Skip to main content

Military & Naval Sciences: Library Resources & Course Guides

This guide is designed to help you find materials available from the Houston Cole Library for research in military and naval sciences.

JSU Library Subject Related and General Databases (ID required for access)

The Department of Military Science is a cooperative venture between the United States Army and Jacksonville State University. The program provides a Reserve Officer Training Corps (ROTC) program with a mission of commissioning students as officers in the Army upon completion of a baccalaureate degree or sufficient progress on a master’s degree. Satisfactory completion of the program may lead to a minor in Military Science.

Video Databases at JSU Library

About Collections at JSU Library

Circulating /Reference Collection: Books available for borrowing by students and faculty members. They are shelved on the stacks on 10th Floor of the Library under under Call Number U & V:

  • VD 7-430 Naval seamen
 

 

Click here for new books that the Library recently purchased. To view a list of technology reference books, please click here. JSU library also provides access to electronic books. ID may require for off-campus accessing these E-books. InterLibrary Loan Service is available as well.

Micoforms: Microforms (mainly microfiches and microfilms) are located on 10th floor. They are in-library use only. Microforms can be viewed and printed out by using the microform reader machines (located on 2nd floor).

Government Documents: Most government documents for family and consumer sciences are located on 10th floor under call number U & V. They are integrated into the regular agricultural collection. Some pamphlets can be found in the Vertical File cabinets on 2nd floor under SuDoc Classification System. For more information on government documents, please click here.

Periodical = Serial: a publication that comes out regularly (weekly, monthly, quarterly, etc.) that uses a numbering system that is intended to continue indefinitely. Magazinesjournals and newspapers are all referred to as periodicals or serials. JSU students and faculty can connect to a list of online periodicals here.

Scholarly Journals: are academic periodicals that publish on a regular schedule (monthly, quarterly, etc.). They offer original scholarship and reviews written by expert scholars. Most include long articles with footnotes and/or bibliographies.  

General magazines: have essays, editorials, and news written by journalists for non-experts with photos, cartoons, sidebars, usually sources are not cited. They are good for basic information, news, opinions about public policies, etc.

Databases are collections of articles from journals, magazines, and newspapers. Use databases to search hundreds of different publications to find articles on your topic. A list of JSU databases can be accessed here.

Open Sources for Military & Naval Sciences (No ID required)

  • Air University Library (AUL) Index to Military Periodicals: is a subject index to significant articles, news items, and editorials from English language military and aeroncal periodicals. The Index contains citations since 1988 and is updated continuously. A comprehensive list of all journals covered by AULIMP since 1949 is available as the Historical Index of AULIMP titles.
  • CSI Publications: Links to books and articles from the Central Intelligence Agency.
  • MERLN (the Military Education Research Library Network): Includes Military Policy Awareness Links (MiPALs), which provide access to current U.S. Government policy statements on selected key topics, accompanied by additional resources that analyze the topic; Digital collections of full-text papers, lectures, and legislation; Links to worldwide military library catalogs; Links to military journals and publications. Maintained by the National Defense University Library in Washington, D.C.
  • SCAMPI: a specialized military library, focusing on research in joint and multinational operations, military history and naval science, operational warfare, and operations other than war.
  • Empirical Studies of Conflict Project (ESOC): from Princeton University, identifies, compiles, and analyzes micro-level conflict data and information on insurgency, civil war, and other sources of politically motivated violence worldwide.
  • Exam2jobs.com: about the certification test (or tests) you’ll need to pass in order to embark on a new career or keep moving upward in your current one.
  • Military History and Military Science: Wars: Annotated list of reference websites from the Library of Congress.
  • Military Legal Resources: from the Library of Congress, this collection focuses on Army legal history and current legal system activities.
  • IHS Janes 360: headlines with links to feature reports and other information on important events, trends, and issues.
  • Combined Arms Research Library (CARL) Digital Library: Included are operational documents during World War II, obsolete military manuals, orders of battle, and other publication such as School of Advanced Military Studies monographs and master of military art and science theses.
  • Weapons of Mass Destruction FBI: WMD Basics, Security Awareness Videos, WMD News, Contacts, and FBI resources

Professor, Law/Technology Librarian

Hanrong Wang's picture
Hanrong Wang
Contact:
Houston Cole Library, 10th Floor

Jacksonville State University

Jacksonville, Alabama 36265

Tel: ++1-256 782-5250

Fax: ++1-256-782-5872

hwang@jsu.edu

Also Contact Me:

  • to discuss ways the Library collections can support your curriculum and research needs through the acquisition or provision of access to resources;
  • to answer questions about library research materials, tool, services, policies, or procedures;
  • to obtain reports on library collections and services for program reviews, accreditation reports, grant applicants, etc.;
  • to schedule research instruction or support sessions tailored specifically for your course topic or project;
  • to obtain additional or individualized research assistance for students and faculty.

Normal Working Hours

Fall, Spring, May & Summer Sessions :

Monday-Wednesday: 9:00 A.M.-5:30 P.M.

Thursday: 3:30 P.M.-11:00 P.M.        Friday: 9:00 A.M.-4:30 P.M.

Office Location: 10th Floor, Houston Cole Library

Course Guides

  • Research Foundations Tutorial & Quiz: fundamental research skills, covers the selection of appropriate information sources; effective searching of library databases and the Internet; and the location, evaluation and citation of information.

Search Options

Basic search in the Houston Cole Library catalog. 

Search Catalog: by:  

 

Advanced Search

Search for Journal Title
Limit Your Results