Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Biology Research: Getting Started: Finding Articles

Resources for biology research

Find Journal(s)

Search for Journal Title
Limit Your Results

Finding Articles

Search GEM Finder

Search GEM Finder

 

Selected Resources

Selected Biology Databases

A good starting place to find articles is in the following Biology databases. There are more listed on the main Biology subject guide.

Finding Research Articles

Research articles, which may also be known as scholarly or peer-reviewed articles  may be found in a number of Library-subscribed databases, including ScienceDirect, Biological Sciences and many others.

Tips for Finding Articles:

  • Limit  your search to Peer-Reviewed Articles
  • Don’t restrict your search to full text
  • Evaluate your results

Using the Peer-Reviewed limiter narrows your search to peer-reviewed articles, especially important if you are using a general database such as Academic Search Premier. Another way to limit your search in general databases or a Discovery search is with the Academic Journal limiter.

It may seem wrong to NOT use the full-text limiter when you need to find full text of articles, but doing so can keep you from finding articles that are available in other databases besides the one you are searching.

Use publication date limiters when you need search results within a certain date range.

 

Once you find information on your topic, be sure to evaluate your results.

Use the CRAAP Test to evaluate your results

Currency:  Timeliness of information, working Web links

Relevance: Importance of information

Authority: Who is the source? Is it a professional organization or a university?

Accuracy: Is there evidence to support findings, is an article peer-reviewed?

Purpose: Is the purpose to inform, teach, sell, entertain, or persuade?

*Created by Sarah Blakeslee, Meriam Library, California State University, Chico

Health and Sciences Librarian

Paula Barnett-Ellis's picture
Paula Barnett-Ellis
Contact:
9th Floor
Houston Cole Library
Jacksonville State University
700 Pelham Road North
Jacksonville, AL 36265-1602
256-782-5249
256-782-5872
pbarnett@jsu.edu
Website

What is a Scholarly/Peer Reviewed Article?

Scholarly or Peer Reviewed articles have been refereed, or reviewed, before publication, by peers of an article's author(s). Common components include:

  • Introduction or Literature Review
  • Theory or Background
  • Subjects
  • Materials/Methods
  • Results
  • Discussion
  • References

For more information, see  Anatomy of a Scholarly Article from North Carolina State University, or Properties of Scholarly, Trade and Popular Journals from the University of Texas San Antonio, or ask one of our librarians.Another useful resource is Evaluating Print vs. Internet Sources.