It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Doctor of Nursing Practice (DNP): Find Books
The Doctor of Nursing Practice page gives you links to key resources to help you start your research
Formulating a Differential Diagnosis for the Advanced Practice Provider by Jacqueline Rhoads; Julie C. Penick (Editor)Praise for the First Edition: "Developing a comprehensive differential diagnosis for a specific complaint is a daunting task even for experienced advanced practice nurses. This user-friendly clinical guide provides a strategy and standard format for working through this complex task. It is a wonderful tool for both students and new advanced practice nurses..." -- 5 stars, Doody's This easy-access clinical guide to over 70 commonly seen symptoms, written for advanced practice provider (APP) students and new practitioners, describes a step-by-step process for obtaining a reliable patient history, choosing the appropriate physical exam, and using the patient history and physical exam findings to form a differential diagnosis. The second edition continues to include the case study approach, and is updated to incorporate 22 new symptoms along with contributions by a new editor, who is a leader in holistic health. The guide is distinguished by several unique features including focused patient history questions and responses, physical exam findings, a differential diagnosis table (clearly comparing potential diagnostic choices based on symptoms), a diagnostic examination table (including estimated costs and codes), and a case study summary highlighting the critical thinking process. Symptoms are presented alphabetically in a systematic, unfolding case study approach and include chief complaint, presenting history, past history, and explicit methodology for determining correct diagnosis. KEY FEATURES: Describes over 70 (22 new to the second edition) commonly presented symptoms with unfolding case scenariosOffers a step-by-step approach to building clinical decision-making skillsProvides quick access to differential diagnosis, requisite diagnostic tests, and clinical decision makingGuides APP students and novice practitioners in conducting a problem-focused history and examinationIncludes unique differential diagnosis tables and diagnostic examinations tables that help clarify strategies for diagnostic decision making
A Guide to Disseminating Your DNP Project by Marilyn Smith-StonerA Guide to Disseminating Your DNP Project provides an effective, proven blueprint that enables students to disseminate their DNP projects. This book describes the process of disseminating the final written assignment, as recommended by the American Academy of Colleges of Nursing (AACN) for graduation from a DNP program. For all DNP graduates looking to make a positive impact on health care today, dissemination of knowledge and research is imperative to initiate quality improvement effectively. By sharing these projects, DNPs can improve health care. This book provides step-by-step instruction for all methods of dissemination, from print to digital media. The text provides detailed instructions for each type of dissemination and highlights specific resources and their benefits and drawbacks. It includes explanations of how to use social media, web-based platforms, and alternative artistic means. A Guide to Disseminating Your DNP Project contains a unique set of resources for the DNP graduate. KEY FEATURES: Checklists that illustrate the process of transforming a project to a manuscript or other presentationUser-friendly graphics and diagrams that summarize contentAn Appendix with over 50 links to online resources for disseminationA comprehensive Faculty Guide
Publication Date: 2017-10-01
A Nurse's Step-By-Step Guide to Writing Your Dissertation or Capstone by Karen Roush; Sigma Theta Tau International StaffFelling overwhelmed with the mere thought of writing your dissertation or capstone project? Wondering how to begin and where to find the time? You are not alone. Earning your advanced degree is an extraordinary accomplishment, but completing those final stages can feel like a daunting task to candidates. A Nurse's Step-By-Step Guide to Writing Your Dissertation or Capstone is a straightforward how-to guide. This book is intentionally concise because, let's be honest, the last thing a busy candidate needs is another unwieldy, doorstop-sized book. Packed with practical steps and tools, this book will help you plan, document, organize, and write your dissertation or capstone. Don't go it alone; let author and fellow dissertation survivor Dr. Karen Roush help you get from square one to DONE. Book jacket.
