Skip to Main Content

Music: Research Resources

This guide is designed to help you find materials available from the Houston Cole Library for research in music.

Selection of Music Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

Music Encyclopedias
Link to a list of music encyclopedias from the catalog.
Music Dictionaries
This is a link to the library's catalog with the subject heading of: Music Dictionaries.

Encyclopedia of African American Music by Emmett G. Price (Editor); Tammy L. Kernodle (Editor); Horace J. Maxile (Editor)
Call Number: ebook (click title to access)
Publication Date: 2010
Historical Dictionary of Choral Music by Melvin P. Unger
Call Number: ebook: click title to access book
Barrelhouse Words: a Blues Dialect Dictionary by Stephen Calt
Call Number: ML 3521 .C35 2009 Reference collection, 6th floor
Historical Dictionary of Modern and Contemporary Classical Music by Nicole V. Gagné
Call Number: ebook: please click title to access book
Research Methodologies in Music Education by Kay Ann Hartwig
Call Number: ebook: click the link for access
Publication Date: 2014
Continuum Encyclopedia of Popular Music of the World by John Shepherd (Editor); Peter Wicke (Editor); David Horn (Editor); Dave Laing (Editor); Paul Oliver (Editor)
Call Number: ML 102 .P66 C66 2003 (Reference Collection)
Publication Date: 2003
Baker's Biographical Dictionary of Musicians by Slonimsky, Nicolas
Call Number: ML 105 .B16 2001 (6th floor Reference Collection)
Publication Date: 2000

Discographies: what are they?

What is a discography?
Discography definition from Grove Music (Oxford Music Online)
As defined by Continuum Encyclopedia of Popular Music of the World
more...less...
This reference book is also available on the 6th floor in print: ML 102 .P66 C66 2003

What is a music bibliography?

Definition of bibliography of music from Oxford Music Online (Grove Music)
more...less...
"The most widespread use of the word 'bibliography', in music or in any scholarly endeavour, refers to lists, appended to publications, of other scholarly writings which the author used while writing, or which would be useful to an interested reader."- Oxford Music Online

Types of Musicological Research

Musicology
Historical Musicology (Music history)
Research in music education
Online book: Research Methodologies in Music Education
LibGuide on Music Research from Syracuse U.
List of Musicology topics
Types of Research Methods
Music Education
Writing about music
more...less...
from the book, Writing about music an introductory guide: ML 3797 .W54 2009

Selection of Music Research Books

Sourcebook for Research in Music, Third Edition by Allen Scott
Call Number: ebook (click link to access title)
Publication Date: 2015
Undergraduate Research in Music by Gregory Young; Jenny Olin Shanahan
ISBN: 9780415787833
Publication Date: 2017-08-10
Contemporary research in music learning across the lifespan : music education and human development by Jennifer A. Bugos
Call Number: ebook: click the link for access
Publication Date: 2017
Music Research by Laurie J. Sampsel
Call Number: ML 113 .S28 2013
Publication Date: 2012
Music Education by Michael L. Mark (Editor)
Call Number: MT 2 .M94 2013
Oxford Companion to Music by Philip Ball
Call Number: ebook (click title to access)