Skip to Main Content

AN 350: Biological Anthropology: How to Find Books

Where to Start...

Start with the Library's online catalog to find both print and electronic books.

Online Books

Google Books
find citations to thousands of online books. Some charge a fee, but others are fully available online for free.
HathiTrust
a group of over 50 libraries offer this ebook collection with many items available full-text if in the public domain

GEM Finder Book Search

Search for Books

To find books on a topic, you can either search the Library Catalog using the above search widget or you can search one of the following databases to locate e-books:

ACLS Humanities E-Book This link opens in a new window
A collection of scholarly books in many areas of the humanities.
Individual titles are accessible through the Library Catalog.
Ebook Central
Search for and read full-text e-books online. Over 100,000 titles available in psychology, business, and education. Full-text available.
EBSCO eBook Collection
Books through EBSCOhost
An EBSCOhost product

Internet Archive
Free digital resources: movies, music, books, etc.

Finding Books at HCL

JaxCat Basic Search
gives the call numbers and locations of books in Houston Cole Library. Select "Advanced Search" for the most effective searches.
GEM Finder Advanced Search
searches for books as well as articles and other materials. To limit your search to books, click into "Advanced Search" and checkmark the "Catalog only" option before searching.

WorldCat
Search for books, videos, and more from libraries worldwide.
An OCLC database