The Federal Depository Library Program

New Documents
A selection of the recent notable government publications:

Government Documents @ Houston Cole Library
![]() |
As a member of the Federal Depository Library Program since 1929, the Houston Cole Library receives, catalogs, and provides access to the publications of the U.S. Federal Government. Many of these publications are also available online in electronic format. In addition, the Library offers access to some state and local government publications and resources. Search the Library's catalog for government publications or use the tabs above to browse resources by federal, state, or local government. If you need assistance, please contact the Library's Government Documents Librarian or the Reference Desk by phone (256.782.8034) or online. |
Hot Topics
The 2012 Election
Campaigning for the 2012 Election is in full swing. The following resources can help you become an informed voter:
- The American Presidency Project - transcripts of presidential debates (including those for the current elections) from 1960-2012. This site also offers a wealth of other information including party platforms, and convention and campaign speeches.
- Voter Information - How do I register to vote? Where is my polling place? What if I'm overseas in the military or need absentee voting? This site can answer all your questions.
- Federal Election Commission - The FEC is a regulatory agency that oversees campaign finance and enforces finance and funding regulations. Using the FEC's searchable database, funding information for any candidate's campaign can be viewed. This site also provides information on campaign finance law, regulations, and procedures.
- Republican Party - the official website of the Republican National Committee. This site provides information on party platforms, members, candidates, and more.
- Democratic Party - the official website of the Democratic National Committee. This site provides information on party platforms, members, candidates, and more.
The 1940 Census has been released
The 1940 census records (available here) were released by the U.S. National Archives on April 2, 2012. The U.S. Census Bureau collects a wealth of information about life in the United States, from population demographics to information on housing, economic indicators, social issues, geographic data, business data, and more. In order to protect citizens' privacy, only group population data is released upon the completion of a Decennial Census - data on individuals, including names and addresses, is not released until 72 years (the length of an average life-span) after the census was conducted. The 1940 census is the latest to be released; the 1950 census data will be available in 2022.
For more information on finding and using census data, see our Census Toolkit.
Electronic Resources/Documents Librarian |
Contact Info Technical Services Houston Cole Library Jacksonville State University 700 Pelham Road North Jacksonville, AL 36265-1602 256.782.8195 BB IM: blatham Send Email |
Notable Documents
- Core Documents of Our DemocracyThese cornerstone documents (The Articles of Confederation, Constitution, Bill of Rights, Declaration of Independence, Emancipation Proclamation, and more) form the bedrock of our nation's democratic system - be an informed citizen and READ THEM.
- Charters of FreedomDownloadable, high-resolution images of the originals of the Declaration of Independence, Constitution, and Bill of Rights - and much more!
- Top 100 Milestone DocumentsThis list of milestone documents chronicles the history of the United States from 1776 to 1965. Images of the originals and transcripts of everything from the Louisiana Purchase Treaty to the Lend-Lease Act are included in this collection.





Loading...
