Disaster Nursing and Emergency Preparedness for Chemical, Biological, and Radiological Terrorism and Other Hazards by
In this third edition Dr. Veenema continues her mission to help our nation's nurses develop the knowledge and skills needed to efficiently and effectively respond to disasters. Many times nurses assume that they aren't emergency responders, so they don't need to understand how the system works. When a disaster strikes a community-whether it's a bus accident, a tornado, a hurricane or terrorist attack-nurses will be on the front lines helping those who are in need. To protect themselves, their families and their communities, nurses need to understand the principles and content of this comprehensive textbook. I encourage all nurses to develop the knowledge and skills presented here that are needed to achieve the vision of resilient communities outlined in the National Health Security Strategy.. From the Foreword by Ann R. Knebel, RN, DNSc, FAAN. Deputy Director with the Office of the Assistant Secretary for Preparedness and Response. The third edition of Disaster Nursing and Emergency Preparedness was confronted with the daunting task of both summarizing the many important new findings that have now become available through extensive research and the experience of public health practitioners and yet maintain the convenience and user-friendliness of the first two editions. Dr. Veenema has succeeded in accomplishing this magnificently. The third edition has almost double the number of pages compared with the first edition, including a much stronger and expanded clinical management section to address clinical situations not frequently encountered by nurses...The reader is provided with substantially greater coverage of the needs of children and adolescents following the recommendations of the National Commission on Children and Disasters (2010)... This book] will continue to serve as both a timely and comprehensive text for this nation's 2.7 million nurses and for educating the next generation of nursing professionals.. From the Foreword by Eric K. Noji, MD, MPH. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (Ret.). Washington, DC. The contributing authors read like Who's Who of the disaster leaders. They lend their special expertise and insights which are supported and elucidated by cogent learning strategies in the use of case studies, side bars, student questions, and packed content in all areas of disaster participation, preparedness, policies, and research. Many teachers, students, practitioners, and policy makers will find this edition a treasure trove of new information, ideas and ideologies and will use this volume as a text, a reference, and resource for the challenging work they do in disaster preparedness and practice. For over ten years this book]has been the Hallmark Text in its field and this edition proves to be the best ever.. From the Foreword by Loretta C. Ford, RN, PNP, EdD. Dean Emeritus. University of Rochester School of Nursing. It is my hope that all schools of nursing will use this book as part of a disaster preparedness curriculum and that all nurses will become familiar with its contentsand inspired to volunteer when disaster strikes. Disaster victims and their families deserve nothing less from our nation's nurses.. Susan B. Hassmiller, PhD, RN, FAAN. Senior Advisor for Nursing, Robert Wood Johnson Foundation. Director, the Future of Nursing: Campaign for Action. Princeton, New Jersey. The new edition of this AJN Book of the Year continues to provide nurses with the most comprehensive, current, and reliable information available so they can develop the skills to efficiently and effectively respond to disasters or public health emergencies. Meticulously researched and reviewed by the world's foremost experts in preparedness for terrorism, natural disasters, and other unanticipated health emergencies, the text has been revised and updated with significant new content, including 10 new chapters and a digital adjunct teacher's guide with exercises and critical thinking questions. This new edition has strengthen
Emergency Public Health: Preparedness and Response by
As large-scale emergencies continue to pose a threat to U.S. populations at the local, state, and national levels, the public and private sectors are demanding improved public health preparedness, response, and cooperation for such events. Emergency Public Health provides readers with important information and analysis of key public health crises threatening our local, state, and national jurisdictions. As the first text of its kind in the emerging field of emergency public health, it provides a framework for public health professionals, policy makers, first responders, and emergency healthcare providers to plan and implement effective measures to protect the public health of civilian populations during times of emergencies. Written by experts with both emergency healthcare and public health backgrounds, the case-based chapters provide valuable information on the preparedness, response, and mitigation of emergency public health topics. In addition, Emergency Public Health contains timely information of key areas such as public health law and the interactions among government jurisdictions. Each chapter also includes online resources for the reader to pursue additional web-based resources.Important features:- Chapters written by emergency physicians with public health degrees- Case-based chapters- Web resources provided- Covers large-scale issues such as public health law, government jurisdictions, NGO's,- Chapter devoted to specific needs of children- Chapter on mental health issues in times of public health emergencies- Specific chapters on public health tools such as surveillance and rapid needs assessment- Each chapter follows a consistent structure to maintain clarity and continuity throughout the text:A. IntroductionB. Historical perspectivesC. PreparednessD. ResponseE. Case studyF. On-line resourcesCompetitive features:- Covers natural emergencies- Covers key topics in terrorism- Covers primary topics for disaster medicineQuestions for instructors- What are the key topics in your course?- How do you like to prepare your students for public health emergencies?- What management principles are addressed in your course?- Do you teach special issues such as children and mental health issues during emergencies?
