Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Searching ProQuest's Dissertations & Theses: Command Line Search

This guide is a brief introduction to all aspects of ProQuest Dissertations & Theses including content, searching, and viewing results on the new ProQuest platform. Content provided by and edited with permission from ProQuest.

Command Line Search Tips

Perform a detailed search by entering terms into the search box. Use the pull-down menu to insert field codes and then connect them using the Boolean operator pull-down menu. Boolean, special characters, and field codes are supported.

1. Add Search Fields 

Click on Add search fields to display the Operators and Search fields pull-down menus.

Use the Operators pull-down menu to add Boolean operators, proximity operators, and the greater than, less than, or equal to symbols to your search. These can also be entered in manually without selecting them from the pull-down menu. For additional information on how to use the operators when putting together a search, please see the main Search Tips section of this guide.

Use the Search fields pull-down menu to add the ProQuest Dissertations & Theses supported fields to the search form. These can also be entered in manually without selecting them from the pull-down menu. For a list of ProQuest Dissertations & Theses supported fields and a description of each field, please see the Searchable Fields section of this guide.

2. Limit to: Full text

Full text is the search limit that appears in the Command Line Search.

Checking the Full text limit will restrict your search to only search and retrieve records containing full text from ProQuest.

NOTE: This limit will only appear if you use ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Full Text and if it has been turned on in the ProQuest Administrator Module. Whether or not this is checked by default is also determined by your ProQuest Administrator Module settings.

3. Date Range

The Date range limit defaults to search all dates. Other options include Last 7 days, Last 30 days, Last 3 months, Last 12 months, Last 3 years, On this date, After this date, Before this date, and Specific date range.  

4. Display Options

The Sort results by menu controls the sort order of the records that appear in the results page. Sort by relevance, date (oldest first), or date (most recent first). Relevance is determined by an algorithm that factors in the number of times your search terms appear in the record as well where in the record your search terms appear.

Items per page is used to select how many results will display on the results page. Choose from 10, 20, 50, or 100 items.

Duplicates can appear in ProQuest if the item is indexed in more than one database or collection. The default behavior is to suppress the duplicate, however, if you would like the duplicate items to appear in the results, select to include duplicate documents.


 

Command Line Search