LibGuides: Respiratory Therapy: Home

Health and Sciences Librarian

Email Me

Contact:

9th Floor
Houston Cole Library
Jacksonville State University
700 Pelham Road North
Jacksonville, AL 36265-1602
256-782-5249
256-782-5872
pbarnett@jsu.edu

Library Information

Library Floor Directory (Call Numbers)
- This link opens in a new window
Library Floor Directory (Subjects)
- This link opens in a new window

Personnel/Telephone Directory

Welcome

Welcome to the Houston Cole Library Guide pages! The Respiratory Therapy page gives you links to key resources to help you start your research.

Subject Searching in Respiratory Therapy

Some of the relevant Library of Congress Subject Headings for Respiratory Therapy include:

QM261-265	Organs of Respiration and Voice
QP1-695	Physiology
RC705-779	Diseases of the Respiratory System
RJ431-436	Pediatric Respiratory System
RM161	Respiratory Therapy

Key Resources

CINAHL Ultimate
The new definitive resource for nursing and allied health research, providing full text for more of the most used journals in the CINAHL index than any other database. It covers more than 50 nursing specialties and includes quick lessons, evidence-based care sheets, CEU modules and research instruments.
DynaMed
Medical information database with nearly 2,000 clinical topic summaries.
Health & Medical Collection
Clinical, biomedical and health journals; dissertation research; and curriculum-based health videos supporting clinical care and education.
A ProQuest database | Part of ProQuest Central
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
- This link opens in a new window
Index, abstracts, and full text focusing on many medical disciplines, particularly nursing and allied health.
An EBSCOhost database provided by the AVL
Nursing & Allied Health Database
Nursing and allied health.
A ProQuest database | Part of ProQuest Central
Nursing Full Text Plus
Nursing, medicine.
An Ovid database

Human Anatomy

Visible Body Human Anatomy Atlas
- This link opens in a new window
Visible Body allows users to visualize gross anatomy and microanatomy as they would in a lab room with cadavers or specimens.

Library Tutorials/Helpful Videos

Library Research PowerPoint

Library Research
Power: PowerPoint presentation for RT 340 class

Current News from Respiratory Care

Need Help? Ask a Librarian.

Need more help? Ask a librarian!

Online Form
In Person: 2nd Floor Reference Desk
Call: 256-782-8034 or 1-800-782-5291
Contact a Subject Specialist

Reference hours:

Mon-Thurs: 9 am - 10:30 pm
Fri: 9 am - 4 pm
Sat: 9 am - 4:30 pm
Sun: 3 p.m. - 10:30 p.m.