Skip to main content

Electronic Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, and Reference Resources: Home

This guide contains links to electronic reference materials such as encyclopedias and dictionaries.

Head of Technical Services

Jodi Poe's picture
Jodi Poe
Contact:
8th Floor
Houston Cole Library
Jacksonville State University
700 Pelham Rd N
Jacksonville, AL 36265
256-782-8103
256-782-5872
jpoe@jsu.edu
Website / Blog Page

Welcome

Welcome to the Houston Cole Library Encyclopedia and Dictionary Guide page! This guides provides links to a variety of reference materials.

Who has access?

If you are faculty, staff, or currently enrolled in classes at Jacksonville State University, you can access the Library's electronic resources from your home computer.

How Do I Access These Resources?

Access is granted through the same credentials you use for MyJSU.  When you select any of our electronic resources, databases or journals, you will be routed to MyJSU.

MyJSU Login Screenshot

It is important to note that users will still be verified through the Library's system, so if there is a problem with your record in the Library’s System, you will be prompted to contact us at 256.782.5758 or 1-800-231-5291.

Special Note

NOTE: Due to license agreements, some journals and/or specific issues may not be available in full-text.

Where can I access these resources?

Access is granted through an authentication application called EZproxy. It is very easy to use, and it allows our users to access our resources from any browser (Internet Explorer, Firefox, Chrome, etc.) or service provider (AOL, Mindspring, etc.).

Need Help? Ask a Librarian.

Need more help? Ask a librarian!

Reference hours:

  • Mon-Thurs: 9 am - 10:30 pm
  • Fri: 9 am - 4 pm
  • Sat: 9 am - 4:30 pm
  • Sun: 3 p.m. - 10:30 p.m.

Library Catalog Basic Search

Basic search in the Houston Cole Library catalog. 

Search Catalog: by:

Advanced Search

Find Journal(s)

Search for Journal Title
Limit Your Results