It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Biology Research: Getting Started: Grant Proposals
Grant Application Writer's Handbook by Liane Reif-LehrerGrant Application Writer's Handbook, Fourth Edition, addresses the key points in developing grant proposals in a hands-on, step-by-step method, with sample forms and tips for getting approved and funded. Both first-time grant seekers, and those who have already attempted to get funding can benefit from the wealth of updated information regarding the grant application process, including funding sources and newly instituted electronic submission guidelines. Author Dr. Liane Reif-Lehrer uses her extensive experience to present the general concepts that will help the reader write a good grant proposal or research paper efficiently.
Publication Date: 2010-10-11
Grant Writing for Dummies by Beverly A. BrowningGrant Writing For Dummies, 3rd Edition serves as a one-stop reference for readers who are new to the grant writing process or who have applied for grants in the past but had difficulties. It offers 25 percent new and revised material covering the latest changes to the grant writing process as well as a listing of where to apply for grants. Grant writers will find: The latest language, terms, and phrases to use on the job or in proposals. Ways to target the best websites to upload and download the latest and user-friendly application forms and writing guidelines. Major expansion on the peer review process and how it helps improve one's grant writing skills and successes. One-stop funding websites, and state agencies that publish grant funding opportunity announcements for seekers who struggle to find opportunities. New to third edition.
Call Number: HG 177.5 .U6 B76 2009
Publication Date: 2008
How to Write a Successful Research Grant Application by Willo Pequegnat (Editor); Ellen Stover (Editor); Cheryl Anne Boyce (Editor)Over the last fifty years behavioral and medical research has been generously supported by the federal government, private foundations, and other philanthropic organizations contributing to the development of a vibrant public health system both in the United States and worldwide. However, these funds are dwindling and to stay competitive, investigators must understand the funding environment and know how to translate their hypotheses into research grant applications that reviewers evaluate as having scientific merit.The Second Edition of 'How to Write a Successful Research Grant Application' is the only book of its kind written by federal research investigators which provides technical assistance for researchers applying for biobehavioral and psychosocial research funding and can give them an edge in this competitive environment. The book provides invaluable tips on all aspects of the art of grantsmanship, including: how to determine research opportunities and priorities, how to develop the different elements of an application, how to negotiate the electronic submission and review processes, and how to disseminate the findings. Charts, visual aids, Web links, an extensive real-world example of a research proposal with budget, and a "So You Were Awarded Your Grant--Now What?" chapter show prospective applicants how to:- Formulate a testworthy--and interesting--hypothesis.- Select the appropriate research mechanism.- Avoid common pitfalls in proposal writing.- Develop an adequate control group.- Conduct a rigorous qualitative inquiry.- Develop a budget justification of costs. - Develop a human subjects of animal welfare plan.- Write a data analytic plan.- Design a quality control/assurance program. - Read between the lines of a summary of the review of your application.Although its focus is on Public Health Service funding, 'How to Write a Successful Research Grant' is equally useful for all research proposals, including graduate students preparing a thesis or dissertation proposal. Service providers in community-based organizations and public health agencies will also find this a useful resource in preparing a proposal to compete for grant funds from state and community resources, non-government organizations, and foundations.
Write an Effective Funding Application by Mary W. WaltersIn a world where the opportunity to advance scholarly and scientific knowledge is dependent on the ability to secure sufficient funding, researchers and scholars must write funding proposals that stand out from the competition. The practical advice in this guidebook is designed to aid academics in writing successful applications at all stages of their careers. This book will help grant applicants plan and craft funding proposals that are concise, complete, and impressive—and that satisfy the mandates of the agencies to which they are applying. Applicants will learn how to • Avoid common writing blunders• Understand the central importance of the research budget• Overcome procrastination• Choose and secure professional references• Develop a career path with a view toward funding opportunities• Maintain a winning attitude that will improve the chances of success Write an Effective Funding Application details the all-important preparation stage in drafting a grant application, from identifying sources of funding and securing registration numbers to creating a schedule for meeting the application deadline. It reviews the nuts and bolts of writing and polishing a winning application, stressing the importance of logical thinking and thoughtful presentation. The book includes detailed information on developing budgets, "before" and "after" versions of proposals, and descriptions of common pitfalls that everyone can avoid.
Call Number: HG 177 .W35 2009
Publication Date: 2009
Writing Successful Grant Proposals from the Top down and Bottom Up by Robert J. Sternberg (Editor)This text provides comprehensive advice on how to build a successful grant proposal, from the top down and from the bottom up. Editor Robert J. Sternberg gathers editorial expertise from distinguished members of associations in the Federation of Associations of Behavioral and Brain Sciences, which includes some of the most successful grant applicants and grant givers in the field of brain and behavioral sciences. The chapter authors offer readers practical advice on planning, executing, submitting, and revising grant proposals in order to maximize their chances of success. Exploring both grant writers' and grant providers' perspectives, Writing Successful Grant Proposals from the Top Down and Bottom Up provides valuable insight into general strategies on how to write and submit proposals, as well as detailed information on the various types of proposals needed to reach particular research and teaching goals.
Call Number: Q 180.55 .P7 B85 2014
Publication Date: 2013
Here are selected examples of books available in the Library to help with grant proposals
Funding Your Career in Science by Ritsert C. JansenDreaming of a successful future in science? This practical guide for students, postdocs and professors offers a unique step-by-step approach to help you get the funding to start or consolidate your own research career. From preparing and writing effective career grant applications, to understanding how funding agencies will evaluate them, it provides guidance to enhance your skills and combine them with those of others who can support you on the road to success. Learn how to generate great original ideas for your application, strategically prepare and optimise your plan and résumé, develop a convincing title and abstract, convert reviewers' comments to your advantage, and succeed at a selection interview. With numerous valuable tips, real-life stories and novel practical exercises, this must-read guide provides everything you need to optimise your funding opportunities and take responsibility for your own career in science.
Research in Medical and Biological Sciences: From Planning and Preparation to Grant Application and Publication by Petter Laake (Editor); Haakon Breien Benestad (Editor); Bjorn Reino Olsen (Editor)Research in Medical and Biological Sciences covers the wide range of topics that a researcher must be familiar with in order to become a successful biomedical scientist. Perfect for aspiring as well as practicing professionals in the medical and biological sciences, this publication discusses a broad range of topics that are common yet not traditionally considered part of formal curricula, including philosophy of science, ethics, statistics, and grant applications. The information presented in this book also facilitates communication across conventional disciplinary boundaries, in line with the increasingly multidisciplinary nature of modern research projects. Covers the breadth of topics that a researcher must understand in order to be a successful experimental scientist Provides a broad scientific perspective that is perfect for students with various professional backgrounds Contains easily accessible, concise material about diverse methods Includes extensive online resources such as further reading suggestions, data files, statistical tables, and the StaTable application package Emphasizes the ethics and statistics of medical and biological sciences