Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

EH325 -- Major Authors (Neil Gaiman): Home

This LibGuide focuses on the author Neil Gaiman. EH325 surveys major works by a featured author(s), including works by major authors of a particular era, literary movement, region, nationality, and/or genre.

Page Overview

This LibGuide is a companion to Tanya Sasser's EH325 course focusing on the author Neil Gaiman.  This page contains some general library information as well as links and titles for biographical/critical source materials.

Head of Public Services

Profile Photo
John Upchurch
Contact:
8th Floor
Houston Cole Library
Jacksonville State University
700 Pelham Rd N
Jacksonville, AL 36265
256-782-5252
256-782-5872
jupchurch@jupchurch
Website

Bio-Critical Reference Sources

For bio-critical overview essays on Neil Gaiman and his writings, consult the following reference sources, some of which are available in print as well as online.    The database links can be found on the Primary Databases page of the  EH -- Electronic Databases by Subject  LibGuide.  Use Neil Gaiman's name as your search term.

Online

Contemporary Authors

Dictionary of Literary Biography

Gale Literature

Scribner Writers Online

Print

The following reference sources are available in print only.  Use Gaiman's name to find relevant entries.

Fantasy Authors: a Research Guide     Ref PS374.F27S74  2008  (7th floor)

  • contains a brief biographical sketch of Neil Gaiman, plus lists of primary works by, and secondary works about, Gaiman, including websites

The Greenwood Encyclopedia of Science Fiction and Fantasy: Themes, Works, and Wonders (3 vols.)     Ref PS374.S35G74  2005  (7th floor)

  • contains no author biographies; does contain entries for subjects such as magic, monsters, mythology, but also for things such as dragons, dwarfs, elves, fairies

Something About the Author (vol.146)     Ref LB1573.S785x  2004  (5th floor)

  • biographical sketch, pp. 96 -104;  brief bibliography

Supernatural Fiction Writers     Ref PN3435.s96  2003  (6th floor)

  • biographical sketch, vol. 1, pp. 369-374; brief bibliography

(also see British Writers Supplement XXIII and Dictionary of Literary Biography (DLB) vol. 261)

 

 

 

 

 

 

Library Catalog Basic Search

Basic search in the Houston Cole Library catalog. 

Search Catalog: by:

Advanced Search

Find Journal(s)

Search for Journal Title
Limit Your Results