This is the "Home" page of the "Electronic Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, and Reference Resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Electronic Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, and Reference Resources  

This guide contains links to electronic reference materials such as encyclopedias and dictionaries.
Last Updated: Jan 2, 2013 URL: http://libguides.jsu.edu/dictionaries Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Head of Technical Services

Profile Image
Jodi Poe
Logo - LinkedIn
Contact Info
Jacksonville State University
Houston Cole Library
700 Pelham Rd N
Jacksonville, AL 36265
(256) 782-8103
FAX: (256) 782-5872
Blackboard IM ID: jpoe
Send Email
 

Welcome

Welcome to the Houston Cole Library Encyclopedia and Dictionary Guide page! This guides provides links to a variety of reference materials.

 

Who has access?

If you are faculty, staff, or currently enrolled in classes at Jacksonville State University, you can access the Library's electronic resources from your home computer.

 

How Do I Access These Resources?

When you're prompted for a student/staff ID and your last name, type in your student/staff number (all numbers, no dashes, no spaces) including ALL leading zeroes and your last name. For example:

  • Student/Staff ID: 123456789
  • Last Name: smith

Click the "Submit" button and you're in! Once you have been authenticated, you can begin searching the resource. If you have any problems accessing the databases, use the contact information in the Help box above to contact us.

 

Special Note

NOTE: Due to license agreements, some journals and/or specific issues may not be available in full-text.

 

Where can I access these resources?

Access is granted through an authentication application called EZproxy. It is very easy to use, and it allows our users to access our resources from any browser (Internet Explorer, Firefox, Chrome, etc.) or service provider (AOL, Mindspring, etc.).

 

Need Help? Ask a Librarian.

Need more help? Ask a librarian!

  • Online Form
  • In Person: 2nd Floor Reference Desk
  • Call: 256-782-8034 or 1-800-782-5291
  • Contact a Subject Specialist
  • Chat: Blackboard IM: jsulibrary (this service is only available for JSU faculty, staff and students)

Reference hours:

  • Mon-Thurs: 9 am - 10:30 pm
  • Fri: 9 am - 4 pm
  • Sat: 9 am - 4:30 pm
  • Sun: 3 p.m. - 10:30 p.m.
 

Library Catalog Basic Search

Basic search in the Houston Cole Library catalog. 

Search Catalog: by:

Advanced Search

 

Find E-Journal (Serials Solutions)

Find e-journals by title or ISSN:
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip