LibGuides: IL 510: Action Research Class: FIND ARTICLES

Tour Major Library Resources for Education Research

Using the Library Databases to Find Journal Articles for Education

Resources

Start with these Databases to Locate Articles

To find articles on a topic, you will need to search in databases that index the articles in various journals. Please see the "Tutorials for Doing Education Research" tab on this guide for information on database searching. Depending on your topic, you may want to start with the following:

EBSCOhost's Education Databases
- This link opens in a new window
A collection of EBSCOhost databases covering education areas. See list of available databases in this group.
EBSCOhost databases some of which provided by the AVL. Databases included in this group are Academic Search Premier, ERIC, Professional Development Collection, PsychINFO, PsycARTICLES, and Education Full Text.
Educator's Reference Complete
Gain insight on issues in administration, funding, and policy. Best for educators, administrators, and education students.
A Gale Cengage database which is part of Academic OneFile.
Education Index Retrospective: 1929-1983
Journal articles in education.
An EBSCOhost database
ERIC (EBSCOhost)
- This link opens in a new window
Extensive index to educational literature containing some 1.5 million items, including journal articles, unpublished documents, research reports, curricular materials, etc.
ERIC (ProQuest)
Extensive index to educational literature containing some 1.5 million items, including journal articles, unpublished documents, research reports, curricular materials, etc.
ERIC (U.S. Department of Education)
Index to education publications.
PsycInfo 1887-Current
Indexes the psychological literature from 1887 to the present time.
An EBSCOhost database
SPORTDiscus with Full Text
Covers sports, sports medicine, and exercise science journals and magazines. Contains over 1 million articles, with more than 25% full text coverage.
An EBSCOhost database
Westlaw
Law, Supreme Court, federal and state cases, legal encyclopedias and law reviews, statutes and regulations, federal administrative materials and etc.
Education Database
Research on primary, secondary, and higher education, as well as special education, home schooling, adult education, and hundreds of related topics. Indexes 900 educational publications, including more than 600 of the titles in full text.
A ProQuest database | Part of ProQuest Central
Mental Measurements Yearbook
Provides users with a comprehensive, full-text guide to over 3,000 contemporary testing instruments and contains information essential for a complete evaluation of test products within such diverse areas as psychology, education, business, and leadership.
An EBSCOhost database

First published by Oscar K. Buros, the MMY series allows users to make knowledgeable judgments and informed selection decisions about the increasingly complex world of testing. MMY provides coverage from Volume 9 to the present. MMY via EBSCOhost® now includes the MMY Archive providing all yearbooks from the first edition in 1938, through the 18th yearbook released in 2010.
Cabell’s Publishing: Education Directories
Directory of journal publishers in educational curriculum and methods; educational psychology and administration; and educational technology and library science.
ScienceDirect
A collection of journals and other publications covering life sciences, health sciences, physical sciences and engineering as well as social sciences, humanities and business.
An Elsevier database
Wiley Online Library
Journal articles on a variety of subjects.
Teacher Book Wizard
Searchable database of books and biographical information about authors. Useful for teachers, librarians, and parents.
Emerald Insight
Publications related to management, library and information services, engineering, applied science and technology.
Films on Demand
Over 31,000 academic-level educational streaming videos covering most subject areas, from Films Media Group.
Teacher Reference Center
Journal articles covering a variety of topics of interest to teachers, including assessment, curriculum development, standards, and continuing education.
An EBSCOhost database
Britannica Elementary School
- This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedia geared towards K-6
A Britannica database provided by the AVL
Elementary in Context
- This link opens in a new window
Introduce elementary students to database searching with resources featuring age-appropriate, curriculum-related content.
A Gale Cengage database provided by the AVL
Primary Search
- This link opens in a new window
Covers many subjects at the primary school level. Contains full text for 50 children's magazines and more than 00 pamphlets, designed for the elementary school student.
An EBSCOhost database provided by the AVL
High School Edition
- This link opens in a new window
Search magazines, journals, newspapers, and reference on a range of topics. Best for middle- and high-school students.
A Gale Cengage database provided by the AVL
Middle School in Context
- This link opens in a new window
Explore the most-studied topics including cultures, government, people, history, literature, and more.
A Gale Cengage database