Skip to main content

Library Personnel Directory: Technical Services

Contact information for Library personnel by name and department. Also includes contact information for departmental liaisons.

Technical Services Department

The Technical Services staff are responsible for ordering, processing, and maintaining the materials for the collection; maintaining the electronic resources available through JaxCat and our Webpages; and verifying and maintaining the accuracy of the information in the catalog. In addition, the primary contact for distance education services is located in the Technical Services Department. The Technical Services Department is located in the Basement or Ground Floor of the Library.

Head of Technical Services

 Name  Email Address  Phone Number  Office
 Ms. Jodi Poe  jpoe@jsu.edu  256-782-8103  8th Floor

 

The Technical Services Department includes the following areas:

Acquisitions/Serials

The Acquisitions/Serials Department is located in the Technical Services area in the basement of the Library. The Acquisitions/Serials Department acquires library materials, both purchases and gifts, in all formats. See the Acquisitions/Serials section of the Houston Cole Library Policies and Procedures Manua (pg. 79) for more information. Requests for Library purchases are accepted from faculty members, administrative staff, staff, and students. Requests may be made by using the Library Purchase Request Form.

Acquisitions and Serials Personnel

 Name  Title  Email Address  Phone Number Office
 Ms. Mary Bevis  Serials & Acquisitions Librarian  mbevis@jsu.edu  256-782-5254  Serials and Acquisitions 
 Mr. Noah Cleveland  Technical Services Assistant | Serials  nclevela@jsu.edu  256-782-5254  Serials
 Ms. Debrah Fragoso  Technical Services Assistant | Acquisitions  dfragoso@jsu.edu  256-782-5760  Acquisiitions

Cataloging

The Cataloging Department is located in the Technical Services area in the basement of the Library. The Cataloging Department is responsible for cataloging and classifying materials. In addition to these primary duties, it performs accessioning, physical processing, monographic binding and rebinding, in-house repair and mending, barcoding, retrospective conversion, and recataloging duties. See the Cataloging section of the Houston Cole Policy and Procedures Manual (pg. 83) for more information.

Cataloging Personnel

 Name  Title  Email Address  Phone Number  Office
 Ms. Kim Stevens  Senior Catalog Librarian  weather@jsu.edu  256-782-5762  Cataloging
 Mr. Arland Henning  Cataloging Librarian  ahenning@jsu.edu  256-782-5238  Cataloging
 Ms. Delores Collier  Technical Services Assistant | Cataloging  dcollier@jsu.edu  256-782-5761  Cataloging
 Ms. Lisa Gowens  Technical Services Assistant | Cataloging  mgowens@jsu.edu  256-782-5761  Cataloging

Distance Education

The Library provides services to the University's distance learning community. These services include instruction, reference, use of the Library's catalog, access to the library's Web-based indexes and full-text articles, and document delivery. All Library personnel assist with the providing of resources and services to our distance education students. However, the primary contact distance education students should use is our Distance Education/Electronic Resources Manager. See the Distance Education Services section of the Houston Cole Library Policy and Procedures Manual.

Distance Education/Electronic Resources Manager

 Name  Email Address  Phone Number  Office
 Ms. Yingqi Tang  tang@jsu.edu  256-782-5757  Distance Education/Electronic Resources | Technical Services

 

See the Library Access for Off-Campus Users Guide for more information.

Electronic Resources Personnel

The Electronic Resources office is located in the Technical Services area in the basement of the Library. This area is responsible for maintaining the electronic resources available through the Library. These resources include access to the Library's web-based indexes and full-text articles, databases, e-journals, governmental materials, and the Library's website. This area is also responsible for the digitial collections and digitization projects.

Electronic Resources Personnel

 

 Name  Title  Email Address  Phone Number  Office
 Ms. Jodi Poe  Head of Technical Services  jpoe@jsu.edu  256-782-8103  8th Floor
 Ms. Bethany Latham  Electronic Resources/Documents Librarian  blatham@jsu.edu  256-782-8195  Government Documents
 Ms. Yingqi Tang  Distance Education/Electronic Resources Manager  tang@jsu.edu  256-782-5757  Distance Education/Electronic Resources
 Ms. Alisha Cantrell  Technical Assistant | Digitization/Electronic Resources  afcantrell@jsu.edu  256-782-5761  Electronic Resources
 Ms. Susan Wiggins  Technical Assistant | Digitization/Electronic Resources  swiggins@jsu.edu  256-782-5761  Electronic Resources

Government Documents

The Government Documents Department is located in the Technical Services area in the basement of the Library. This department is responsible for selecting, acquiring, and cataloging U.S. Government depository documents, maintaiing the collection, and seeing that the Library adheres to all Federal Depository Library rules and regulations. See the Government Documents section of the Houston Cole Library Policy and Procedures Manual for more information.

Government Documents Personnel

 

 Name  Title  Email Address  Phone Number  Office
 Ms. Bethany Latham  Electronic Resources/Dcouments Librarian  blatham@jsu.edu  256-782-8195  Government Documents
 Ms. Yolanda Cox  Technical Services Assistant | Government Documents  ycox@jsu.edu  256-782-5761  Government Documents

Library Contact Information

Houston Cole Library
Jacksonville State University
700 Pelham Road North
Jacksonville, AL 36265

Telephone (Circulation): 256-782-5872
Telephone (Reference): 256-782-8034

FAX: 256-782-5872