LibGuides: Careers and Employment: Home

Business and Social Sciences Librarian

Email Me

Contact:

4th Floor
Houston Cole Library
Jacksonville State University
700 Pelham Rd N
Jacksonville, AL 36265
256-782-5244
cdbarnes@jsu.edu

Library Information

Library Floor Directory (Call Numbers)
- This link opens in a new window
Library Floor Directory (Subjects)
- This link opens in a new window

Personnel/Telephone Directory

Welcome

Welcome to the Houston Cole Library Guide page! The Careers and Employment page gives you links to key resources to help you start searching for information.

Key Resources

Internships
Search for local area and world wide internships. You can also call Career services at 256-782-5482 or email careerservices@jsu.edu. This service is provided by Jacksonville State University and the Calhoun County Chamber of Commerce.

Associations Unlimited
1. Click on the drop down menu beneath "Select one or more directories"
2. Select the "Encyclopedia of Associations: National Organizations of the U.S."
3. Search for your career field of interest.
*Many trade associations post electronic job listings and training opportunities.
A Gale Cengage database
Career & Technical Education Database
Vocational information on technical topics, such as computing science, healthcare, building trades, auto mechanics, sales and retail, accounting, graphic design, and photography.
A ProQuest database | Part of ProQuest Central

O*Net Online
"O*NET OnLine has detailed descriptions of the world of work for use by job seekers, workforce development and HR professionals, students, researchers, and more!"
Occupational Outlook Handbook
The source for career information.

Vocational & Career Collection (EBSCO)
- This link opens in a new window
Covers trade and industry-related periodicals. Contains full text from >350 titles.
An EBSCOhost database provided by the AVL

Video

Boolean Operators - how to refine your searches
A brief video on how to use the Boolean operators AND, OR and NOT when searching for your subject.

Careers and Employment: Home

Business and Social Sciences Librarian

Library Information

Welcome

Key Resources

Video

Need Help? Ask a Librarian.

Library Catalog Basic Search

Find Journal(s)