LGBTQ+ Resources: Encyclopedias, Dictionaries and Handbooks

As geography has become influenced by such themes such as postcolonial studies, feminism and psychoanalysis, so students have been forced to engage with ideas and concepts from outside the traditional boundaries of their subject. This exciting new work provides them with an invaluable aid to understanding the complexities and subtleties of these new ideas.

Despite its relative youth, the gay liberation movement is one of the most vigorous and quickly growing of the contemporary social movements. The efforts of a handful of individuals put in motion a movement which now involves millions of people, and spans the globe. The agenda of the movement, like its membership, has grown tremendously, with new causes, organizations, and strategies for reaching goals constantly being adopted.

The Encyclopedia of Diversity and Social Justice contains over 300 entries alphabetically arranged for straightforward and convenient use by scholars and general readers alike. This reference is a comprehensive and systematic collection of designated entries that describe, in detail, important diversity and social justice themes. Thompson, assisted by a network of contributors and consultants, provides a centralized source and convenient way to discover the modern meaning, richness, and significance of diversity and social justice language, while offering a balanced viewpoint. This book reveals the unique nature of the language of diversity and social justice and makes the connection between how this language influences negatively and positively institutions and society. The terms have been carefully chosen in order to present the common usage of words and themes that dominate our daily conversations about these topics. Entries range from original research to synopses of existing scholarship. These discussions provide alternative views to popular doctrines and philosophical truths, and include many of the most popular terms used in current conversations on the topic, from ageism to xenophobia. This reference covers cultural, social, and political vernacular to offers an historical perspective as well. With contributions from experts in various fields, the entries consist of topics that represent a wider context among a diverse community of people from every walk of life."

The increasing numbers of LGBT teenagers who choose to live their lives as "out" youth face unique issues within their schools, families, and communities. This book provides information that will help LGBT youth overcome their challenges and give non-LGBT youth a better understanding of sexual identities different from their own. * Addresses the major issues faced by LGBT youth, such as gaining acceptance of their sexual identity in the school environment or finding a means to survive after rejection by their family members * Examines historic societal attitudes toward same-sex relationships involving young people, allowing readers to grasp how the general population's thinking has evolved * Reviews and discusses the findings of literature on the causes of homelessness and suicidal ideation among LGBT youth * Presents examples of ways in which LGBT youth have developed the skills that enable them to deal with their unique issues and concerns * Includes an extensive list of resources and organizations that can provide additional information and assistance to both LGBT and non-LGBT individuals.

The Oxford Encyclopedia of American Social History brings together in a single authoritative reference work an extraordinary wealth of information about the history of everyday life in America.Sixty years ago, an encyclopedia devoted to U.S. social history would have been unthinkable. The term "social history" was not even in common use. By the 1960s, however, scholars had begun to reject the notion that what was solely important about the past were the actions of political and militaryleaders and the ideas of elite intellectuals. These historians insisted upon the value of the experiences of ordinary people. Often called "history from the bottom up," social history includes the study of marginalized people whose voices had been largely missing from the history books, and covers awide span of activities embracing the whole range of ordinary people's life experience. Social structures and the environment that shaped American life, including family, work, leisure, social movements, and patterns of mobility and settlements, are central to the work, as are themes of race,gender, ethnicity, and class. Sensitive to transnational developments, the volume draws extensively on new literature on slavery, health and disease, sexuality, women's activism, and technology's impact on everyday life. With over 450 articles by expert scholars, each signed entry features numerous cross references and discussion of social history as well as additional sources for further study in this two-volume A-to-Z compendium. The encyclopedia is a reference work of unparalleled depth and scope and willintroduce a new generation of readers to the complexities of this dynamic field of study. It also features key biographies of leaders in social history, a topical outline, and subject index.

This title takes on terms and expressions that malign gender or sexual orientation, or create controversy and confusion. Many of the words or expressions in this dictionary are recognizeable at once for their bias, others are words we often use without realizing their underlying meaning or without knowing how their meanings have been twisted to suit the purposes of those who demean others. The expressions shed light on how our lives are shaped by learned notions of gender and sexual orientation - in particular, how words are used to put some groups down and privilege others.

This work offers an introduction to the central debates in sexuality research. Among the issues examined are the social and cultural dimensions of sex, human sexuality and sex research.

Written by an international team of experts, this comprehensive volume investigates modern-day family relationships, partnering, and parenting set against a backdrop of rapid social, economic, cultural, and technological change. Covers a broad range of topics, including social inequality, parenting practices, children's work, changing patterns of citizenship, multi-cultural families, and changes in welfare state protection for families. Features coverage of previously neglected groups, including immigrant and transnational families as well as families of gays and lesbians.