Skip to main content

Library Access Off-campus: E-Resources

About Electronic Journals

  Due to license agreements, some journals and/or specific issues may not be available in full-text.
If you cannot find an article in full-text online, please check out our print holdings.  (see instruction on the Printed Resources tab)
Do not have access? Please check out the "Remote Access" tab.

Finding Article with a Citation

If you already have a citation to a specific article, follow the instruction below to find the full text online. 

Step 1: Read the citation, find out what is the title of the article and which journal published it.

For example:

Banda, Devender R., and Richard M. Kubina Jr. 2010. "Increasing Academic Compliance with Mathematics Tasks Using the High-Preference Strategy with a Student with Autism." Preventing School Failure 54, no. 2: 81-85.

Article title:Increasing Academic Compliance with Mathematics Tasks Using the High-Preference Strategy with a Student with Autism
Journal title: Preventing School Failure
Volume, Issue: Page begin-end: 54, no. 2: 81-85

Step 2: Find the journal

Go to the library website at http://www.jsu.edu/library/ click on the E-journals tab.
Key in the journal title and search.
You may get a list of databases that contain the specific journal.

Step 3: Click on the link of a database, you may either search with the article title or look for the article with Volume, Issue: Page etc.

Finding Articles in a Database

Begin your search for articles using the following general databases.  For more subject-specific information,  please go to the Research Help, then click on the subject links in the Subject Librarian table..

General Databases

Finding Articles on Reserve

Electronic course reserves may be accessed by an authorized user from any computer with an Internet connection.

Should you have any questions, please read the Common Problems with Electronic Course Reserves or contact Reserve Desk at 256-782-8490.

Finding E-books

You may navigate our E-book collection through Subject Listing or search from the Library Catalog.

General E-Books

                      

Health Titles
History Titles
Literature Titles

Finding Streaming Audios/Videos

Thousands of exclusive educational audio/videos are available here.

  • Nursing Education in Video: Videos created specifically for the education and training of nurses, nursing assistants, and other healthcare workers
  • Films On DemandEducational videos on various subjects
  • VAST Academic Video OnlineOver tens of thousands of streaming videos in a variety of subjects
  • Classical Music in Video: Contains 1,000 hours of classical music performances and masterclasses captured on video—approximately 1,500 performances in all
  • Naxos Music Library: Audio music
  • Kanopy: Includes thousands of award-winning documentaries, training films and theatrical releases.

Library's Digital Collection

Yearbook CollectionThe JSU Yearbook Collection spans the years from 1926-2007. 

Chanticleer: The Jacksonville State University student newspaper from 1939 to present.

Jacksonville Republican: One of the oldest newspapers in Northeast Alabama spans the years from 1837- 1895.

The First Hundred YearsThe History of Jacksonville State University, 1883-1983.

Glen Browder Collection: A collection to the life of Glen Browder, a political scientist and Eminent Scholar in American Democracy at JSU. 

Harry Strange CollectionA collection of more than 200 items, from letters to Congressional documents, relating to early 1800s Alabama history. 

Houston Cole Library, 1836-1988This chapter from the book A Dynamic Tradition : the history of Alabama academic libraries from their establishment through 1988 edited by Vicki L. Gregory, was authored by Thomas J. Freeman and Martha Merrill.

The Life and Times of Houston Cole: This biography chronicles the life of Houston Cole. 

Oral History CollectionThe project consisted of having the students interview an individual who lived through some pivotal era of U.S. History, so the interviewees discuss subjects such as the Great Depression, World War II, the Cuban Missile Crisis, and much more. 

Library Contacts

Reference Hours & Calendar:

  • Mon-Thurs: 9 am-10:30 pm (CST)
  • Fri: 9 am-4 pm (CST)
  • Sat: 9 am-4:30 pm (CST)
  • Sun: 3 pm-10:30 pm (CST)

Library Calendar

Google Scholar Search