LibGuides: Poverty and Social Work: Home / Key Databases

Business and Social Sciences Librarian

Email Me

Contact:

4th Floor
Houston Cole Library
Jacksonville State University
700 Pelham Rd N
Jacksonville, AL 36265
256-782-5244
cdbarnes@jsu.edu

Library Information

Personnel/Telephone Directory

Video about Boolean Searching

Boolean Operators - how to refine your searches
A brief video on how to use the Boolean operators AND, OR and NOT when searching for your subject.

Welcome

Welcome to the Houston Cole Library Guide page! The Social Work 332 - Social Policy and Services Libguide page gives you links to key resources to help you start searching for information.

Key Databases

ABI/INFORM Complete
Journals, dissertations, working papers, key newspapers in business, including economics, finance, accounting, management, marketing, and transportation.
A ProQuest database which includes ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Trade and Industry, and ABI/INFORM Dateline. Part of ProQuest Central
Academic OneFile
Database of scholarly journals and other trusted periodicals.
A Gale Cengage database that includes Agriculture Collection, Communication & Mass Media Collection, Educator's Reference Complete, Expanded Academic ASAP, and LegalTrac.
Academic Search Premier
Academic Search Premier is a giant database that covers more than 8,000 journals, 85% of which are peer-reviewed and over 55% are full text, and full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. It covers a wide variety of disciplines.
An EBSCOhost database provided by the AVL
Family Health Database
Magazines and journals covering consumer health topics, such as sports injuries, women's health, food and nutrition, midwifery, eye care and dentistry.
A ProQuest database | Part of ProQuest Central

Information for Practice
"To help social service professionals throughout the world conveniently maintain an awareness of news regarding the profession and emerging scholarship."

JSTOR
Full text online backfiles of core scholarly journals on many subjects. JSTOR's full-text coverage begins at the first issue of each journal and usually ends within five years of the present.
We subscribe to the following JSTOR collections:
19th Century British Pamphlets
Arts & Sciences I
Arts & Sciences II
Arts & Sciences III
Arts & Sciences IV
Arts & Sciences V
Arts & Sciences VI
Arts & Sciences VII
Arts & Science VIII
Arts & Sciences IX
Arts & Sciences X
Arts & Sciences XI
Arts & Sciences XII
Arts & Sciences XIII
Arts & Sciences XIV
Arts & Sciences XV
Biological Sciences
Business I
Business II
Business IV
Global Plants
Hebrew Journals Collection
Ireland Collection
Life Sciences Collection
Lives of Literature
Public Health Collection
Security Studies Collection
Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa
Sustainability Collection
World Heritage Sites: Africa
MasterFILE Premier
Multidisciplinary database providing full text for nearly 1,700 general interest periodicals.
An EBSCOhost database provided by the AVL
Opposing Viewpoints
Find overviews, news, and opinions on hundreds of today's important social issues.
A Gale Cengage database provided by the AVL
Oxford Journals Online
Journal articles in all subject areas.
Political Science Complete
Extensive full-text collection and index to political science literature. It includes online full-text for 500+ academic journals in political science and related fields and provides cover to cover indexing for a total of 1,000 political science journals and selective coverage for an additional 1,000 journals in related fields. It also includes a collection of some 340 reference and other political science e-books.
An EBSCOhost database
ProQuest Central
The largest single periodical resource available, bringing together complete databases across all major subject areas, including Business, Health and Medical, Social Sciences, Education, Science and Technology, and Humanities. Search across more than 30 databases at one time. Full-text available.
A ProQuest database.
Sage Journals Online
SAGE Publications include over 447 subscribed journals in Business, Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology and Medicine.
ScienceDirect
A collection of journals and other publications covering life sciences, health sciences, physical sciences and engineering as well as social sciences, humanities and business.
An Elsevier database
Social Services Abstracts
Research in social work, human services, and related areas.
A ProQuest database
Wiley Online Library
Journal articles on a variety of subjects.