Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Underground Newspaper Collection: 1960s Counterculture: Assignment Topics

This is a guide to the Underground Press Syndicate's (UPS) Underground Newspaper Collection on microfilm. This collection includes over hundreds of 1960's counterculture newspapers.

Assignment

For this assignment:
1. Choose a topic that interests you from the topics listed below.

2. Find one article in the UPS Underground Newspaper Collection on your topic. These articles were written by counterculture youth. Many of the articles, because they were written by young activists who were also pushing the limits of freedom of expression, often use profanity accompanied by comix that you might find inappropriate. Although college is a place where we should feel comfortable investing all points of view, please read the disclaimer below if you are not comfortable with the assignment. Please see the Librarian for assistance in using the Underground Newspaper Collection.

3. Find one article in the New York Times Database on the same topic.

4. Compare the articles. Were there differences in how the events were portrayed? Is this a topic that is still being debated in the news today? How so?

DISCLAIMER! IF YOU FEEL OFFENDED OR UNCOMFORTABLE WITH THIS ASSIGNMENT, the librarian will help you locate a topic that does not upset you. This assignment is not meant to push political or ethical views on you. The purpose of the assignment is to understand the feelings and sentiment of the 1960s counterculture movement and compare their version of events to the version set forth in the mainstream media at the time. 

Key Events, Issues, & Individuals

Civil Rights Movement

  • Student Non-Violent Coordinating Committee (SNCC) 
  • Martin Luther King, Jr., and the Southern Christian Leadership Conference (SCLC)  (Assassinated April 4th, 1968)
  • Lowndes County (Alabama)  Freedom Organization 
  • Bloody Sunday & the Selma To Montgomery Marches (1965)
  • The Voting Rights Act of 1965 
  • The Watts Riots & Police Brutality (1965)
  • Malcolm X, Human Rights Activist  (Assassinated February 21st, 1965)
  • The Black Panther Party & Black Power 
  • Emory Douglas & Revolutionary Art in the Black Panther Intercommunal News Service
  • The Detroit Race Riot (1967)
  • Elridge Cleaver's Soul on Ice (1968)
  • The Assassination of Fred Hampton (Activist & Black Panther Member) in 1969
  • The Young Lords Party and Puerto Rican Activists  
  • The American Indian Movement (AIM) & the Occupation of Wounded Knee at Pine Ridge Reservation (1973)

Student Protest & the New Left

  • Students for a Democratic Society (SDS) and the Port Huron Statement
  • Southern Students Organizing Committee (SSOC) (1964-1969)      
  • The Columbia University Protests of 1968
  • The Peoples Park Protest at Berkeley, California (1969)
  • Kent State Shootings (1970)
  • Jackson State Shootings (1970)
     

Women’s Liberation

  • The 1968 Miss America Pageant & the Women's Liberation Movement

·Gloria Steinem

  • Robin Morgan's "Goodbye to All That" & the Women's Takeover of Rat (1970)


Gay Rights Movement

  • The Stonewall Riots (1969) and the Gay Liberation Movement

The Beat Generation

  • Tuli Kupferberg,  the"World's Oldest Hippie" 

Anti-war Movement

  • The Vietnam Day Committee & Anti-war Demonstrations
  • National Mobilization to End the War in Vietnam (1967) 
  • 1967 March on the Pentagon 
  • Vietnam Veterans Against the War
  • Canada and Vietnam War Resisters from the United States 
  • Stop the Draft Week (1967)
  • My Lai Massacre in Vietnam (1968)  & Public Reaction
  • The Tet Offensive in Vietnam (1968) & Public Reaction

“Hippie” & anti-Establishment Culture

  • Timothy Leary, "Turn on, Tune in, and Drop Out" 
  • Ken Kesey & the Merry Pranksters: Counterculture Road Trip
  • The San Francisco Mime Troupe and Guerilla Theater Activism
  • The Summer of Love in San Francisco (1967)
  • The Diggers & Community Activism (1967)
  • Human Be-In in San Francisco's Golden Gate Park (1967) 
  • Underground Comix: Revolutionary Art, Freedom of Expression, and Sexism
  • Woodstock Music and Art Fair (1969)
  • The Altamont Free Concert (1969)
  • John Sinclair's "Liberation Music" (December 1970) Perspective about Rock n' Roll
  • Abbie Hoffman's Steal This Book (1971)
  • The Weather Underground (You Don't Need a Weatherman to Know Which Way the Wind Blows) 

Politics and Protest

  • 1968 Chicago Democratic National Convention Demonstrations 
  • Richard Nixon: Perspectives from the Counterculture
  • J. Edgar Hoover and the FBI's Counter Intelligence Program (COINTELPRO) and the Assault on the Civil Rights and the Counterculture
  • The Assassination of Robert F. Kennedy (June 5th, 1968)
  • The March on Washington for Jobs and Freedom (1963) 
  • Abbie Hoffman & the Protest on Wall Street at the New York Stock Exchange (1967)
  • The White Panther Party (1968)
  • The Yippies, Zippies, and the 1972 Democratic (and Republican) National Convention in Miami Beach, Florida

