LibGuides: Agriculture: Library Resources

JSU Library Subscribed Databases for Agricultural Research (log-in required for access):

Agricultural Periodicals from the Northeastern U.S., 1789-1879
Focuses on publications about farming-related activities in the 19th century.
Part of the AAS Historical Periodicals Thematic Collection.

The publications featured in Agricultural Periodicals from the Northeastern US, 1789-1879 consist of regional periodicals focusing on northeastern conditions and how populations adapted to the particular climates and soil conditions of the area. Topics include architectural plans for farmhouses and outbuildings, recipes and advice for farm women, instructions for performing one's own medical and veterinary treatments, reports from agricultural fairs, and more.
Agricultural Periodicals from the Southern, Midwestern, and Western U.S., 1800-1878
More than 180 titles which focus on agriculture during the 19th century covering the day-to-day concerns of a largely agrarian society of the time, from raising crops and keeping bees to caring for livestock and erecting farm structures.
Part of the AAS Historical Periodicals Thematic Collection
Agriculture Collection
With coverage of agriculture and its related fields, this collection provides a comprehensive view of this growing body of knowledge. Comprised of hundreds of journals and magazines, researchers will have access to current and authoritative content that spans the industry -- from practical aspects of farming to cutting edge scientific research in horticulture. All articles have been published between 1980 and present.
A Gale Cengage database which is part of Academic OneFile.
Agriculutre AAS Historical Periodicals
This group contains the Agricultural Periodicals from the Northeastern Us, 1789-1879; Agricultural Periodicals from the Southern, Midwestern, and Western US, 1800-1878; and Commercial Periodicals from the Southern US, 1811-1877 databases.
Biological Sciences
This interdisciplinary database offers abstracts and citations to research in biomedicine, biotechnology, zoology and ecology, and aspects of agriculture and veterinary science monitoring literature from over 8,000 serials, as well as conference proceedings, technical reports, monographs and books and patents. ProQuest Deep Indexing: Biological Sciences supplements Biological Sciences with access to millions of indexed charts, figures, graphs, maps, photographs, and tables from the scholarly research and technical literature.
Provided by ProQuest
Biological Sciences
Biomedicine, biotechnology, zoology and ecology.
Provided by ProQuest
Biology Database
Biology Journals from Gale provides access to a wide range of biology topics including some of the most popular information resources for users in academic, government and public research environments.
A ProQuest database | Part of ProQuest Central
EBSCOhost
- This link opens in a new window
A collection of databases covering various subject areas and directed at various age groups. Includes full text of newspapers and encyclopedias, ebooks and various images, pamphlets, and brochures.
EBSCOhost databases provided by the AVL
Gale Databases
Journal articles in all subject areas. This is a listing of all of the Gale databases to which the Houston Cole Library subscribes or has access.
Gardening and Horticulture
- This link opens in a new window
Find millions of articles on the practical and scientific aspects of horticulture studies. For all horticultural enthusiasts.
The Gardening, Landscape, and Horticulture Collection is a special collection that is part of Gale Cengage's Academic OneFile, which is provided by the AVL. The database offers biotechnologists, farmers, hobbyists, and landscape architects alike access to important content relevant to their pursuits.
JSTOR
Full text online backfiles of core scholarly journals on many subjects. JSTOR's full-text coverage begins at the first issue of each journal and usually ends within five years of the present.
We subscribe to the following JSTOR collections:
19th Century British Pamphlets
Arts & Sciences I
Arts & Sciences II
Arts & Sciences III
Arts & Sciences IV
Arts & Sciences V
Arts & Sciences VI
Arts & Sciences VII
Arts & Science VIII
Arts & Sciences IX
Arts & Sciences X
Arts & Sciences XI
Arts & Sciences XII
Arts & Sciences XIII
Arts & Sciences XIV
Arts & Sciences XV
Biological Sciences
Business I
Business II
Business IV
Global Plants
Hebrew Journals Collection
Ireland Collection
Life Sciences Collection
Lives of Literature
Public Health Collection
Security Studies Collection
Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa
Sustainability Collection
World Heritage Sites: Africa
OmniFile Full Text Mega
A multi-disciplinary periodical database containing full-text articles from 2300 publications. Coverage includes the social sciences, humanities, education, general sciences, arts and literature, business, and law.
An EBSCOhost database
ProQuest Databases
Electronic databases in all subjects.
Proquest One Academic
The world’s largest curated collection of journals, ebooks, dissertations, news, video and primary sources, all in one place.
With ProQuest One Academic, four core multi-disciplinary products – ProQuest Central, Academic Complete, Academic Video Online and ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global– are now available and cross-searchable on the same user-friendly, responsive, mobile-enabled ProQuest platform.
ScienceDirect
ScienceDirect is a leading full-text scientific database offering journal articles and book chapters from more than 2,500 peer-reviewed journals and more than 11,000 books. There are currently more than 11 million articles/chapters, a content base that is growing at a rate of almost 0.5 million additions per year.
An Elsevier database
Wiley Online Library
Featuring 258 publications in Agriculture.

