LibGuides: Law: Library Resources & Course Guides

Library Subscribed Databases for Law (ID Required)

As there is no law school at JSU, the library law collection is mainly for curriculum support. Resources for business law, communication law, criminal law, correction law, education law, emergency management, health care law, tax law and other essential resources are priorities. The following list provides LAW related and interdisciplinary databases (ID may require for access). For more databases from the Library, please click here.

Criminal Justice Database
Journal articles and research on crime, criminology, and criminal justice, its causes and impacts, legal and social implications, as well as litigation and crime trends.

A ProQuest database | Part of ProQuest Central
EBSCOhost
A collection of databases covering various subject areas and directed at various age groups. Includes full text of newspapers and encyclopedias, ebooks and various images, pamphlets, and brochures.

EBSCOhost databases provided by the AVL
ERIC (U.S. Department of Education)
Index to education publications.
Gale Databases
Journal articles in all subject areas. This is a listing of all of the Gale databases to which the Houston Cole Library subscribes or has access.
govinfo
US Congressional and government publications
Gun Regulation and Legislation in America
This database is FREE for ALL U.S. Core package and Government, Politics, and Law subscribers and brings together essential periodicals, compiled legislative histories, CRS reports, Congressional hearings, United States Supreme Court briefs, monographs, and other related materials on the difficult and controversial topic of regulating firearms in the United States.
JSTOR
Full text online backfiles of core scholarly journals on many subjects. JSTOR's full-text coverage begins at the first issue of each journal and usually ends within five years of the present.

We subscribe to the following JSTOR collections:
19th Century British Pamphlets
Arts & Sciences I
Arts & Sciences II
Arts & Sciences III
Arts & Sciences IV
Arts & Sciences V
Arts & Sciences VI
Arts & Sciences VII
Arts & Science VIII
Arts & Sciences IX
Arts & Sciences X
Arts & Sciences XI
Arts & Sciences XII
Arts & Sciences XIII
Arts & Sciences XIV
Arts & Sciences XV
Biological Sciences
Business I
Business II
Business IV
Global Plants
Hebrew Journals Collection
Ireland Collection
Life Sciences Collection
Lives of Literature
Public Health Collection
Security Studies Collection
Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa
Sustainability Collection
World Heritage Sites: Africa
LegalTrac
Search index of prestigious and comprehensive legal content. Endorsed by the The American Association of Law Libraries.

A Gale Cengage database which is part of Academic OneFile.
MedlinePlus
Health and medicine.
NCJRS
National Criminal Justice Reference Service.
Opposing Viewpoints
Find overviews, news, and opinions on hundreds of today's important social issues.

A Gale Cengage database provided by the AVL
ProQuest Databases
Electronic databases in all subjects.
Proquest One Academic
The world’s largest curated collection of journals, ebooks, dissertations, news, video and primary sources, all in one place.

With ProQuest One Academic, four core multi-disciplinary products – ProQuest Central, Academic Complete, Academic Video Online and ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global– are now available and cross-searchable on the same user-friendly, responsive, mobile-enabled ProQuest platform.
Westlaw
Law, Supreme Court, federal and state cases, legal encyclopedias and law reviews, statutes and regulations, federal administrative materials and etc.

Gale LegalForms
Gale LegalForms brings together thousands of authentic, professional, national and state-specific legal forms and templates including business, personal, real estate and general forms covering hundreds of legal subjects and issues. Forms included range from landlord tenant, wills, power of attorney, and small business contracts. These forms are fill-in-the-blank, downloadable, and continuously updated to reflect current Alabama laws.

Video Databases

Kanopy (New Rquestes Limited to Faculty Only)
Streaming video resource with a broad collection of over 26,000 films on every subject imaginable and from leading producers such as Criterion Collection, The Great Courses, New Day Films, HBO California Newsreel, and more.

Major subjects covered include: art, business, education, global studies, languages, health, communication, sciences, and social sciences.
Academic Video Online: Premium (AVON)
More than 40,000 full video titles (not just clips) and well over 20,000 hours of content.
Films on Demand
Over 31,000 academic-level educational streaming videos covering most subject areas, from Films Media Group.

Professor, Law/Technology Librarian

Reference Librarian

Email Me

Contact:

Houston Cole Library
Jacksonville State University
700 Pelham Rd N
Jacksonville, AL 36265
256-263-4917
256-782-8034
libweb@jsu.edu

Helpful Documents

How to Find Cases and Other Legal Information in the Library: A Step-by-Step Guide