Environmental Movement

  • The Whole Earth Catalog (1968), Mother Earth News (1970), Earth Day(1970), and the rise of the Environmental/ Green Movement 
  • Drop City, the Fort Hill Community, and Communal Living  
  • The Anti-nuclear Movement & the Cold War

American Indian Movement (AIM)

  • Incident at Wounded Knee on the Pine Ridge Reservation involving the Oglala Lakota (Sioux) activists in  Wounded Knee, South Dakota

Videos on Assignment Topics

Student Non-Violent Coordinating Committee (SNCC) VIDEO

The Black Panther Party & Black Power VIDEO

Emory Douglas: Artist of the  Black Panther Intercommunal News Service VIDEO

Martin Luther King, Jr., and the Southern Christian Leadership Conference (SCLC) VIDEO

Ken Kesey & the Merry Pranksters: Counterculture Road Trip VIDEO

Malcolm X, Human Rights Activist VIDEO

 The Vietnam Day Committee & Anti-war Demonstrations VIDEO

The Voting Rights Act of 1965 VIDEO

National Mobilization to End the War in Vietnam (1967) VIDEO

1967 March on the Pentagon VIDEO

1968 Chicago Democratic National Convention Demonstrations VIDEO

Richard Nixon: Perspectives from the Counterculture

J. Edgar Hoover and the FBI's Counter Intelligence Program (COINTELPRO) and the Assault on the Civil Rights and the Counterculture

Kent State Shootings (1970)

Jackson State Shootings (1970)

The Watts Riots & Police Brutality (1965)

The Summer of Love in San Francisco (1967)

Vietnam Veterans Against the War

Timothy Leary, "Turn on, Tune in, and Drop Out" 

Canada and Vietnam War Resisters from the United States 

Stop the Draft Week (1967)

The Detroit Race Riot (1967)

My Lai Massacre in Vietnam (1968)  & Public Reaction

The Tet Offensive in Vietnam (1968) & Public Reaction

The Assassination of Robert F. Kennedy (1968)

The Whole Earth Catalog (1968), Mother Earth News (1970), Earth Day(1970), and the rise of the Environmental/ Green Movement 

Bloody Sunday & the Selma To Montgomery Marches (1965)

Lowndes County (Alabama)  Freedom Organization 

The Weather Underground (You Don't Need a Weatherman to Know Which Way the Wind Blows) 

The March on Washington for Jobs and Freedom (1963) 

The Young Lords Party and Puerto Rican Activists  

The American Indian Movement (AIM) & the Occupation of Wounded Knee at Pine Ridge Reservation (1973)

The White Panther Party (1968)

The Diggers & Community Activism (1967)

The San Francisco Mime Troupe and Guerilla Theater Activism

The Anti-nuclear Movement & the Cold War

Woodstock Music and Art Fair (1969)

The Altamont Free Concert (1969)

John Sinclair's "Liberation Music" (December 1970) Perspective about Rock n' Roll

The 1968 Miss America Pageant & the Women's Liberation Movement 

Robin Morgan's "Goodbye to All That" & the Women's Takeover of Rat (Underground Newspaper) (1970)

Emory Douglas & Revolutionary Art in the Black Panther Intercommunal News Service

Underground Comix: Revolutionary Art, Freedom of Expression, and Sexism

Students for a Democratic Society (SDS) and the Port Huron Statement

Southern Students Organizing Committee (SSOC) (1964-1969)

The Yippies, Zippies, and the 1972 Democratic (and Republican) National Convention in Miami Beach, Florida

John Wilcock, Thomas King Forcade, and the Underground Press Syndicate 

Counterculture Underground Newspapers in the South: The Great Speckled Bird (Atlanta), The Kudzu (Jackson, Mississippi), NOLA ( New Orleans), and The Rag (Austin, Texas)

Human Be-In in San Francisco's Golden Gate Park (1967) 

Abbie Hoffman & the Protest on Wall Street at the New York Stock Exchange (1967)

The Columbia University Protests of 1968

The Peoples Park Protest at Berekely, California (1969)

The Assassination of Fred Hampton (Activist & Black Panther Member) in 1969

Elridge Cleaver's Soul on Ice (1968)

Abbie Hoffman's Steal This Book (1971)

"Hippie" or "Flower Children" Lifestyle of the 1960s Counterculture Youth 

The Stonewall Riots (1969) and the Gay Liberation Movement

 Tuli Kupferberg,  the "World's Oldest Hippie" 

Drop City, the Fort Hill Community, and Communal Living  
 

 

Education Librarian

Profile Photo
Laurie Heathcock
Contact:
5th Floor
Houston Cole Library
Jacksonville State University
700 Pelham Rd N
Jacksonville, AL 36265
256-782-5245
256-782-5872
lheathcock@jsu.edu
Website
Contact: Facebook Page

Article on the Underground Newspaper Collection