LibGuides: EH -- Electronic Databases by Subject: Websites, Videos, and LibGuides from Other Campuses

Websites

The links in this box lead to information about writing research papers on literature. The focus is not so much on databases or database searching but rather on research/writing as process. There may be some duplication of content among the links, but each site offers something unique or it would not be included.

Basic Tips for Writing a Literary Analysis
From Sierra College: less broad in scope than the following two links, but of greater depth, with examples provided.
Literary Research Paper Structure
From Vincent Crampton of Valencia College: a basic outline of the literary research paper. The major sections of the paper are addressed, and details regarding do's, don't's, and options within each section are provided. A simplified guide to the essentials.
OWL > Writing About Literature
From the Purdue OWL (Online Writing Laboratory): a more elaborate take on things covered by the previous link. Much of the same territory is covered, but in more detail and with examples provided. Three screens: the landing screen and the two following (Next Resource >, bottom of page).

The OWL is such an outstanding go-to resource that students should bookmark it on all digital devices they use for research.

The Essentials

While all the links on this page are useful to varying degrees, these two -- one for a LibGuide and the other for a video tutorial -- might be the best places to start.

Database Search Tips: Overview
From the MIT (Massachusetts Institute of Technology) Libraries: the closest thing to a one-stop primer for electronic database searching likely to be found. This is brief and concise, yet covers the "best practices" fundamentals for electronic database searching.
Y Search
From Brigham Young University: although not comprehensive (use of library catalogs and print resources largely is overlooked), each of the modules in this video tutorial deserves attention, and some cover things not addressed by any of the other sources on this page. Within the largely digital scope of the tutorial the skills discussed are transferable: they apply to nearly all academic degree programs. Be aware that references to specific databases, etc., apply to the BYU libraries and that Houston Cole Library may not provide access to all of them.

Videos

View the videos one right after the other.

Information seeking using research tools (bibliographies, databases, indexes, internet) is language-driven. The words are paramount. With the older, analog technology (print), the words are provided in the reference tools; all the researcher has to learn is pattern recognition for the various citation forms.

With digital technology, not only must online searchers recognize citation forms, they must provide their own words to type into the search boxes. The words themselves matter. The form of the word matters. Whether to truncate (use an *) or a related term/synonym matters. Boolean operators matter. Even which search box the word is placed in can make a difference. The following links illustrate ways to manipulate language to create successful database searches.

Boolean Searching Basics
From University of Regina, Canada: presents a brief tutorial on using Boolean operators in electronic database searching, including tips on using ( ), " ", as well as truncation symbols and wild cards. Contrasts language used for Google searching with that used for library database searching
Database Searching Tips
From Dowling College: a "lite" version of the two-part tutorial from Concordia University. Employs multiple database interfaces.
How do I use databases and catalogs for all they are worth? (Advanced Searching part 1 of 2)
From Concordia University: the first of a two-part tutorial. Part one emphasizes the importance of language in online searching and contrasts the ways in which internet search engines (Bing, Google, Yahoo) and commercial electronic databases sort their search results. Examples are drawn from search interfaces of multiple digital tools.
How do I learn searching skills that work in all databases? (Advanced Searching part 2 of 2)
From Concordia University: the second of a two-part tutorial. Part two discusses advanced techniques which may be used to more precisely sculpt online database searches and introduces strategies which may be used to make Google an acceptable engine for academic research.

Note the database interfaces used in the examples. Houston Cole Library subscribes to many of these databases.
InfoRhode Tutorials
From the University of Rhode Island libraries: a comprehensive multi-part tutorial. A few of the individual components are so closely linked to URI that they are useful only to URI students. The others, however, are broad=based enough that students from any campus may benefit from them.
Searching Databases
From Yavapai College: a brief tutorial from a student's perspective, illustrating how word choice (and other search variables) can be used to manipulate a search to achieve the desired results.
Medieval helpdesk with English subtitles
Some things never change.

LibGuides from Other Campuses

These links are to LibGuides from other campuses and focus on the basics of the research process: those things which may be used across several academic disciplines and research subjects. Disregard boxes or pages that apply only to the campus from which the Guide originates; focus on the ones that have a broader scope of usefulness.

ENGL 110: Research Strategy
From College of Charleston: a spare, simple LibGuide focusing on general research, with minimal duplication of the other LGs on this page. The "Find Books" and "Library Services" pages are too CoC-centric to be of much use, but the other pages deserve close attention.
Library Research at Cornell: The Seven Steps
From Cornell University Library: takes the steps presented in the "Step-by-Step" LibGuide and expands upon them. Includes a page on what librarians actually mean when they speak library lingo. An excellent LibGuide.
Literary Criticism Research Guide
From the North Carolina State University Libraries: a literature-specific guide (unlike the others on this page, which are more focused on general research). The slideshow linked at the bottom of the "Never Written a Literary Essay Before?" goes into a deeper level of detail than other areas of the Guide and for that alone is worth a look.

One caveat: The "Find Background Information on Authors" and "Find Helpful Reference Materials" steps probably should be performed together as both often require the use of reference books, of which Houston Cole library's 6th and 7th floors have a fine collection.
Step-by-Step Guide & Research Rescue: Basic Research Strategy
From Harold B. Lee Library of Brigham Young University: a comprehensive yet clear and simple walk-through of the research process.

EH -- Electronic Databases by Subject: Websites, Videos, and LibGuides from Other Campuses

Resources from Other Campuses

Websites

The Essentials

Videos

LibGuides from Other Campuses