Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Searching ProQuest's Dissertations & Theses: Basic Search

This guide is a brief introduction to all aspects of ProQuest Dissertations & Theses including content, searching, and viewing results on the new ProQuest platform. Content provided by and edited with permission from ProQuest.

Basic Search Tips

Search across all of ProQuest Dissertations & Theses with the Basic Search. Boolean, proximity, and field codes are supported. The default is to search for ALL terms entered. Separate terms with OR to find any of the terms.  To search for an exact phrase, use "quotation marks" around your search.

When running a search, the search default is either set to All fields + text or All fields (no full text). All fields + text searches the full bibliographic record (all indexed fields) including the ProQuest full text. All fields (no full text) searches the full bibliographic record, but does NOT include a search of the ProQuest full text. If your ProQuest administrator has changed the default to search All fields (no full text) you will see a note above the search box stating this: You are searching: All fields except full text.

Checking the Full text limit will restrict your search to only search and retrieve records containing full text from ProQuest.

NOTE: This limit will only appear if you use ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Full Text and if it has been turned on in the ProQuest Administrator Module. Whether or not this is checked by default is also determined by your ProQuest Administrator Module settings.


 

Basic Search