LibGuides: EH -- Electronic Databases by Subject: Home

Literature Librarian

Email Me

Contact:

7th Floor
Houston Cole Library
Jacksonville State University
700 Pelham Rd N
Jacksonville, AL 36265
256-782-5247
256-782-5872
lepitts@jsu.edu

Subjects: Literature

Library Information

Library Floor Directory (Call Numbers)
- This link opens in a new window
Library Floor Directory (Subjects)
- This link opens in a new window

Personnel/Telephone Directory

JSU English Department Website

JSU English Department

Welcome

Welcome to this Library Guide for Language and Literature. This LibGuide is the "Electronic Databases by Subject" guide to be used for searching the Houston Cole Library's electronic databases for subject matter pertaining to language and literature. The Guide has a box on this page for Key Resources, a page (tab) listing the primary Electronic Databases by Subject (pertaining exclusively to language and literature), and a page (tab) listing supplemental databases which cover a variety of subjects, among which are language and literature.

[Simplified search strategies for the databases listed on the Home and Supplemental Databases tabs on this LibGuide can be found under the EH101 and EH102 tabs on the LibGuide for Language and Literature: Instruction Handouts.]

Key Resources

These are the electronic databases for language and literature which every student researcher should consult, and probably should begin with. More sophisticated assignments, or projects undertaken by more experienced researchers, may require an expanded search bringing into play additional databases.

Literary Reference Center Plus
Proprietary database vended by EBSCOhost
-- "proprietary" = content controlled by vendor
-- smaller number of records indexed; higher
percentage of full text
Good place to begin research
-- provides overview essays to help focus topic

https://www.ebscohost.com/us-high-schools/literary-reference-center-plus
more...less...
Search Strategy

Go to Advanced Search screen.
Put author's name (normal order) in top search box.
Put title of work (omitting initial articles) in middle box
-- for overview essays, check left pane for Plot
Summaries and/or Reference Books
--in results list look for Critical Survey,
Masterplots, Masterplots II
--read overview essays to select term(s) to
focus your topic.
Put focus terms in bottom search box to complete
search
--add additional rows as needed to further refine
search.

http://www.ebscohost.com/us-high-schools/literary-reference-center-plus
Literature Resource Center
Proprietary database vended by Gale/Cengage
-- "proprietary" = content controlled by vendor
-- smaller number of records indexed; higher
percentage of full text
-- minimal overlap and duplication of content with
Literary Reference Center Plus
Good place to begin research
-- provides overview essays to help focus topic

http://gdc.gale.com/gale-literature-collections/literature-resource-center/
more...less...
Search Strategy

Go to Advanced Search screen.
Put author's name (normal order) in bottom search box.
Put title of work (omitting initial articles) in middle box
-- for overview essays, click tab for Topic and Work Overviews.
Select focus term(s) and place in top search box to complete search.

http://gdc.gale.com/gale-literature-collections/literature-resource-center/
MLA International Bibliography
Aggregator database vended by EBSCOhost
-- "aggregator" = higher number of records indexed, smaller percentage of full text when compared to a proprietary database
MLA is THE professional database of the Modern Language Association
-- a must-use database for literary research
-- logical next step once search has been "roughed out" and search terms decided upon through proprietary database searches

https://www.google.com/?gws_rd=ssl#q=mla+international+bibliography+online
more...less...
Search Strategy

[Before searching this database, use the proprietary databases to “rough out” your search and identify appropriate search terms.]

Go to Advanced Search screen.
Put author's name (normal order) in top search box.
Put title of work (omitting initial articles) in middle box.
Put focus term(s) in bottom search box to complete
search
--add additional rows as needed to further refine
search.

http://www.mla.org/bibliography

EH -- Electronic Databases by Subject: Home

Literature Librarian

Library Information

JSU English Department Website

Welcome

Key Resources

Library Tutorials/Helpful Videos

Need Help? Ask a Librarian.

Library Catalog Basic Search

Find Journal(s)