These are some noteworthy titles that we have available in print and electronic form. Click on the name or cover (if available) to access the book.
Biostatistics for Public Health: a Primer by 
Community and Public Health Nursing: Evidence for Practice by
Community and Public Health Nursing, 3rd Edition Rosanna F. DeMarco, PhD, RN, PHCNS-BC, APHN-BC, FAAN; and Judith Healey-Walsh, PhD, RN Use evidence-based practice to make confident clinical decisions. Succinct, approachable, and logically organized, Community and Public Health Nursing, 3rd Edition helps you develop the critical thinking skills and complex reasoning abilities you need to connect evidence with effective decisions in community and public health practice. This extensively revised, heavily illustrated edition emphasizes an evidence-based perspective and focuses on the individual in the context of the community setting and on the global community to equip you for challenges you'll encounter throughout your nursing career. Integrated Case Studies stimulate your critical thinking and analytic skills. Evidence for Practice Briefs offer objective evidence obtained from research and guide you in making practice decisions. Practice Points highlight important practice considerations for fast reference. Student Perspectives make chapter content relatable with relevant insights from real students. Critical Thinking Questions test your ability to combine research, context, and judgment for effective critical analysis. Chapter Highlights point out key chapter content to help you study efficiently. Key Concepts and Key Terms familiarize you with concepts and terminology essential to your understanding. Objectives help you identify observable goals for the completion of each chapter. Updated Healthy People 2020 coverage and learning activities help you meet national objectives and apply concepts to real-life scenarios. Community Resources connect you to sources of help or information available in most communities.
Population-Based Nursing, Third Edition by
Praise for the First Edition: "...nicely integrates epidemiological concepts, evidence-based practice in population health, and program development and evaluation...Authors describe epidemiological research designs, research synthesis, and evidence assessment--knowledge essential for advanced practice nurses working with populations or in the community."--Journal of Community Health Nursing In its third edition, Population-Based Nursing continues to be the only advanced practice nursing text to focus on core competencies in both epidemiology and population health. This comprehensive resource delivers essential content for doctoral nursing practice (as outlined by the AACN) and encompasses the many changes in health care that affect population-based nursing. It describes the role of the advanced practice nurse in identifying and mitigating health care disparities at the local, national, and global levels and provides guidance on how to conduct community assessments. A strong foundation in epidemiologic methodology is provided, including coverage of mortality measures, testing validity and reliability, study designs, risk and casualty assessment, and data analysis and interpretation. Updated throughout, the third edition includes new and expanded topics such as the role of accreditation in validating population-based practice and programs; value-based care; and the use of technology, data, and information systems in population health. The text includes links to online resources and a robust instructor manual with exercises and discussion questions. In addition to its value as a primary textbook in DNP and MSN programs, the text also serves as valuable resource for advanced practice nursing professionals. Key Features: Includes a strong focus on both epidemiology and population-based nursing competenciesAddresses the Essentials of Doctoral Education for Advanced Nursing Practice as outlined by the AACNIncludes new and expanded topics such as the role of accreditation in validating population-based practice and programs; value-based care; and the use of technology, data, and information systems in population healthExamines how technological innovation and social networking impact the development of interventions and population outcomesProvides links to online resources and a robust Instructor Manual with exercises and discussion questionsPurchase includes access to the ebook for use on most mobile devices or computers
Public Health Nursing: Population-centered Health Care in the Community by
Ensure you have a solid understanding of community and public health nursing with this industry standard text! Public Health Nursing: Population-Centered Health Care in the Community, 10th Edition provides up-to-date information on issues such as infectious diseases, natural and man-made disasters, and healthcare policies affecting individuals, families, and communities. This new edition has been thoroughly updated to reflect current data, issues, trends and practices presented in an easy-to-understand, accessible format. Additionally, real-life scenarios show examples of health promotion and public health interventions. Ideal for BSN and Advanced Practice Nursing programs, this comprehensive, bestselling text will provide you with a greater understanding of public health nursing! Focus on Quality and Safety Education for Nurses boxes give examples of how quality and safety goals, knowledge, competencies and skills, and attitudes can be applied to nursing practice in the community. Healthy People boxes highlight goals and objectives for?promoting the nation's health and wellness over the next decade. Linking Content to Practice boxes provide examples of the nurse's role in caring for individuals, families, and populations in community health settings. Evidence-Based Practice boxes illustrate the use and application of the latest research findings in public/community health nursing. UNIQUE! Separate chapters on healthy cities, the Intervention Wheel, and nursing centers describe different approaches to community health initiatives. Levels of Prevention boxes identify specific nursing interventions at the primary, secondary, and tertiary levels. End-of-chapter Practice Application scenarios, Key Points, and Clinical Decision-Making activities promote application and in-depth understanding of chapter content. UPDATED Content and figures reflect current data, issues, trends, and practices. How To boxes provide you with practical application practice. NEW! Check Your Practice boxes added throughout feature scenarios and discussion questions to promote active learning.
Public Health Nursing: Practicing Population-Based Care by To find books on a topic, you can either search the Library Catlaog using the above search widget or you can search one of the following databases:
This link opens in a new window
Caring for Equality: a History of African American Health and Healthcare by
African Americans today continue to suffer disproportionately from heart disease, diabetes, and other health problems. In Caring for Equality David McBride chronicles the struggle by African Americans and their white allies to improve poor black health conditions as well as inadequate medical care--caused by slavery, racism, and discrimination--since the arrival of African slaves in America. Black American health progress resulted from the steady influence of what David McBride calls the health equality ideal: the principle that health of black Americans could and should be equal to that of whites and other Americans. Including a timeline, selected primary sources, and an extensive bibliographic essay, McBride's book provides a superb starting point for students and readers who want to explore in greater depth this important and understudied topic in African American history.
Caring for Hindu Patients by 
Immigrant and Refugee Children and Families - Culturally Responsive Practice by
Designed for students of social work, public policy, ethnic studies, community development, and migration studies, Immigrant and Refugee Children and Families provides the best knowledge for culturally responsive practice with immigrant children, adolescents, and families. This textbook summarizes the unique circumstances of Asian/Pacific Islander, Latino, South Asian, African, and Middle Eastern immigrant and refugee populations and the challenges faced by the social service systems, including child welfare, juvenile justice, education, health, and mental health care, that attempt to serve them. Each chapter features key terms, study questions, and resource lists, and the book meets many Council on Social Work Education Educational Policy and Accreditation Standards (EPAS) competencies. The book addresses the policy landscape affecting immigrant and refugee children in the United States, and a final section examines current and future approaches to advocacy.
The Latino Patient by
Latinos are dramatically changing the demographic profile of the United States. Developing a strong command of the Spanish language is not a realistic goal for most health care providers wishing to establish rapport with their Latino patients. Yet, growing numbers of health professionals are realizing the importance of understanding Latino cultural values as they impact the clinical encounter. Such knowledge can enhance their ability to communicate with and treat Latino patients effectively and respectfully. The Latino Patient provides an in-depth exploration of Latino diversity; relevant cultural values; health status, beliefs and practices; and effective communication strategies. The author has developed an original, practice-oriented model that leads the health practitioner from greeting the patient to ultimately negotiating treatment. The book is hands-on, providing numerous illustrative vignettes gleaned from the author's experience.
The Spirit Catches You and You Fall Down: A Hmong Child , Her American Doctors, and the Collision of Two Cultures / by 
