Skip to Main Content

Library Access Off-campus: E-Resources

Welcome to the Houston Cole Library Distance Education information guide. This guide is designed for students, faculty, staff and anyone who is interested to use our library. We are committed to delivering a great experience in supporting your learning,

About Electronic Journals

  Due to license agreements, some journals and/or specific issues may not be available in full-text.
If you cannot find an article in full-text online, please check out our print holdings.  (see instruction on the Printed Resources tab)
Do not have access? Please check out the "Remote Access" tab.

Finding Articles on Reserve

Electronic course reserves may be accessed by an authorized user from any computer with an Internet connection.

Should you have any questions, please read the Common Problems with Electronic Course Reserves or contact Reserve Desk at 256-782-8490.

Finding E-books

Check out the Ebooks Tutorial. 

You may navigate our E-book collection through Subject Listing or search from the Library Catalog.

General E-Books

                      

Health Titles
History Titles
Literature Titles

Finding Article with a Citation

If you already have a citation to a specific article, follow the instruction below to find the full text online. 

Step 1: Read the citation, find out what is the title of the article and which journal published it.

For example:

Banda, Devender R., and Richard M. Kubina Jr. 2010. "Increasing Academic Compliance with Mathematics Tasks Using the High-Preference Strategy with a Student with Autism." Preventing School Failure 54, no. 2: 81-85.

Article title:Increasing Academic Compliance with Mathematics Tasks Using the High-Preference Strategy with a Student with Autism
Journal title: Preventing School Failure
Volume, Issue: Page begin-end: 54, no. 2: 81-85

Step 2: Find the journal

  1. Go to the library website at http://www.jsu.edu/library
  2. Key in a journal title in the "Search Library Resources" box, and select the "Journal Title List" under the search box
  3. You may get a list of databases that contain the specific journal.

Step 3: Click on the link of a database, you may either search with the article title or look for the article with Volume, Issue: Page etc.

Finding Articles in a Database

Check out the Starting Your Search and Exploring Databases tutorials.

Begin your search for articles using the following general databases.  

General Databases

 

Finding Streaming Audios/Videos

Thousands of exclusive educational audio/videos are available here.

  • Nursing Education in Video: Videos created specifically for the education and training of nurses, nursing assistants, and other healthcare workers
  • Films On Demand: Educational videos on various subjects
  • VAST Academic Video Online: Over tens of thousands of streaming videos in a variety of subjects
  • Classical Music in Video: Contains 1,000 hours of classical music performances and masterclasses captured on video—approximately 1,500 performances in all
  • Naxos Music Library: Audio music
  • Kanopy: Includes thousands of award-winning documentaries, training films and theatrical releases.

Library Contacts

Reference Hours & Calendar:

  • Mon-Thurs: 9 am-11 pm (CST)
  • Fri: 9 am-4 pm (CST)
  • Sat: 9 am-5 pm (CST)
  • Sun: 3 pm-11 pm (CST)

Library Calendar

Google Scholar Search

Google Scholar Search