LibGuides: Applied Engineering/Technology: Library Resources & Course Guides

Library Subscribed Databases for Applied Engineering & Technology (ID Required)

The Department of Applied Engineering (TEC) offers degree programs including Pre-Engineering, Applied Manufacturing Engineering, Applied Electronics Engineering, Industrial Leadership, and Occupational Safety and Health Management. And the department also offers courses leading to the Master of Science degree with a major in Manufacturing Systems Technology. JSU Library provides information resources for curriculum support. The following list provides AE related and interdisciplinary databases (ID may require for access):

ACM Digital Library
Bibliographic information, abstracts, reviews, and full-text articles published in ACM periodicals and proceedings since 1985. Full-text is not yet available for every proceeding article published before 1991.

An Association for Computing Machinery database.
Associations Unlimited
International and U.S. national, regional, state, and local nonprofit membership organizations in all fields.

A Gale Cengage database
Biological Sciences
Biomedicine, biotechnology, zoology and ecology.

Provided by ProQuest
Business Continuity & Disaster Recovery Reference Center
Journal articles covering all aspects of business continuity and disaster recovery (BC/DR).

Provided by EBSCOhost
Business Source Premier
Journal articles in business, management, economics, finance, banking, and accounting.

An EBSCOhost database provided by the AVL
EBSCOhost
A collection of databases covering various subject areas and directed at various age groups. Includes full text of newspapers and encyclopedias, ebooks and various images, pamphlets, and brochures.

EBSCOhost databases provided by the AVL
Emerald Insight
Publications related to management, library and information services, engineering, applied science and technology.
ERIC (EBSCOhost)
Extensive index to educational literature containing some 1.5 million items, including journal articles, unpublished documents, research reports, curricular materials, etc.
Gale Databases
Journal articles in all subject areas. This is a listing of all of the Gale databases to which the Houston Cole Library subscribes or has access.
govinfo
US Congressional and government publications
IEEE Computer Society Digital Library
Journal articles in the computer science area.
JSTOR
Full text online backfiles of core scholarly journals on many subjects. JSTOR's full-text coverage begins at the first issue of each journal and usually ends within five years of the present.

We subscribe to the following JSTOR collections:
19th Century British Pamphlets
Arts & Sciences I
Arts & Sciences II
Arts & Sciences III
Arts & Sciences IV
Arts & Sciences V
Arts & Sciences VI
Arts & Sciences VII
Arts & Science VIII
Arts & Sciences IX
Arts & Sciences X
Arts & Sciences XI
Arts & Sciences XII
Arts & Sciences XIII
Arts & Sciences XIV
Arts & Sciences XV
Biological Sciences
Business I
Business II
Business IV
Global Plants
Hebrew Journals Collection
Ireland Collection
Life Sciences Collection
Lives of Literature
Public Health Collection
Security Studies Collection
Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa
Sustainability Collection
World Heritage Sites: Africa
MathSciNet
Covers the mathematical literature.

Contains indexing, abstracts, and links to the mathematical literature since 1940.

An American Mathematical Society product
Mometrix eLibrary
Test preparation products for a variety of examinations
Patent and Trademarks
Patents and trademarks. Users must register and download the AlternaTIFF viewer in order to view these items. Registration is free.
ProQuest Databases
Electronic databases in all subjects.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global: Science & Technology
This resource covers dissertations on the latest science and technology information for researchers of all levels.
Proquest One Academic
The world’s largest curated collection of journals, ebooks, dissertations, news, video and primary sources, all in one place.

With ProQuest One Academic, four core multi-disciplinary products – ProQuest Central, Academic Complete, Academic Video Online and ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global– are now available and cross-searchable on the same user-friendly, responsive, mobile-enabled ProQuest platform.
Sage Journals Online
SAGE Publications include over 447 subscribed journals in Business, Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology and Medicine.
Salem Science Titles
Science E-books.
ScienceDirect
A collection of journals and other publications covering life sciences, health sciences, physical sciences and engineering as well as social sciences, humanities and business.

An Elsevier database
Vocational & Career Collection (EBSCO)
Covers trade and industry-related periodicals. Contains full text from >350 titles.

An EBSCOhost database provided by the AVL
Westlaw
Law, Supreme Court, federal and state cases, legal encyclopedias and law reviews, statutes and regulations, federal administrative materials and etc.
Wiley Online Library
Journal articles on a variety of subjects.

SafetyLit
Provides abstracts of reports from researchers who work in the more than 30 distinct professional disciplines relevant to preventing and researching unintentional injuries, violence, and self-harm. Among these are agriculture, anthropology, architecture, economics, education, engineering specialties, ergonomics and human factors, faith scholars, health and medicine, law and law enforcement, psychology, social work, sociology, and other fields.

more... less...

The database contains information about more than 15,000 journals, 25, 000 books, doctoral theses, and technical reports.

PsycArticles
General psychology and specialized basic, applied, clinical, and theoretical research in psychology articles from all of the publications of the American Psychological Association.

An EBSCOhost database
RefWorks
Bibliographic management program that allows users to create personal databases and use them for a variety of research activities.

References can be quickly and easily imported into RefWorks from text files or online databases. Users can automatically insert references from their database into their papers, generating formatted bibliographies and manuscripts. With an improved user experience, full-text management and collaboration features, RefWorks gives students and faculty a tool that enables a more efficient and reliable process for producing research papers.

If you receive a notice about the website's security certificate, you should click on the "continue to the website" option to access this resource.

Library Video Databases (ID required)

Academic Video Online: Premium (AVON)
More than 40,000 full video titles (not just clips) and well over 20,000 hours of content.
Films on Demand
Over 31,000 academic-level educational streaming videos covering most subject areas, from Films Media Group.
Kanopy (New Rquestes Limited to Faculty Only)
Streaming video resource with a broad collection of over 26,000 films on every subject imaginable and from leading producers such as Criterion Collection, The Great Courses, New Day Films, HBO California Newsreel, and more.

Major subjects covered include: art, business, education, global studies, languages, health, communication, sciences, and social sciences.

Professor, Law/Technology Librarian

Reference Librarian

Email Me

Contact:

Houston Cole Library
Jacksonville State University
700 Pelham Rd N
Jacksonville, AL 36265
256-263-4917
256-782-8034
libweb@jsu.edu