LibGuides: Theatre History: Home

Fine Arts Librarian

Email Me

Contact:

6th Floor
Houston Cole Library
Jacksonville State University
700 Pelham Rd N
Jacksonville, AL 36265
256-782-5246
kwestbrooks1@jsu.edu

Subjects: Alternative Religion, Architecture, Art, Communications, Dance, Digital Photography, Drama, Film and Film Studies, Fine Arts, Foreign Languages, Language, Music, Performing Arts, Religion, Theatre, Visual Arts

Welcome to the Houston Cole Library Guide for Theatre and Film!

JSU Library Catalog (JaxCat)

Resources

Start with these Databases to Locate Articles

To find articles on a topic, you will need to search in databases that index the articles in various journals. Depending on your topic, you may want to start with the following:

JSTOR
Full text online backfiles of core scholarly journals on many subjects. JSTOR's full-text coverage begins at the first issue of each journal and usually ends within five years of the present.

We subscribe to the following JSTOR collections:
19th Century British Pamphlets
Arts & Sciences I
Arts & Sciences II
Arts & Sciences III
Arts & Sciences IV
Arts & Sciences V
Arts & Sciences VI
Arts & Sciences VII
Arts & Science VIII
Arts & Sciences IX
Arts & Sciences X
Arts & Sciences XI
Arts & Sciences XII
Arts & Sciences XIII
Arts & Sciences XIV
Arts & Sciences XV
Biological Sciences
Business I
Business II
Business IV
Global Plants
Hebrew Journals Collection
Ireland Collection
Life Sciences Collection
Lives of Literature
Public Health Collection
Security Studies Collection
Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa
Sustainability Collection
World Heritage Sites: Africa
Academic OneFile

Database of scholarly journals and other trusted periodicals.

A Gale Cengage database that includes Agriculture Collection, Communication & Mass Media Collection, Educator's Reference Complete, Expanded Academic ASAP, and LegalTrac.
Academic Search Premier
Academic Search Premier is a giant database that covers more than 8,000 journals, 85% of which are peer-reviewed and over 55% are full text, and full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. It covers a wide variety of disciplines.

An EBSCOhost database provided by the AVL
Humanities Full Text
Access to this content is through OmniFile Full Text Mega.
Nearly 400 English language periodicals in the diverse subject areas of the humanities. Among the disciplines included are literature and language, history, philosophy, archaeology, classical studies, folklore, gender studies, performing arts, history, religion and theology.

An EBSCOhost database
Literary Reference Source Plus
Detailed information on the most studied authors and their works - from antiquity to present day.

An EBSCOhost database
Literature Resource Center
Find up-to-date biographies, overviews, full-text criticisms, audio interviews, and reviews on writers from all eras.

A Gale Cengage database provided by the AVL.
Included in Literary Sources database as well.
OmniFile Full Text Mega
A multi-disciplinary periodical database containing full-text articles from 2300 publications. Coverage includes the social sciences, humanities, education, general sciences, arts and literature, business, and law.

An EBSCOhost database

Plays
Plays provided through LitFinder.

more... less...

A Gale Cengage database provided by the AVL

Digital Theatre Plus

Digital Theatre Plus
Films

Library of Congress Classifications and Subject Headings for Drama

Drama and Theatre can be found on the 6th and 7th floors. The Library of Congress classifies Drama within the PN 1600-3307 range. Individual playwrights are classified according to their nationalities and last names and are generally located on the 7th floor. Collections of monologues are found in the PN 2080 range on the 6th floor.

HathiTrust Digital Library

HathiTrust Digital Library

Search digitized material and resources from libraries throughout the world.