LibGuides: Psychology: Finding Articles

Electronic Resources

There are a number of electronic resources you can use to research your area. The databases on this page are some of the more useful ones. You can also search for a specific journal. If you cannot find what you need, please contact the Subject Specialist.

I Can PsycINFO (And So CanYou!)

Need help with searching the PsycINFO database? (Title borrowed from https://alliant.libguides.com/icanpsycinfo)

Finding What You Need in PsycINFO
Eight search strategies to identify what others have written on your research topic.
I Can PsycINFO (And So Can You!
This comprehensive guide provides help with the PsycINFO database, including the "Searching Secret Menu."
PsycInfo Frequently Asked Questions
Frequently asked questions about APA's abstracts database, providing systematic coverage of the psychological literature
Quick Reference Guide APA PsycInfo
This pdf file offers a quick guide to searching APA PsycInfo in EBSCO.

Psychology Databases

PsycArticles
General psychology and specialized basic, applied, clinical, and theoretical research in psychology articles from all of the publications of the American Psychological Association.
An EBSCOhost database
Psychology Collection
Find authoritative periodical content supporting research in all fields of psychology.
Researchers, psychologists, counselors, and behavioral scientists will discover relevant information from the thoughts, views, discoveries, and reports found in this comprehensive collection.
Psychology Database (ProQuest)
Behavioral, clinical, cognitive, developmental, experimental, industrial and social psychology, along with personality, psychobiology and psychometrics provided by ProQuest.
A ProQuest database | Part of ProQuest Central

For more help, see ProQuest's Psychology Journals Help Guide.
PsycInfo 1887-Current
Indexes the psychological literature from 1887 to the present time.
An EBSCOhost database

Search PsycInfo

Additional Resources

CINAHL Ultimate
The new definitive resource for nursing and allied health research, providing full text for more of the most used journals in the CINAHL index than any other database. It covers more than 50 nursing specialties and includes quick lessons, evidence-based care sheets, CEU modules and research instruments.
JSTOR
Full text online backfiles of core scholarly journals on many subjects. JSTOR's full-text coverage begins at the first issue of each journal and usually ends within five years of the present.
We subscribe to the following JSTOR collections:
19th Century British Pamphlets
Arts & Sciences I
Arts & Sciences II
Arts & Sciences III
Arts & Sciences IV
Arts & Sciences V
Arts & Sciences VI
Arts & Sciences VII
Arts & Science VIII
Arts & Sciences IX
Arts & Sciences X
Arts & Sciences XI
Arts & Sciences XII
Arts & Sciences XIII
Arts & Sciences XIV
Arts & Sciences XV
Biological Sciences
Business I
Business II
Business IV
Global Plants
Hebrew Journals Collection
Ireland Collection
Life Sciences Collection
Lives of Literature
Public Health Collection
Security Studies Collection
Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa
Sustainability Collection
World Heritage Sites: Africa
Mental Measurements Yearbook
Provides users with a comprehensive, full-text guide to over 3,000 contemporary testing instruments and contains information essential for a complete evaluation of test products within such diverse areas as psychology, education, business, and leadership.
An EBSCOhost database

First published by Oscar K. Buros, the MMY series allows users to make knowledgeable judgments and informed selection decisions about the increasingly complex world of testing. MMY provides coverage from Volume 9 to the present. MMY via EBSCOhost® now includes the MMY Archive providing all yearbooks from the first edition in 1938, through the 18th yearbook released in 2010.
PTSDpubs (Formerly PILOTS: Published International Literature On Traumatic Stress)
Includes citations to all literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental-health sequelae of traumatic events, without disciplinary, linguistic, or geographical limitations, and to offer both current and retrospective coverage. Citations Only.
A ProQuest database
PubMed (Medline)
- This link opens in a new window
Free government database for all things medical.
ScienceDirect
A collection of journals and other publications covering life sciences, health sciences, physical sciences and engineering as well as social sciences, humanities and business.
An Elsevier database
Wiley Online Library
Journal articles on a variety of subjects.