AGRICOLA (AGRICultural OnLine Access)
AGRICOLA records describe publications and resources encompassing all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines, including animal and veterinary sciences, entomology, plant sciences, forestry, aquaculture and fisheries, farming and farming systems, agricultural economics, extension and education, food and human nutrition, and earth and environmental sciences. It is a database produced by the National Agricultural Library (NAL), consists of two subsets of records. The first contains citations for journal articles that include abstracts. The second consists of bibliographic records describing monographs, serials, audiovisual materials and online content from around the world. The database contains 5,200,000+ records and includes printed works from as far back as the 15th century.
AGRIS
AGRIS provides free access to more than 12 million records about publications in up to 90 different languages. It facilitates access to referring books, journal articles, monographs, book chapters, datasets and grey literature - including unpublished scientific and technical reports, theses, dissertations and conference papers in the area of food and agriculture.
SafetyLit
provides abstracts of reports from researchers who work in the more than 30 distinct professional disciplines relevant to preventing and researching unintentional injuries, violence, and self-harm. Among these are agriculture, anthropology, architecture, economics, education, engineering specialties, ergonomics and human factors, faith scholars, health and medicine, law and law enforcement, psychology, social work, sociology, and other fields.

Video Databases from the Library (log-in required for access)

Academic Video Online: Premium (AVON)
More than 40,000 full video titles (not just clips) and well over 20,000 hours of content.
Films on Demand
Over 31,000 academic-level educational streaming videos covering most subject areas, from Films Media Group.
Kanopy (New Rquestes Limited to Faculty Only)
Streaming video resource with a broad collection of over 26,000 films on every subject imaginable and from leading producers such as Criterion Collection, The Great Courses, New Day Films, HBO California Newsreel, and more.
Major subjects covered include: art, business, education, global studies, languages, health, communication, sciences, and social sciences.

Professor, Law/Technology Librarian

Hanrong Wang

Email Me

Contact:

10th Floor
Houston Cole Library
Jacksonville State University
700 Pelham Rd N
Jacksonville, AL 36265
256-782-5250
hwang@jsu.edu

Subjects: Agriculture, Applied Science, Design, Digital Photography, Engineering, Family & Consumer Sciences, Law, Library Science, Military Science, Technology

Also Contact Me for:

to discuss ways the Library collections can support your curriculum and research needs through the acquisition or provision of access to resources;
to answer questions about library research materials, tool, services, policies, or procedures;
to obtain reports on library collections and services for program reviews, accreditation reports, grant applicants, etc.;
to schedule research instruction or support sessions tailored specifically for your course topic or project;
to obtain additional or individualized research assistance for students and faculty.

Normal Working Hours

Fall, Spring, May & Summer Sessions :

Monday-Wednesday: 9:00 A.M.-5:00 P.M.

Thursday: 3:30 P.M.-11:00 P.M.

Friday: 9:00 A.M.-4:30 P.M.

Office Location: 10th Floor, Houston Cole Library

Resources and Tools

Please visit the Open Access: Awareness, Adoption, Adaptation, and Assessment page for tools and resources on open access and OER.
Doing Research at the Library: In this video, we explore the extensive collection and diverse services offered by our library. Research strategies/skills such as Keyword v. Subject Searches, Boolean Operators, Primary and Secondary Sources, Scholarly v. Non Scholarly Publications are introduced.
Discovering Books and Periodical Articles Related to Your Topic at the Library: A Step-by-Step Guide (Hands-on Guide)

Agriculture: Library Resources

Books are shelved according to the Library of Congress classification. The majority of the agricultural books will be found in the S. Click here for new books that the library recently purchased.

S Agriculture (General)

SB Plant culture

SD Forestry

SF Animal culture

SH Aquaculture. Fisheries. Angling

SK Hunting sports

Circulating /Reference Collection

Books available for borrowing by students and faculty members. They are shelved on the stacks on 10th Floor of the library under under Call Number S. Reference books are in-library use only. Special permission may be needed for checking out pint reference books. To view a list of reference books, please click here. JSU library also provides access to electronic books. ID may require for off-campus accessing these e-books.

Microforms

Agricultural microforms (mainly microfiches and microfilms) are located on 10th floor. They are in-library use only. Microforms can be viewed and printed out by using the microform reader machines.

Government Documents

Most government documents for agriculture are located on 10th floor under call number S. They are integrated into the regular agricultural collection. For more information on government documents, please click here.

Periodical = Serial = a publication that comes out regularly (weekly, monthly, quarterly, etc.) that uses a numbering system that is intended to continue indefinitely. Magazines, journals and newspapers are all referred to as periodicals or serials. JSU students and faculty can connect to a list of online periodicals here.

Scholarly Journals are academic periodicals that publish on a regular schedule (monthly, quarterly, etc.). They offer original scholarship and reviews written by expert scholars. Most include long articles with footnotes and/or bibliographies.

General magazines have essays, editorials, and news written by journalists for non-experts with photos, cartoons, sidebars, usually sources are not cited. They are good for basic information, news, opinions about public policies, etc.

Databases are collections of articles from journals, magazines, and newspapers. Use databases to search hundreds of different publications to find articles on your topic. A list of library databases can be accessed here.