LibGuides: International Marketing: Culture and Demographics

Census Data

International Census
Census data of other countries.

General Encyclopedias and Dictionaries

Britannica Academic
- This link opens in a new window
Combination of the Encyclopædia Britannica, Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary, thesaurus, magazines, periodicals, and many other research tools providing a variety of reliable sources students need for research.
A Britannica database provided by the AVL
Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia
- This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedia articles and biographies in a variety of subject areas. Updated annually.
An EBSCOhost database provided by the AVL

Merriam-Webster Online
Dictionary and thesaurus

Oxford English Dictionary
- This link opens in a new window
Dictionary/English language.
Provided by the AVL
Oxford Reference Online Premium
100+ reference books and dictionaries.
Provided by the AVL and JSU

OneLook Dictionaries
Free Dictionary

Alexander Street Press: International Business Online Videos

International Business Online
Over 4,000 learning items related to international business, including textbooks, book chapters, cases, corporate training videos, sample business documents, and research reports.
This is one of the collections from Academic Video Online: Premium.

Aperian Global and Atma Global are this resource's primary partners.

Films on Demand

Films on Demand
Over 31,000 academic-level educational streaming videos covering most subject areas, from Films Media Group.

Video

Foreign Embassies

Foreign Embassies of Washington D.C.
Here you will find the addresses of foreign country embassies that are located in the Washington D.C. area. Often they will have links to their country's web site where you can read material that is written with their point of view. (NOTE: Some sites will not have english translations of their documents. If that is the case try using another web site to translate the page into your preferred language.)

International Organizations

IMF Staff Country Reports
The International Monetary Fund has numerous reports on many countries that deal with the topics of economics, poverty and other financial subjects.
International Crisis Group
Provides reports on countries that are at risk of outbreak, escalation or recurrence of violent conflict.
International Relations and Security Network
Here you will find in-depth analysis of many countries.
United Nations Population Information Network
"The Population Information Network (POPIN) was founded on 9 May 1979, by resolution 1979/33 of the United Nations Economic and Social Council. POPIN strives to make international, regional and national population information, particularly information available from United Nations sources, easily available to the international community." Links to numerous demographic databases and publications.
United Nations Yearbook
All yearbooks (1946 to the present) are available for searching. The most current year book is only available in book form. It is located on the 4th floor of the library. The Call number is: JX1977.A37Y4

(NOTE: The newest edition of the Yearbook is about 5 years behind the current year.)

U.S. web sites with Foreign Government/Country Information

CIA World Factbook
Published by the Central Intelligence Agency. It has up-to-date information on most countries.
U.S. Department of State
Here will be found Country Background Notes; Travel Warnings along with information about diplomatic issues and much more.

Search for Journal, Magazine and Newspaper Articles

Start with these Databases to Locate Articles

To find articles on a topic, you will need to search in databases that index the articles in various journals. Depending on your topic, you may want to start with the following:

Academic Search Premier
- This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Premier is a giant database that covers more than 8,000 journals, 85% of which are peer-reviewed and over 55% are full text, and full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. It covers a wide variety of disciplines.
An EBSCOhost database provided by the AVL
Gale Academic OneFile Select
- This link opens in a new window
Research academic topics ranging from art and literature to economics and the sciences. Ideal for smaller academic libraries.
Global Issues in Context
Analyze important global issues and events through topic overviews, international viewpoints, news, and multimedia content.
A Gale Cengage database
JSTOR
Full text online backfiles of core scholarly journals on many subjects. JSTOR's full-text coverage begins at the first issue of each journal and usually ends within five years of the present.
We subscribe to the following JSTOR collections:
19th Century British Pamphlets
Arts & Sciences I
Arts & Sciences II
Arts & Sciences III
Arts & Sciences IV
Arts & Sciences V
Arts & Sciences VI
Arts & Sciences VII
Arts & Science VIII
Arts & Sciences IX
Arts & Sciences X
Arts & Sciences XI
Arts & Sciences XII
Arts & Sciences XIII
Arts & Sciences XIV
Arts & Sciences XV
Biological Sciences
Business I
Business II
Business IV
Global Plants
Hebrew Journals Collection
Ireland Collection
Life Sciences Collection
Lives of Literature
Public Health Collection
Security Studies Collection
Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa
Sustainability Collection
World Heritage Sites: Africa
Military & Government Collection
- This link opens in a new window
Covers engineering, public affairs, public policy, international affairs and countries of the world. Contains full text from >250 military-related periodicals.
An EBSCOhost database provided by the AVL
Military Database
Articles from topics across all government and military branches, including international relations, political science, criminology, defense, aeronautics and space flight, communications, civil engineering, and more.
A ProQuest database | Part of ProQuest Central
Political Science Complete
Extensive full-text collection and index to political science literature. It includes online full-text for 500+ academic journals in political science and related fields and provides cover to cover indexing for a total of 1,000 political science journals and selective coverage for an additional 1,000 journals in related fields. It also includes a collection of some 340 reference and other political science e-books.
An EBSCOhost database
ProQuest Central
The largest single periodical resource available, bringing together complete databases across all major subject areas, including Business, Health and Medical, Social Sciences, Education, Science and Technology, and Humanities. Search across more than 30 databases at one time. Full-text available.
A ProQuest database.
Social Science Database
Anthropology, sociology, political science to communication, education, criminology, demography, economics and more provided by ProQuest.
A ProQuest database | Part of ProQuest Central