It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Nursing Research: Getting Started: Home
Resources to help you get started in Nursing research
Most comprehensive source of full-text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 1,300 journals indexed in CINAHL. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index, with no embargo. CINAHL®Complete is the definitive research tool for all areas of nursing & allied health literature.
Streaming videos from Films On Demand concentrating on nursing and covering a range of topics from academic success skills, patient care, and ethics.
This collection is designed not only to help nursing students excel in their studies and pass licensure exams, but also to prepare them for long-term job success in an increasingly complex health care system.
This latest edition of Resources for Nursing Research provides a comprehensive bibliography of sources on nursing research and includes references for books, journal papers and Internet resources. This Fourth Edition covers the disciplines of nursing, health care, and the social sciences.
SAGE Research Methods helps users create research projects and understand the methods behind them. It includes over 600 books, dictionaries, encyclopedias, and the “Little Green Book” and “Little Blue Book” series. Journal articles and videos are also included.
This is a web-based research methods tool that covers quantitative, qualitative and mixed methods. Researchers can explore methods and concepts to help design research projects, understand a particular method or identify a new method, and write up research. Sage Research Methods focuses on methodology rather than disciplines, and is of potential use to researchers from the social sciences, health sciences and other research areas.
This guide offers tips to find resources on the SAGE Research Methods platform. It will also guide you in finding the best literature to enable you to choose a methodology and launch into your research project.
Advanced Nursing Research: From Theory to Practice by Ruth M. TappenAdvanced Nursing Research: From Theory to Practice, Second Edition is a graduate-level text takes a practical approach to preparing research proposals and carrying out research studies. The Second Edition will continue to focus on the conduct of research with an emphasis on the connection to evidence-based practice, quality improvement, and the use of aggregate data. The outstanding feature of this text is its reality-based approach to the actual conduct of research. Complex topics are addressed in a readable manner and the author brings her own current experience and anecdotes about conducting a wide range of research studies to lend a real-life element to the text. The text reflects current practice and current thinking about research and integrates qualitative and quantitative methods, including emerging mixed methods.
Call Number: RT 81.5 .T37 2016
Publication Date: 2015
Essentials of Nursing Research by Denise F. Polit; Cheryl Tatano BeckGive your students everything they need to actively learn how to apply research to nursing practice. Updated to reflect the latest innovations in research methods, this worldwide bestseller helps students learn how to read and critique research reports, speak the language of nursing research, and develop an appreciation of research to enhance nursing practice. AJN award-winning authors Denise Polit and Cheryl Beck present research essentials, dig into the research steps, and explore quantitative and qualitative research, igniting student curiosity and encouraging them to pursue a professional pathway that incorporates thoughtful appraisals of evidence. Highlights of the Ninth Edition Enhanced accessibility. The presentation of complex topics is simplified and streamlined, incorporating more straightforward language. New content. The book's coverage of state-of-the-art research concepts and approaches includes new discussions of quality improvement projects as well as clinical significance, a seldom-mentioned but important topic that has recently gained prominence among nurse researchers. Reorganized coverage. The book's new structure is organized by methodologic content to offer greater continuity and facilitate better understanding of key methodologic differences between quantitative and qualitative research. Critiquing guidelines and support. Each chapter provides questions that walk students through a study, drawing attention to aspects of the study that can be critiqued by research consumers. In addition, full-length research articles and sample critiques at the end of the book provide opportunities for further critiquing practice. Research examples. One or two actual research examples at the end of each chapter sharpen readers' critical thinking skills, and research examples throughout the text illustrate key points and stimulate students' thinking about areas of research inquiry. Practical guidance . Translation of the abstract notions of research methods into more concrete applications includes tips that explain confusing issues in actual research articles. New test generator . Hundreds of multiple-choice questions, which are completely new and written by the book's authors, help instructors assess their students' understanding of the chapter content.
