LibGuides: Family and Consumer Sciences: Library Resources & Course Guides

Library Subscribed Databases for FCS Research (ID Required)

The Department of Family and Consumer Sciences (FCS) offers degree programs including Bachelor of Science degree in Family and Consumer Sciences with a concentration in Child Development, Dietetics, Human Sciences, Merchandising, Hospitality and Culinary Management and Bachelor of Science degree in Education with a teaching field in Family and Consumer Sciences. JSU Library provides resources for curriculum support. The following list provides FCS related and interdisciplinary databases (ID may require for access):

ACLS Humanities E-Book
A collection of scholarly books in many areas of the humanities.

Individual titles are accessible through the Library Catalog.
Agricola
Indexes literature of veterinary medicine. It contains citations to journal articles (many with abstracts), government publications, technical reports, and conference proceedings. Coverage is 1970-present.

The catalog of the National Agricultural Library which is part of the US Department of Agriculture
Biography In Context
Discover the world's most influential people by searching narrative biographies, news, magazine, and multimedia content.

Provided by Gale Cengage
Business Collection
Understand the activities of companies and industries worldwide through leading business and trade publications. Updated daily.

A Gale Cengage database provided by the AVL
Business Insights: Global
Compare global economies, countries, and industries with in-depth analysis on over 400,000 companies.

Provided by Gale Cengage
EBSCOhost
A collection of databases covering various subject areas and directed at various age groups. Includes full text of newspapers and encyclopedias, ebooks and various images, pamphlets, and brochures.

EBSCOhost databases provided by the AVL
EBSCOhost's Education Databases
A collection of EBSCOhost databases covering education areas. See list of available databases in this group.

EBSCOhost databases some of which provided by the AVL. Databases included in this group are Academic Search Premier, ERIC, Professional Development Collection, PsychINFO, PsycARTICLES, and Education Full Text.
Gale Databases
Journal articles, ebooks and videos in all subject areas including FCS areas.
JSTOR
Full text online backfiles of core scholarly journals on many subjects. JSTOR's full-text coverage begins at the first issue of each journal and usually ends within five years of the present.

We subscribe to the following JSTOR collections:
19th Century British Pamphlets
Arts & Sciences I
Arts & Sciences II
Arts & Sciences III
Arts & Sciences IV
Arts & Sciences V
Arts & Sciences VI
Arts & Sciences VII
Arts & Science VIII
Arts & Sciences IX
Arts & Sciences X
Arts & Sciences XI
Arts & Sciences XII
Arts & Sciences XIII
Arts & Sciences XIV
Arts & Sciences XV
Biological Sciences
Business I
Business II
Business IV
Global Plants
Hebrew Journals Collection
Ireland Collection
Life Sciences Collection
Lives of Literature
Public Health Collection
Security Studies Collection
Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa
Sustainability Collection
World Heritage Sites: Africa
MedlinePlus
Health and medicine.
Mometrix eLibrary
Test preparation products for a variety of examinations
ProQuest Databases
With 20 sub databases providing news and articles, this databases covers a variety of subject areas including FCS.
Proquest One Academic
The world’s largest curated collection of journals, ebooks, dissertations, news, video and primary sources, all in one place.

With ProQuest One Academic, four core multi-disciplinary products – ProQuest Central, Academic Complete, Academic Video Online and ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global– are now available and cross-searchable on the same user-friendly, responsive, mobile-enabled ProQuest platform.
PubMed Central
Access journals and other publications for the biomedical and life sciences.
Sage Journals Online
SAGE Publications include over 447 subscribed journals in Business, Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology and Medicine.
ScienceDirect
ournal articles in a variety of subject areas, but the strengths of the database currently lie in: life sciences, engineering, earth sciences, pharmacology, and textiles.

An Elsevier database
Statista
Quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas of interest or markets.
Vocational & Career Collection (EBSCO)
Covers trade and industry-related periodicals. Contains full text from >350 titles.

An EBSCOhost database provided by the AVL
Vocations and Careers Collection
General career guides to highly specialized industry journals.

The Vocations and Careers Collection is a special collection that is part of Gale Cengage's Academic OneFile, which is provided by the AVL.
Westlaw
Law, Supreme Court, federal and state cases, legal encyclopedias and law reviews, statutes and regulations, federal administrative materials and etc.

SafetyLit
Provides abstracts of reports from researchers who work in the more than 30 distinct professional disciplines relevant to preventing and researching unintentional injuries, violence, and self-harm. Among these are agriculture, anthropology, architecture, economics, education, engineering specialties, ergonomics and human factors, faith scholars, health and medicine, law and law enforcement, psychology, social work, sociology, and other fields.

Nutrition Care Manual
Evidence-based nutrition education materials, cutting-edge clinical nutrition resources, and a customizable diet manual

Video Databases at JSU Library

JSULibrary provides access to the following video databases (ID may be required for accessing):

Academic Video Online: Premium (AVON)
More than 40,000 full video titles (not just clips) and well over 20,000 hours of content.
Films on Demand
Over 31,000 academic-level educational streaming videos covering most subject areas, from Films Media Group.
Kanopy (New Rquestes Limited to Faculty Only)
Streaming video resource with a broad collection of over 26,000 films on every subject imaginable and from leading producers such as Criterion Collection, The Great Courses, New Day Films, HBO California Newsreel, and more.

Major subjects covered include: art, business, education, global studies, languages, health, communication, sciences, and social sciences.

TeachingBooks
Made for use by students, educators, and librarians, TeachingBooks is a comprehensive collection of audio, video, and digital resources that personalize and enrich connections to books commonly read by children and young adults. The database provides more than 257,000 resources on books, including 14,000 read-along audio book performances and 1,600 complete book readings.

Professor, Law/Technology Librarian

Reference Librarian

Email Me

Contact:

Houston Cole Library
Jacksonville State University
700 Pelham Rd N
Jacksonville, AL 36265
256-263-4917
256-782-8034
libweb@jsu.edu