LibGuides: Lang&Lit: EH403, 404, & 562 -- Shakespeare: Find Articles

Electronic Databases

Start with these Databases to Locate Articles

To find articles on a topic, you will need to search in databases that index the articles in various online journals or digitized, electronic versions of books. For information on American authors, you may want to start with the following databases. For additional databases, redirect to the LibGuide for English Language and Literature: Electronic Databases by Subject, linked at the bottom of this box.

Gale Literature
- This link opens in a new window
Gale Literary Sources integrates full-text literary content with metadata and subject indexing and provides workflow tools to analyze information. You can research authors and their works, literary movements and genres. Search across your library's Literature databases to find full text of literary works, journal articles, literature criticism, reviews, biographical information and overviews.
A Gale Cengage database
Contemporary Authors
- This link opens in a new window
Biographies and bibliographies of thousands of U.S. and international authors. Continuously updated.
A Gale Cengage database provided by the AVL.
Included in Literary Sources database.
Contemporary Literary Criticism
- This link opens in a new window
Critical essays available through the Gale Literature Criticism database.
Limit your search to just Contemporary Literary Criticism results by entering that title in the "by publication title" limiter box.

A Gale Cengage database provided by the AVL.
Dictionary of Literary Biography
- This link opens in a new window
Explore the lives, works, and careers of the world's most influential literary figures from all eras and genres; multi-series.
A Gale Cengage database provided by the AVL.
Included in Literary Sources database.
Literary Reference Source Plus
Detailed information on the most studied authors and their works - from antiquity to present day.
An EBSCOhost database
Literature Resource Center
- This link opens in a new window
Find up-to-date biographies, overviews, full-text criticisms, audio interviews, and reviews on writers from all eras.
A Gale Cengage database provided by the AVL.
Included in Literary Sources database as well.
Scribner Writers Online
- This link opens in a new window
Browse original scholarly essays on authors from around the world. Places authors and their works in personal and historical context.
A Gale Cengage database provided by the AVL.
Included in Literary Sources database.
Twayne's Author Series
- This link opens in a new window
Find in-depth critical introductions to the lives and works of major writers. Includes influences of literary movements.
A Gale Cengage database provided by the AVL.
Included in Literary Sources database.
Wiley Online Library
Journal articles on a variety of subjects.

Language and Literature: Electronic Databases by Subject
This LibGuide is the "Electronic Databases by Subject" guide to be used for searching the Houston Cole Library's electronic databases for subject matter pertaining to language and literature.

Gale Database Search

Database Cross-Searching

To cross-search EBSCOhost, Gale/Cengage, or JSTOR databases:

1) Go to the library's Electronic Resources page (http://www.jsu.edu/library/resources/index.html)

2) Scroll down to Frequently Used Resources

3) Select the database vendor you wish to cross-search

4) Follow instructions provided by the vendor

Databases

Here is a list of other useful resources:

American Literary Periodicals
Literature and literary criticism; PowerSearch for American Literary Periodicals from 1782-1891
Part of the AAS Historical Periodicals Thematic Collection
American Literary Periodicals, 1782-1834
Literature and literary criticism
Part of the AAS Historical Periodicals Thematic Collection

The works of many notable American writers can be found here, including early pieces by Washington Irving and Charles Brockden Brown. These periodicals and the authors who contributed to them catalyzed distinctly American literary movements that marked a sharp break from European literary traditions.

Within this archive, researchers will find rich material that not only provides insight into a developing literary canon but a radically changing American society as a whole.
American Literary Periodicals, 1835-1858
Literature and literary criticism
Part of the AAS Historical Periodicals Thematic Collection

This collection represents the higher forms of American literature and literary criticism. Many of America's most famous 19th-century writers found their start and, in many cases, their livelihoods by writing for these periodicals. Notables range from James Fennimore Cooper to Edgar Allen Poe.

The work of these notable American authors appeared in several periodicals devoted to literature and the arts, such as The New York Mirror, and more general publications like Putnam's Monthly and Ralph Waldo Emerson's Massachusetts Quarterly Review. Researchers will find literature broad in scope and rich in depth in this sweeping collection.
American Literary Periodicals, 1859-1891
Literature and literary criticism
Part of the AAS Historical Periodicals Thematic Collection

Representing the higher forms of literature and literary criticism in the late 19th century, this collection provides scholars with a well-rounded representation of American literature as told from many of the most notable authors from this time.

The American Literary Periodicals, 1859-1891 collection includes notable authors such as Mark Twain and Walt Whitman who were published in the definitive literary periodicals of their age. Titles include Lippincott's Magazine, The Galaxy, The Ladies' Repository, and Littell's Living Age.
Periodicals of the American West, 1779-1881
This collection draws from the publications that created the literary and cultural traditions of the Young America and Manifest Destiny movements. Through a variety of periodicals, this collection provides scholars with a unique snapshot into the ideas that fueled America's westward expansion.
Part of the AAS Historical Periodicals Thematic Collection
Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture & Law
This HeinOnline collection brings together, all essential legal materials on slavery in the United States and the English-speaking world. This includes every statute passed by every colony and state on slavery, every federal statute dealing with slavery, and all reported state and federal cases on slavery.

Lang&Lit: EH403, 404, & 562 -- Shakespeare: Find Articles

Page Overview

Electronic Resources

Find Journal(s)

Who has access?

Where can I access these resources?

How Do I Access These Resources?

Electronic Databases

Start with these Databases to Locate Articles

Gale Database Search

Database Cross-Searching

Databases