Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Searching ProQuest's Dissertations & Theses: Full Record: Citation & Abstract

This guide is a brief introduction to all aspects of ProQuest Dissertations & Theses including content, searching, and viewing results on the new ProQuest platform. Content provided by and edited with permission from ProQuest.

Citation & Abstract Tips

1. Record Tool Bar

When viewing a full record, use one of the tools to work with the item.

Add to selected items lets you mark the record and create a list of items to work with later on.

Save to My Research adds the records to your My Research account where they will be stored and available each time you sign in to the My Research account.

Email or Print any marked items.

The Cite tool generates a bibliography in any of the supported styles available from the pull-down menu. Copy and paste the generated bibliography into a document and make any necessary edits. Remember to always check for accuracy.

Export items into a bibliographic manager like RefWorks (subscription and account required) or to the RIS file format. Exporting moves a copy of the record out of ProQuest and into one of the bibliographic managers or supported file formats.

Save is used to save the records as a PDF, RTF, HTML, or a text only file. Choose to include the level of record detail you want to save and a citation style. A permanent link to each document will also be saved with your file.

Tags are relevant words or phrases that you assign to items in ProQuest to help you organize your research and classify items. They can be made private or public and you can add as many tags to a document as you like. In order to create tags, you must have a My Research account, but you do not have to have a My Research account to view tags created by other users. For additional information, please see the please see the My Research section of this guide.

The Share button allows you to share links to documents with other ProQuest users via social networking sites. Move your mouse over the button to display and select from a list of featured available services. With the list displayed, click More... to display a complete list of available services.

2. Other Formats

When you select to view the Citation & Abstract format of the full record, you will see links to Preview – PDF, Full text - PDF, if full text is available and/or Order a copy. Each record will contain links to the available document formats and any linking tools that the library administrator has enabled to help locate the full text.

Please consider that not all records have full text available from ProQuest and you may only have a link to view the Citation / Citation & Abstract (the full record).

Preview – PDF: you can click this icon to view a preview of the first few pages of a dissertation or thesis in PDF format (up to the first 24 pages of the document or the first 10% of the content).

Full Text – PDF: Where available, you can view documents in Portable Document Format (PDF). This can be used across many different types of computers and browsers, and will preserve the look and feel of the original document in terms of fonts, layout, and images.

Order a copy: Our online discovery service Dissertation Express contains a searchable database of dissertations and theses, copies of which are available for direct purchase. It lists the document formats available for purchase, including electronic PDF, Unbound Paper Copy, Softcover Paper Copy, Hardcover Paper Copy, 35mm Roll Microfilm, and Microfiche (ProQuest Dissertations and Theses only). See screenshots to the right. Note that account administrators can also set up custom order a copy links using the ProQuest Administrator Module.

If your library has enabled tools to locate full text for you, you may see additional links here.

3. References

When provided by the author, References contain the citations of resources used to help contribute thoughts and ideas discussed within the current document. If one of the References is available to your library through another ProQuest database, you will be able to click on the reference to view the full record.

Cited by displays a list of other ProQuest documents that include the current document in their list of References.

Documents with shared references provides a list of the ProQuest documents that have References in common with the current document.

4. More Like This

Click on See similar documents to display five suggested items that are related to the current record. ProQuest analyzes the keywords in the full record and then suggests similar items. To see more similar items, click Next 5.

Search within indexing terms displays the indexed subject terms for the record and allows you to choose relevant subjects. When you click Search, ProQuest looks for documents in your currently selected databases that are indexed using ALL of your selected terms. It is possible to come across records that do not include subject terms and therefore this feature may not be available. In other cases additional index terms such as the author may appear in this section.

5. Abstract

The Abstract provides a summary of the document and may include a translate option. ProQuest will translate the abstract from English to any of the 14 languages currently supported. When you click Translate, a disclaimer will advise you that this is an "on-the-fly" machine translation and is not intended to replace human translation.

6. Indexing

The Indexing section displays the other indexed fields that did not appear at the top of the record. The indexed fields are also known as searchable fields. One exception is the Document URL field and this is not part of the searchable fields list, but instead provides a link to the full record. This is a persistent or durable URL that you can bookmark or save to give you access to the full record at another time.

Please see the Searchable Fields section of this guide for a complete list of fields.

7. Supplemental files

In cases where there are dissertations that have been submitted with supplemental files, this icon indicates the presence of additional supporting material. Additional icons will indicate the type of material, for example, audio/video, text files, images, scripts, data files, and so on.

In some cases, you may have to download specific software or plug-ins in order to be able to view supplemental files; for example, if you want to view a 3D simulation, you would not be able to unless you had previously installed the software that was used to create the file.

NOTE: Supplemental files content is only accessible from ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Full Text.

8. Tags

In this section of the full record you can view any tags that have been assigned to the records and assign your own tags.

Tags are relevant words or phrases that you assign to items in ProQuest to help you organize your research and classify items. Tags can be made private or public and you can add as many tags to a document as you like. In order to create tags, you must have a My Research account, but you do not have to have a My Research account to view tags created by other users. For additional information, please see the My Research section of this guide.

When you make tags public and share them with other ProQuest users, it may be several hours before the tags are picked up by the ProQuest search engine.

 

Full Record: Citation & Abstract

Order a copy: Dissertation Express

If you are not affiliated with a library that subscribes to PQDT, you can search for dissertations and theses through Dissertation Express
Dissertation Express lets you purchase unbound print copies or the PDF copy if available for the title you are requesting.

Dissertations are generally available in the following formats: PDF, Unbound, Softcover, Hardcover, Microfiche, and Microfilm. Please note that not every dissertation is available in every format.

ProQuest accepts the following credit cards: American Express®, MasterCard® and Visa®.

NOTE: These charges are acquired by the user so if If you are ordering for an organization, contact dissertation customer service at 1.800.521.3042 or email info@proquest.com.