Consists of periodicals that span the immediate years before the Civil War to the beginnings of Reconstruction
Significantly, this collection contains a number of long-running periodicals that chronicle the war from various perspectives, such as Harper's Weekly and the Atlantic Monthly. Less conventional titles can also be found in this collection, such as the Millennial Harbinger and Gleason's Literary Companion. Additionally, this collection contains a number of abolitionist and secessionist titles that led up to the war and record veterans' remembrances afterwards. Together these periodicals paint a dynamic picture of a scarring conflict that deeply affected all aspects of American society.
Periodicals published in the South during the nineteenth century that focus on cultural concerns.
Here, researchers will find publications devoted to education, literature, women's interests, philanthropic and benevolent endeavors, temperance advocacy, Masonic activities, general social movements, and more. Places of publication include Richmond, Lynchburg, Lexington, the lower Mississippi, New Orleans, Baltimore, Atlanta, Charleston, Macon, St. Louis, to name but a few.
Literature of the British Empire, specifically focusing on colonial North America
Many of the periodicals were printed in Europe, Canada or appear as publications reissued in America. A few titles come from Asia. Notable editors and contributors include Joseph Addison, Daniel Defoe, Samuel Johnson, Thomas Paine, and Richard Steele. As a whole, these titles provide scholars with a unique insight into the colonies' complex relationship with European home countries as they developed their own identity in the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries.
Chronicles the African-American experience during the 19th century
The Slavery and Abolition, 1789-1887 collection chronicles the African-American experience during the 19th century. While subjects run the gamut and include a fair amount of titles covering religion and literature (including the Pathfinder, Slave's Friend, Anglo-African Magazine, and Youth's Emancipator), the bulk are related to slavery and abolition, including titles such as the Freedmen's Record, Genius of Universal Emancipation, the Liberator, the Massachusetts Abolitionist, the Mirror of Liberty, and the National Crisis: An Antidote to Abolition Fanaticism, Treason and Sham Philanthropy.
The Women's Periodicals of the Nineteenth Century, 1866-1891 collection represents one of three collections containing women's-related periodicals. These titles span the later part of the nineteenth century and represent a broad range of subjects and places of publication, from religious and cultural periodicals from the South to domestic and parenting magazines from the North. Taken together, they allow scholars to focus on how women in particular struggled to recover from the Civil War during the years of Reconstruction. A few representative titles include Harper's Bazaar, the Southern Review, and Harriet Beecher Stowe's Hearth and Home. The Agitator, the True Woman, and the Woman's Advocate are a few examples of the women's political magazines that can also be found here.