Skip to main content

Library Access Off-campus: Welcome

New E-books of the Month

·       Amateur Movie Making: Aesthetics of the Everyday in New England Film: http://lib-proxy.jsu.edu/login?url=https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/jsulib-ebooks/detail.action?docID=4881461

·       Anxiety Muted: American Film Music in a Suburban Age: http://lib-proxy.jsu.edu/login?url=https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/jsulib-ebooks/detail.action?docID=3056325

·       Balance Gap: Working Mothers and the Limits of the Law: http://lib-proxy.jsu.edu/login?url=https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/jsulib-ebooks/detail.action?docID=4862143

·       Can Banks Still Keep a Secret?: Bank Secrecy in Financial Centres Around the World: http://lib-proxy.jsu.edu/login?url=https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/jsulib-ebooks/detail.action?docID=4866198

·       Caught in the Web of the Criminal Justice System: Autism, Developmental Disabilities, and Sex Offenses: http://lib-proxy.jsu.edu/login?url=https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/jsulib-ebooks/detail.action?docID=4784950

·       Composer Genealogies: A Compendium of Composers, Their Teachers, and Their Students:http://lib-proxy.jsu.edu/login?url=https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/jsulib-ebooks/detail.action?docID=4776538

·       Examining Tuskegee: The Infamous Syphilis Study and Its Legacy: http://lib-proxy.jsu.edu/login?url=https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/jsulib-ebooks/detail.action?docID=475201

·       LGBTQ in the 21st Century: http://lib-proxy.jsu.edu/login?url=http://online.salempress.com/doi/book/10.3331/rsalgb

·       Women’s Bands in America: Performing Music and Gender: http://lib-proxy.jsu.edu/login?url=https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/jsulib-ebooks/detail.action?docID=4743966

·       Careers in Information Technology: http://lib-proxy.jsu.edu/login?url=https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/jsulib-ebooks/detail.action?docID=4745684

·       Chemical Engineering Fluid Mechanics (3rd Ed): http://lib-proxy.jsu.edu/login?url=https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/jsulib-ebooks/detail.action?docID=4751222

·       Conservative Human Rights Revolution: European Identity, Transnational Politics, and the Origins of the European Convention: http://lib-proxy.jsu.edu/login?url=https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/jsulib-ebooks/detail.action?docID=4766840

·       Encyclopedia of Soil Science (3rd Ed): http://lib-proxy.jsu.edu/login?url=https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/jsulib-ebooks/detail.action?docID=4932615

·       Health of Newcomers: Immigration, Health Policy, and the Case for Global Solidarity:http://lib-proxy.jsu.edu/login?url=https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/jsulib-ebooks/detail.action?docID=4500648

·       Instinctive Computing: http://lib-proxy.jsu.edu/login?url=https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/jsulib-ebooks/detail.action?docID=4784166

·       Marijuana: A Reference Handbook (2nd Ed): http://lib-proxy.jsu.edu/login?url=https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/jsulib-ebooks/detail.action?docID=4791396

·       My Nuclear Nightmare: Leading Japan through the Fukushima Disaster to a Nuclear-Free Future: http://lib-proxy.jsu.edu/login?url=https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/jsulib-ebooks/detail.action?docID=4773618

·       New Era in Global Health: Nursing and the United Nations 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development: http://lib-proxy.jsu.edu/login?url=https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/jsulib-ebooks/detail.action?docID=4874729

·       Ocean Structures: Construction, Materials, and Operations: http://lib-proxy.jsu.edu/login?url=https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/jsulib-ebooks/detail.action?docID=4778634

·       Planning Later Life: Bioethics and Public Health in Ageing Societies: http://lib-proxy.jsu.edu/login?url=https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/jsulib-ebooks/detail.action?docID=4906381

·       Public Health Nursing: Practicing Population-Based Care: http://lib-proxy.jsu.edu/login?url=https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/jsulib-ebooks/detail.action?docID=4947360

·       Satellite: Innovation in Orbit: http://lib-proxy.jsu.edu/login?url=http://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/jsulib-ebooks/detail.action?docID=4983573   

·       Understanding the Work of Nurse Theorists: A Creative Beginning: http://lib-proxy.jsu.edu/login?url=https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/jsulib-ebooks/detail.action?docID=4441672

Welcome Message

Welcome to the Houston Cole Library Distance Education information guide. This guide is designed  for students, faculty, staff and anyone who is interested to use our library.  We are committed to delivering a great experience in supporting your learning, teaching and researching needs. This guide covers the following topics:

For Students and Faculty
Remote Access

        Get Access
        Access Troubleshooting 

E-Resources (E-books, E-journals, Streaming Videos etc.)
        Finding Article with a Citation
        Finding an Article from Databases
        Finding an E-book
        Finding an Article on Reserve 
        Finding a Streaming Video 
        Library's Digital Collection
        Providers' Guide (EBSCOhost, Gale, JSTOR)

Printed Resources (Books, Journals etc.)
        Document Delivery vs. Interlibrary Loan
        Circulation Rules and Regulations
        Finding Printed Journals/Books
        Renewing Materials
        Borrow Reserved Materials

Research Assistance
        Citation Style Guide
        Citation Management Tools

        Publishing in Scholarly Journals
        Featured Books​
        Evaluation Resources
        Copyright & Plagiarism

        Research Help
        Statistics

Course Reserve
Finding pURL Link 
Featured Databases & Books
Requesting for Purchase
Library Instruction /Orientation Request
Faculty/Librarian Collaboration
Refero - an Anti-plagiarism Tutorial
Databases on Trial
Resources for creative teaching

New Resources

·       Cultural Periodicals from the Southern U.S., 1797-1877: http://lib-proxy.jsu.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?profile=ehost&defaultdb=cps
·       Periodicals of the British Empire and Its Colonies, 1702-1879: http://lib-proxy.jsu.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?profile=ehost&defaultdb=pbe
·       Women’s Periodicals of the Nineteenth Century, 1866-1891: http://lib-proxy.jsu.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?profile=ehost&defaultdb=wpn

·         Bloom’s Literaturehttp://libguides.jsu.edu/resources/fofblooms

Examines great writers, important works, memorable characters, and influential movements and events in world literature.

·         ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global: The Humanities and Social Sciences Collection:http://libguides.jsu.edu/resources/pqdtglobal

This database is the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses on humanities and social sciences. Coverage: 1637 – current.

·         RefWorks: http://libguides.jsu.edu/resources/pqrefworks

A reference management service that supports the needs of students, faculty and librarians.

Distance Education Service

Yingqi Tang's picture
Yingqi Tang
Contact:
Houston Cole Library
Jacksonville State University
700 Pelham Rd. N
Jacksonville, AL 36265-1602
Tel: (256) 782-5757
Fax: (256) 782-5872
Website / Blog Page

Library Contacts

Reference Hours & Calendar:

  • Mon-Thurs: 9 am-10:30 pm (CST)
  • Fri: 9 am-4 pm (CST)
  • Sat: 9 am-4:30 pm (CST)
  • Sun: 3 pm-10:30 pm (CST)

Library Calendar