Lang&Lit: EH412 & 412G -- Victorian Poetry: Find Articles

There are a number of electronic resources you can use to research your area. The databases on this page are some of the more useful ones.  You can also search for a specific journal using the search box below. If you cannot find what you need, please contact the Subject Specialist using the contact information under the Home tab of this Guide.

NOTE: Due to license agreements, some journals and/or specific issues may not be available in full-text.

If you are faculty, staff, or currently enrolled in classes at Jacksonville State University, you can access the Library's electronic resources from your home computer.

Access is granted through an authentication application called EZproxy. It is very easy to use, and it allows our users to access our resources from any browser (Internet Explorer, Firefox, Chrome, etc.) or service provider (AOL, Mindspring, etc.).

When you're prompted for a student/staff ID and your last name, type in your student/staff number (all numbers, no dashes, no spaces) including ALL leading zeroes and your last name. For example:

• Student/Staff ID: 123456789
• Last Name: smith

Click the "Submit" button and you're in! Once you have been authenticated, you can begin searching the resource. If you have any problems accessing the databases, use the contact information in the Help box above to contact us.

Many authors have groups of admirers who study their works and even form organizations which issue publications devoted to that author.  Yet these publications are so obscure that they are not indexed in any of the major databases.  Here is an area where a basic internet search can be useful, since many of these publications have contents pages, and even selective full text of articles, available online.  The search template is simple.  In the search box of the internet search engine, type the name of the author, within quotation marks, followed by the word "society" (no quotation marks).  For example:

"john cooper powys" society

Whether the author's group calls itself an Association, a Circle, or a Society, within the results list the search brings up should be a link to that group; and connected to that link, access to resources which might otherwise remain unavailable.

Start with these Databases to Locate Articles

To find articles on a topic, you will need to search in databases that index the articles in various journals or, occasionally, in books, on that topic. For research on English Romantic literature, you may want to start with the following databases.  For additional databases, redirect to the Supplemental Databases tab of the LibGuide for English Language and Literature: Electronic Databases by Subject.

From Ozymandias to Huckleberry Finn, Nineteenth-Century Literature unites a broad-based group of transatlantic authors and poets, literary characters, and discourses - all discussed with a keen understanding of nineteenth -century literary history and theory.

Print: Per PR873.T76

Electronic:

Founded in 1962 to further the aesthetic study of the poetry of the Victorian Period in Britain (1830-1914), Victorian Poetry publishes articles from a broad range of theoretical and critical angles, including but not confined to new historicism, feminism, and social and cultural issues. The journal has expanded its purview from the major figures of Victorian England (Tennyson, Browning, the Rossettis, etc.) to a wider compass of poets of all classes and gender identifications in nineteenth-century Britain and the Commonwealth.

                                                                                                                                                               Print: Per PR500.V5

Electronic: 

One of the first interdisciplinary journals in the humanities, Victorian Studies remains the flagship journal in the field. Publishing essays on topics from literature, social and political history, fine arts, science, philosophy, economics, and law.

Print: PR1.V5

Electronic: 

The Year's Work in English Studies is the qualitative narrative bibliographical review of scholarly work on English language and literatures written in English. It is the largest and most comprehensive work of its kind and the oldest evaluative
work of literary criticism. The Year’s Work in English Studies does not merely offer annotated or enumerated bibliography entries, but provides expert, critical commentary supplied for every book covered.

                                                                            
Print: Ref PE58.E6  [YWES actually is a periodical, an annual; but Houston Cole Library treats annuals as books rather than periodicals, so this one is cataloged and shelved as a reference book.]

Electronic: <http://ywes.oxfordjournals.org/content/by/year>