A Dictionary of Biology by
Fully revised and updated for the seventh edition, this market-leading dictionary is the perfect guide for anyone studying biology, either at school or university. With more than 5,500 clear and concise entries, it provides comprehensive coverage of biology, biophysics, and biochemistry. Over 250 new entries include terms such as Broca's area, comparative genomic hybridization, mirror neuron, and Pandoravirus.Appendices include classifications of the animal and plant kingdoms, the geological time scale, major mass extinctions of species, model organisms and their genomes, Nobel prizewinners, and a new appendix on evolution.Entry-level web links to online resources can be accessed via a companion website.
Encyclopedia of Life Sciences by
Spanning the entire spectrum of life science research, the Encyclopedia features more than 4,000 specially commissioned and peer-reviewed articles. These concentrate primarily on the molecular and cellular life sciences, including biochemical topics, methods and techniques. Applied areas of science are also included on a selective basis, as are biographies and general interest articles on ethics and the history of science. Since the acquisition of ELS from NPG in 2004, Wiley has been adding both new and updated articles to keep readers up-to-date with the relentlessly evolving nature of life sciences, carefully commissioning in areas that have been particularly dynamic on the advice of a specialist board of scientific editors. Accordingly, in this six-volume work, we have published an additional 650 new and updated peer-reviewed articles that compliment the original print volume set. By completing the original set with these new articles, the reader is kept up-to-date with research across the life sciences in one complete print product. Aimed at researchers, students and teachers, articles provide comprehensive and authoritative coverage, written by leaders in the field. Colour illustrations and tables accompany articles, with appendix and glossary material providing essential information for the non-specialist, including biochemical and taxonomic information, acronyms, synonyms, units and other technical data. Importantly, all articles have been peer-reviewed to ensure a balanced representation of the literature. Articles are divided into three different categories indicating their level of complexity: Introductory, Advanced and Keynote. Introductory articles have been written primarily for undergraduate and non-specialists requiring the basic concepts of a particular subject. Advanced articles provide a more detailed discussion of specialist subjects, equivalent to that found in graduate level texts. Keynote articles provide a platform for debate where controversial issues and ′hot topics′ can be discussed. Coverage includes: Biochemistry Cell Biology Developmental Biology Ecology Evolution and Diversity of Life Functional and Comparative Morphology Genetics and Disease Genetics and Molecular Biology Immunology Microbiology Neuroscience Plant Science Science and Society Structural Biology Virology Don′t miss this great opportunity to own the leading resource in the life sciences.
McGraw Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology by 
World of Biology
In a single alphabetical arrangement, this reference offers 1000 essays, definitions and biographies, along with 350 illustrations and other information, covering all aspects of the field of biology.
This link opens in a new windowSUBJECT HEADINGS
The subject headings below are intended to be a general starting point for your research. Browsing the shelves around the call number areas listed below will reveal other books in the same general subject areas. Conducting subject searches in the JaxCat online Library catalog will allow you to locate books on specific topics. In the catalog, select "Subject Heading," from the menu, type in term(s) from your subject and press "Search."
Subjects/Call Number Ranges for Books
This link opens in a new window
