This page provides a list of databases for searching for articles on English Literature in scholarly journals and other periodicals. A brief description is provided for each database to help researchers choose the most appropriate one for their purpose. The advantages and disadvantages of different levels of database searching also are discussed.
There are a number of electronic resources you can use to research your area. The databases on this page are some of the more useful ones. You can also search for a specific journal using the search box below. If you cannot find what you need, please contact the Subject Specialist using the contact information under the Home tab of this Guide.
NOTE: Due to license agreements, some journals and/or specific issues may not be available in full-text.
If you are faculty, staff, or currently enrolled in classes at Jacksonville State University, you can access the Library's electronic resources from your home computer.
Access is granted through an authentication application called EZproxy. It is very easy to use, and it allows our users to access our resources from any browser (Internet Explorer, Firefox, Chrome, etc.) or service provider (AOL, Mindspring, etc.).
When you're prompted for a student/staff ID and your last name, type in your student/staff number (all numbers, no dashes, no spaces) including ALL leading zeroes and your last name. For example:
Click the "Submit" button and you're in! Once you have been authenticated, you can begin searching the resource. If you have any problems accessing the databases, use the contact information in the Help box above to contact us.
To find articles on a topic, you will need to search in databases that index the articles in various journals or, occasionally, in books, on that topic. For research on English Romantic literature, you may want to start with the following databases. For additional databases, redirect to the Supplemental Databases tab of the LibGuide for English Language and Literature: Electronic Databases by Subject.
The Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete and Scribner Writers Online databases will be particularly useful for this course.
Levels of electronic database searching
Electronic databases may be searched on three levels:
Advantages of searching a native (single) database
Disadvantages of searching a native database
Advantages of simul-searching multiple databases by provider
Disadvantages of simul-searching multiple databases by provider
Advantages of Gemfinder Discovery Search
Disadvantages of Gemfinder Discovery Search
To cross-search EBSCOhost, Gale/Cengage, or JSTOR databases:
1) Go to the library's Electronic Resources page (http://www.jsu.edu/library/resources/index.html)
2) Scroll down to Frequently Used Resources
3) Select the database vendor you wish to cross-search
4) Follow instructions provided by the vendor