Call Number: RT 81.5 .P63 2018
Publication Date: 2017-02-04
Nursing Research by Janet HouserEach new print copy includes Navigate 2 Advantage Access that unlocks a comprehensive and interactive eBook, student practice activities and assessments, a full suite of instructor resources, and learning analytics reporting tools.Nursing Research: Reading, Using, and Creating Evidence, Fourth Edition is an essential text for nursing students to build the skillsnecessary for translating research into evidence. The Fourth Edition focuses on the Nursing Practice Guidelines and emphasizes evidence-basedpractice in the profession of nursing. To reinforce these concepts the author cites a particular article that is appraised throughout theentire text.The Fourth Edition also focuses on the dissemination of information and research best practices as conferences and other such resources become more available to students and professionals.Key Features* Emphasis on Nursing Practice Guidelines* New evaluation tool for reviewing a research article* Extensive PICO questions throughout the text* Addition of the contemporary PECO question* Poster template added to the chapter on translation
Publication Date: 2016-12-27
Nursing Research by Geri LoBiondo-Wood; Judith HaberBecome better at understanding and applying nursing research to your everyday work with Nursing Research: Methods and Critical Appraisal for Evidence-Based Practice, 9th Edition. Written by an all-star team of educators and research experts, this four-time recipient of the American Journal of Nursing's Book of the Year is the perfect text to help ground you in the processes behind nursing research and evidence-based practice. This new ninth edition has been thoroughly updated and refocused to better match the needs of the nurse who will read and apply research versus the professional researcher herself. This new edition also features: new research examples and vignettes; easy-to-use navigation tools; enhanced readability; expanded information on how to integrate interprofessional education and evidence-based practice; and well-balanced coverage of both qualitative and quantitative research methods. It's a must-have resource for any nurse wanting to take advantage of the nursing research and evidence-based practice currently out there. Balanced but distinct coverage of both the qualitative and quantitative approaches to nursing research acquaints you with the processes behind research and evidence-based practice. Complete, high-quality research examples, including three sample critiques, demonstrate how to apply the principles outlined in the text to published quantitative and qualitative research studies. Research Vignettes introduce you to real-world practitioners of nursing research and help bridge the gaps among clinical research, academia, and clinical practice. All-star group of contributors represents a widely respected team of experts in nursing research and evidence-based practice. Effective learning aids in every chapter include Key Terms, Learning Outcomes, Helpful Hints, Evidence-Based Practice Tips, Appraising the Evidence, Critiquing Criteria, Critique of a Research Study, Critical Thinking Decision Paths, Critical Thinking Challenges, and Key Points. NEW! Revised, refocused, and streamlined content throughout to better address the needs of consumers of research for evidence-based clinical practice. NEW! All-new research examples and Research Vignettes have been added throughout to demonstrate the most current high-quality published studies, and to exemplify the work on prominent nurse-researchers. NEW! Content on mixed-methods research along with secondary analysis has been added to the chapter on nonexperimental designs. NEW! Expanded coverage of systematic reviews and clinical practice guidelines addresses these important aspects of research. UNIQUE! Integration of interprofessional education concepts and activities addresses the growing interest in interprofessional education and interprofessional collaborative practice. NEW! Enhanced readability and navigation tools make it easier for you to locate, understand, and retain information in the text. NEW! Revamped coverage of theory content and strategies for developing an evidence-based practice feature consolidated chapters that are more visual and less text-heavy.
Call Number: RT 81.5 .N8665 2018
Publication Date: 2017-07-26
Understanding Nursing Research by Susan K. Grove; Jennifer R. GrayEdition after edition, Understanding Nursing Research: Building an Evidence-Based Practice is known as one of the leading undergraduate nursing textbooks. The streamlined and enhanced 7th edition gives you unique insights into understanding, appraising, and applying published research for evidence-based nursing practice. Known for its authoritative content, time-tested systematic approach, and unique research example format - the new edition includes an enhanced EBP focus, added mixed-methods and reduced outcomes research content, plus a spotlight on need-to-know information to meet your busy life. Clear, step-by-step organization introduces the research process and demonstrates how this systematic framework relates to EBP. Research examples provide practice in working with published studies, with many of the examples including Critical Appraisal and Implications for Practice sections. Critical Appraisal Guidelines boxes provide step-by-step guidance in appraising published research studies. Balanced coverage of qualitative and quantitative research prepares you to approach research questions and clinical questions with an unbiased view of the researcher's methodology. Authoritative content is written by pioneers and practitioners of nursing research, who offer unique, first-hand insights into the field. Strong emphasis on evidence-based practice helps you develop skills in studying and appraising published research, so you are prepared for your role in working with research evidence. NEW! Enhanced evidence-based practice focus equips you to apply the latest research findings to clinical practice. NEW! Streamlined research examples serve as concise and clinically relevant exemplars of key contents. NEW! Mixed-methods content focuses on need-to-know material on mixed-methods research, which is growing significantly in popularity. NEW! Improved legibility, usability, visual appeal, and readability meets the needs of visual learners with easy-to-understand content.