LibGuides: International Marketing: Marketing

Comprehensive Website

Export.gov
How to find a strategic partner in your country of choice. Also has links on: Information and Counseling; Strategy and Planning; Market Research and Due Diligence; Advertising and Promotional Events; Market Entry and Expansion; Advocacy and Dispute Resolution and much more.

Federal Government Programs that help Advertise Your Product

Export USA
"A catalog-magazine available free of charge through U.S. Embassies/Consulates and worldwide trading partners. It is estimated that the magazine has 400,000 readers in 176 countries. Exporters are able to advertise their products and services by calling Associated Business Publications International (1-800-581-8533), by visiting their website, or by contacting a local
Department of Commerce: U.S. Export Assistance Centers".
Export Yellow Pages
"Provides details of products and services of U.S. companies. Firms may register their profiles for free by visiting the Export Yellow Pages website."
International Catalog Exhibition Program
"This is available through the U.S. Commercial Service. Trade specialists will translate your company profile into the local language, display marketing materials, collect sales leads from possible buyers and assist you with any follow-up activities. For more information and access to the service you can contact Export Promotion Services at (202) 482-3973."

Finding Trade Leads

globalEDGE Trade Leads
"In the Trade Leads section of the globalEDGE resource desk, a number of sites for finding trade leads are listed, along with a brief description of each site. Depending on the product you intend to export, or the region to which you intend to export, you may be able to find a trade lead site tailored to your specific product or region. Additionally, the site descriptions indicate whether a particular site is a free service, or if there is a fee associated with use."

Locating Potential Distributors/Importers/Sales Reps/Buyers/and Agents in other countries

globalEDGE Diagnostic Tools - Distributor
"Distributor™ is designed to aid your company in identifying the best distributor or agent to use specific to your product and market characteristics when opening up to new markets."
globalEDGE Diagnostic Tools - Partner
"Partner™ is an interactive tool that will assist you in evaluating and comparing a variety of potential international venture partners (also known as strategic alliances, collaborative ventures, and coalitions). This tool highlights critical factors that need to be considered when finding the most suitable candidate for your organization. Partner™ is useful for, but by no means limited to, companies new to international partnerships. The tool can also be used in the reevaluation of your existing relationships. Prospective partners (or existing ones) are assessed on preferred partner-related and task-related criteria."

Market Research on Countries

CIA World Factbook
"Country data on demographics, economy, communications and defense."
globalEDGE Country Insights
"Contain information and statistical data for 201 countries around the world, including Country Commercial Guides, World Bank Doing Business Indicators, and other country profile data."
globalEDGE Market Potential Index (MPI)
"A ranking of countries classified as emerging markets (by the Economist Magazine). The MPI ranks countries and eight different dimensions: market size, market growth rate, market intensity, market consumption capacity, commercial infrastructure, economic freedom, market receptivity and country risk."
globalEDGE Multi-Country page
"A listing of resources that may assist you with market research in various countries and regions around the world."
globalEDGE Statistical Data Sources page
"A listing of country or region specific statistical database resources that can aid in market research."
Global Population Profile
"Worldwide demographic data updated every two years; done by the U.S. Census Bureau."
International Financial Statistics
"Statistics on exchange rates, money and banking, production, government finance, and interest rates." Numerous sources of data can be found here.
United Nations Statistical Yearbook
"Has data on more than 550 commodities for more than 200 countries and territories on economic and social subjects."
World Bank Development Indicators
"Provides demographics, GDP and average growth rates for every country. WDI contains economic and social indicators for countries."

Research a specific Industry or Product

Business Insights: Global
Compare global economies, countries, and industries with in-depth analysis on over 400,000 companies.
Provided by Gale Cengage
Business Source Premier
- This link opens in a new window
Journal articles in business, management, economics, finance, banking, and accounting.
An EBSCOhost database provided by the AVL

The Industry Profiles Page on globalEDGE
"This page has background information, resources, trade statistics and more information on many industries."
The Harmonized System (HS)
"This is the standardized system for product classification. The Export.gov “Harmonized System” page describes the system, its uses, and how to obtain both your HS and Schedule B numbers."

Mergent Online
Information found in this database includes financial statements and company histories covering approximately 20,000 U.S. and foreign public companies.
Includes access to:
US Active Data
US Inactive Data
International Active Data
International Inactive Data
Expanded Long Term Debt
US Earnings Estimates
International Earnings Estimates
Executive Biographies Basic
Executive Biographies Plus
Institutional Holdings
Insider Holdings
D&B Private Company Data
As Reported All Years
Standardized All Years
Transparency All Years
US Equity Pricing
International Equity Pricing
Unadjusted Pricing
SEC Filings
SEDAR Filings
News
Competitors
North American Annual Reports
International Annual Reports
Industry Reports (NA)
Industry Reports (AP)
Industry Reports (EU)
Industry Reports (LA)
Equity Reports
Mergent Reports
Report Builder
Bond Search
Ratio All Years
Restated All Years
Custom Report
Report Wizard
Comparison Report
Equity Reports Integrated Search
Factsheets Plus
D&B 20 Million Plus Private Company Database
D&B 20 Million Plus Corporate Family Tree

The North American Industry Classification System (NAICS)
"This is the standardized system for industry categorization. On the NAICS page, enter a keyword in the NAICS search box to retrieve a list of possible industries for your business. From this list, you may select the industry that most closely describes your business, and click on that industry’s NAICS code for a more detailed description."

Regional Business News
- This link opens in a new window
Covers regional business news sources including newspapers and business trade magazines.

Contains full text and links to news articles.
An EBSCOhost database provided by the AVL

Trade Shows

Export.Gov Trade Events Section
"This section helps U.S exporters to network and promote their company. There is also a searchable trade list that includes all official trade missions and events sponsored by the International Trade Administration of the U.S. Department of Commerce. Users are able to search the trade list by country, state, industry, event type and date."
globalEDGE Shows & Events section
"Lists various trade shows and events. All events can be filtered to how global, country specific or regional specific trade events."

U.S. Exports and Imports - Trade Statistics

International Trade Administration Trade Data
"Lists statistics on trade data. Many different data sources are available online, such as exports from U.S. metropolitan areas, export-related jobs, and top trading partners."
TradeStats Express
"Provides U.S. trade statistics at both national and state levels. Users can retrieve, visualize, analyze, print and download trade data. The website is updated regularly as new trade information becomes available."
U.S. Census Bureau- Foreign Trade Division
"Provides general U.S. trade information such as Trade Highlights, Balance by Partner Country, Country/Product Trade, and State Trade Data."
U.S. International Trade Commission
"Provides U.S. import and export statistics on a self-service and interactive format. The USITC DataWeb returns user-defined queries which allow both expert and non-expert users to create and save customized data."

International Marketing: Marketing

Marketing your Product or Service

Comprehensive Website

Federal Government Programs that help Advertise Your Product

Finding Trade Leads

Locating Potential Distributors/Importers/Sales Reps/Buyers/and Agents in other countries

Market Research on Countries

Research a specific Industry or Product

Trade Shows

U.S. Exports and Imports - Trade Statistics