Nursing in the Storm by
2010 PROSE Award Winner for Nursing & Allied Health Sciences 2010 AJN Book of the Year Award Winner in Public Interest and Creative Works "The accounts are vivid, colorful, descriptive, intense, and often horrific and give cross-sectional views of life in the trenches during this disaster This book is a rich primary source for both historians and disaster preparedness planners. It's not only a tribute to the courage of the nurses, but should also serve as a guide for policy planners hoping to avoid less than optimal responses to future crises."--AJN " T]he book...fascinates simply for its raw documentation of the dreadful events and conditions endured by nurses, doctors, and ancillary staff as they struggled to care for critically ill patients without electricity, running water, air conditioning systems, and other resources. Five years after the levees broke, the horror and chaos of Katrina is still fresh in these accounts. Through the stories, readers are transported into the hospitals as nurses heroically work together to evacuate babies from NICUs and vented patients from ICU, try to calm patients, family members, and coworkers, and make do with the equipment and supplies they've got."--National Nurse "Don't ever think that this can't happen to you. You are going to read this and it's going to sound like we created this scenario, but this is a real scenario that happened." --Pam, Memorial Medical Center ""Everything that was battery operated eventually died. There were no monitors...we tried to take care of people in the most humane way possible."" --Lois, Lindy Boggs Medical Center "Nursing in the Storm: Voices from Hurricane Katrina" takes you inside six New Orleans hospitals-cut off from help for days by flooding-where nurses cared for patients around the clock. In this book, nurses from Hurricane Katrina share what they did, how they coped, what they lost, and what they are doing now in a city and health care infrastructure still rebuilding, still in jeopardy. In their own words, the nurses tell what happened in each hospital just before, during, and after the storm. Danna and Cordray provide an intimate portrait of the experience of Katrina, which they and their colleagues endured. Just a few of the heroic nurses you'll find inside: Rae Ann and twenty others, including her husband and children, who wait on a hospital roof for help to come Lisa, in the midst of caring for patients, who has not heard from her husband in 5 days Roslyn, who has 800 people in her hospital when the power generators shut down Linda, who uses bed sheets to write out help messages on a hospital roof, hoping someone will see them The book also discusses how to plan and prepare for future disasters, with a closing chapter documenting the "lessons learned" from Katrina, including day-to-day health care delivery in a city of crisis. This groundbreaking work serves as a testament to nurses' professionalism, perseverance, and unwavering dedication.
Wilderness Medicine by
Quickly and decisively manage any medical emergency you encounter in the great outdoors with Wilderness Medicine! World-renowned authority and author Dr. Paul Auerbach and a team of experts offer proven, practical, visual guidance for effectively diagnosing and treating the full range of emergencies and health problems encountered in situations where time and resources are scarce. Every day, more and more people are venturing into the wilderness and extreme environments, or are victims of horrific natural disasters...and many are unprepared for the dangers and aftermath that come with these episodes. Whether these victims are stranded on mountaintops, lost in the desert, injured on a remote bike path, or ill far out at sea, this indispensable resource--now with online access at www.expertconsult.com for greater accessibility and portability--equips rescuers and health care professionals to effectively address and prevent injury and illness in the wilderness! This textbook is widely referred to as "The Bible of Wilderness Medicine." Be able to practice emergency medicine outside of the traditional hospital/clinical setting whether you are in remote environments, underdeveloped but highly populated areas, or disaster areas, are part of search and rescue operations, or dealing with casualties from episodes of extreme sports and active lifestyle activities. Face any medical challenge in the wilderness with expert guidance: Dr. Auerbach is a noted author and the world's leading authority on wilderness medicine. He is a founder and Past President of the Wilderness Medical Society, consultant to the Divers Alert Network and many other agencies and organizations, and a member of the National Medical Committee for the National Ski Patrol System. Handle everything from frostbite to infection by marine microbes, not to mention other diverse injuries, bites, stings, poisonous plant exposures, animal attacks, and natural disasters. Grasp the essential aspects of search and rescue. Respond quickly and effectively by improvising with available materials. Improve your competency and readiness with the latest guidance on volcanic eruptions, extreme sports, splints and slings, wilderness cardiology, living off the land, aerospace medicine, mental health in the wilderness, tactical combat casualty care, and much more. Meet the needs and special considerations of specific patient populations such as children, women, elders, persons with chronic medical conditions, and the disabled. Make smart decisions about gear, navigation, nutrition, and survival. Be prepared for everything with expanded coverage on topics such as high altitude, cold water immersion, and poisonous and venomous plants and animals. Get the skills you need now with new information on global humanitarian relief and expedition medicine, plus expanded coverage of injury prevention and environmental preservation. Get guidance on the go with fully searchable text plus bonus images, tables and video clips online at www.expertconsult.com. Ensure patient survival in the wilderness with Dr. Paul Auerbach's indispensible reference.
Natural Disasters: a Reference Handbook by
This book provides a detailed introduction to natural disasters and the ways in which they have had and continue to have, profound effects on human society. * Provides readers with a sound background in the science and technology of major natural disasters, such as earthquakes, volcanic eruptions, and forest fires * Traces the development of human understanding of the causes and nature of such events * Discusses the ways in which natural events such as changing weather patterns may interact with human decisions and actions that lead to complex forms of disaster * Provides background on the specific contributions of individuals and organizations within the field that have yielded our mature understanding of the nature and impact of natural disaster * Suggests a host of practical resources to use in an extended study of the topic