Leadership from the Outside In by Greer Lita Glazer; Joyce J. FitzpatrickAwarded second place in the 2013 AJN Book of the Year Awards in the History and Pubic Policy category. With the goal of advancing quality health care, this innovative text moves beyond the often insular world of nurse leadership values to offer the perspectives of leaders in other health care disciplines that interface with nurses. These professionals describe and analyze their interactions with nurse leaders regarding their role in quality health care delivery, patient safety, health care reform, and partnering outside the profession, along with suggested improvements. The book will enable nurse leaders to clarify strengths and opportunities for growth and to develop strategies for effective collaborations that are necessary for advancing and transforming our health care system. Each chapter is written by an accomplished health care leader outside the nursing profession, and follows a consistent format that includes definitions of leadership, best and worst professional experience with nurse leaders (in terms of strategic vision, risk-taking, creativity, interpersonal and communication effectiveness, inspiring change and self-knowledge), lessons learned, and implications for leaders within and outside nursing. Key Features: Offers unique views of nursing leadership from healthcare professionals in other arenas Discusses strengths and weaknesses of nurse leaders and leadership values for inter-professional collaboration Reflects the Robert Wood Johnson Executive Nurse fellowship values for excellence Promotes inter-professional strategies to advance health care reform on a national level Designed for use in graduate nursing leadership courses including DNP
Advanced Nursing Research: From Theory to Practice by Ruth M. TappenAdvanced Nursing Research: From Theory to Practice, Second Edition is a graduate-level text takes a practical approach to preparing research proposals and carrying out research studies. The Second Edition will continue to focus on the conduct of research with an emphasis on the connection to evidence-based practice, quality improvement, and the use of aggregate data. The outstanding feature of this text is its reality-based approach to the actual conduct of research. Complex topics are addressed in a readable manner and the author brings her own current experience and anecdotes about conducting a wide range of research studies to lend a real-life element to the text. The text reflects current practice and current thinking about research and integrates qualitative and quantitative methods, including emerging mixed methods.
Call Number: RT 81.5 .T37 2016
Publication Date: 2015
Introducing Research and Evidence-Based Practice for Nursing and Healthcare Professionals by Jeremy JolleyResearch can seem difficult to get to grips with. However, at the heart of this new edition is the view that research is essentially a simple activity, the principles of which can be readily understood by students new to the subject. Each chapter guides the reader to uncover the 'mysteries' of research, exposing each aspect in turn, while demonstrating how research in healthcare is a practical activity, orientated directly to patient care. Fully updated to refer to the latest sources and studies, the third edition includes: a new chapter on systematic literature views; a new chapter on research ethics; a completely revised chapter on evidence-based practice which now focuses more tightly on the implementation of research and other forms of evidence. This book is designed for all students of nursing and allied health professions at any level but who find themselves studying research for the first time. Research is illustrated through examples of activities familiar to students from their daily lives, which help build confidence in undertaking research and evidence-based practice.
Statistics for Nursing: a Practical Approach by Elizabeth HeaveyEach new print copy includes Navigate 2 Advantage Access that unlocks a comprehensive and interactive eBook, student practice activities and assessments, a full suite of instructor resources, and learning analytics reporting tools. Statistics for Nursing: A Practical Approach, Third Edition is designed in accordance with the Conversation Theory of Gordon Pask and presents the complicated topic of statistics in an understandable manner for entry level nurses. The underlying principle of this design is to give students the opportunity to practice statistics while they learn statistics. The text accomplishes this through the inclusion of relevant clinical examples followed by end of chapter application exercises. The Third Edition has been updated with practice activities which enable students to apply the content they have learned. In addition, the authors have included new research articles to develop and reinforce literature critiquing skills. These new features provide more opportunities for students to apply the concepts learned while the explanations are beneficial to clinical experts interested in further developing evidence-based skills. This text meets the needs of both undergraduate nursing research students who need to learn how to critically analyze literature as well as graduate DNP students who must also be familiar with statistics for nursing in accordance with the rigor of the DNP program. New to the Third Edition: * Additional review questions * New and updated graphs and figures * Updated lesson content for computer application exercises