Nuttall
Literature Librarian
English, Literature hnuttall@jsu.edu 256-782-5247 hnuttall 7th Floor
Ms. Kim Westbrooks
Business and Social Sciences Librarian
Criminal Justice; Emergency Management; Finance, Economics & Accounting; Management & Marketing; Political Science; Sociology   256-782-5244   4th Floor
Ms. Charlcie Pettway Vann
Psychology, and General Reference Librarian
Psychology,  Philosophy & Religion cvann@jsu.edu 256-782-8434 cvann1 2nd Floor
Ms. Hanrong Wang
Law, Military Science, and Technology Librarian
Family & Consumer Science; Law; Military Science; Technology hwang@jsu.edu 256-782-5251 hwang1 10th Floor

 

See our Hours and Calendar page for the operating hours and closing of the Library.

Reserves

The Houston Cole Library maintains a collection of course related, high-demand, high-risk, and librarian discretionary materials that are segregated, often temporarily, from the general collection and usually assigned restrictive loan periods so as to assure greater availability to library patrons, who may have need of the materials within a limited time period. The more information you have about the material the easier it is for the library staff to find the particular reserve item(s) that you need. You will need the professor's name, course number, and course title. See the Reserve section of the Houston Cole Library Policy and Procedures Manual for more information.

Instructors, please use our Request to Place Materials on Course Reserves Form when you need materials to be placed on reserves.

Reserve Personnel

 Name  Title  Email Address  Phone Number  Office
 Ms. Tiffany Onkst  Public Services Assistant | Reserves  tonkst@jsu.edu  256-782-8490  Reserves | Lobby
 Ms. Terre King  Public Services Assistant  tnking@jsu.edu  256-782-8490  Reserves | Lobby

 

Complete details about these services can be found at the Course Reserves section of the User Services Guide.

Library Contact Information

Houston Cole Library
Jacksonville State University
700 Pelham Road North
Jacksonville, AL 36265

Telephone (Circulation): 256-782-5872
Telephone (Reference): 256-782-8034

FAX: 256-782-5872