Skip to Main Content

Music: Home

This guide is designed to help you find materials available from the Houston Cole Library for research in music.

Fine Arts Librarian

Email Me

Contact:

6th Floor
Houston Cole Library
Jacksonville State University
700 Pelham Rd N
Jacksonville, AL 36265
256-782-5246
kwestbrooks1@jsu.edu

Subjects: Alternative Religion, Architecture, Art, Communications, Dance, Digital Photography, Drama, Film and Film Studies, Fine Arts, Foreign Languages, Language, Music, Performing Arts, Religion, Theatre, Visual Arts

6th Floor: Call number ranges for music

Music scores and books are located in the following call number ranges on the 6th floor:

MT: Music Technique, Teaching, and Practice Scores

ML: Music Literature

David L. Walters Department of Music: Website, Catalog, and Schedule of Classes

David L. Walters Department of Music
Browse the JSU department of music webpage.

JSU Graduate Catalog: Music
The Department of Music offers courses leading to the Master of Arts (MA) degree with a major in Music and supporting courses for the Master of Arts (MA) degree with a major in Integrated Studies. Within the M.A. in Music, students may select one of two concentrations in either General Music or Music Education.

more... less...

General Music
Instrumental
Vocal-Choral
Music Education P-12 (leads to professional educator certification)
Instrumental
An Alternative Class A program is available for students who completed a non-teaching degree or for students who want to change teaching fields
Vocal-Choral
An Alternative Class A program is available for students who completed a non-teaching degree or for students who want to change teaching fields
JSU Undergraduate Catalog: Music
The Department of Music offers a Bachelor of Arts degree in Music with two concentrations in either Music Education or General Music.

more... less...

Concentration One in Music Education fulfills the requirements for the professional certificate to teach music in Alabama public schools on both the elementary and secondary levels.

Concentration Two in General Music offers a program designed for the study of music within a liberal arts curriculum and requires a minor.
Schedule of Classes
Search classes by term.

Taking the Praxis? Use this database for flashcards, e-books, and practice tests!

Mometrix eLibrary
Test preparation products for a variety of examinations

Welcome to the Houston Cole Library Guide for Music!

Photo by Sarah Freeman

Key Resources

Education Source
Extensive full-text education content, users will find the most comprehensive and most relevant search results.Includes content from Education Abstracts, Education Index Retrospective, Education Full Text, Education Research Complete and more than 200 additional full-text journals not previously available in any database.
Gale Academic OneFile Select
Research academic topics ranging from art and literature to economics and the sciences. Ideal for smaller academic libraries.
IPA Source
Met Opera On Demand
Music Online: Classical Music in Video

An Alexander Street Press music database
Music Online: Classical Performance in Video

This is one of the collections from Academic Video Online: Premium.
Music Online: Opera in Video

This is one of the collections from Academic Video Online: Premium.
Naxos Music Library
OmniFile Full Text Mega
A multi-disciplinary periodical database containing full-text articles from 2300 publications. Coverage includes the social sciences, humanities, education, general sciences, arts and literature, business, and law.

An EBSCOhost database
Oxford Music Online
ProQuest Databases

JSU Library Catalog (JaxCat) Search

Google Books Search

Google Scholar Search

WorldCat Search