LibGuides: Human Behavior & the Social Environment: Collecting Data

Census

State and County Quick Facts
Access statistics on your community's state or county.
Explore Census Data
Search for your city, county, or region to explore census information.

Federal Agencies

A-Z Index of U.S. Government Departments and Agencies
Look up appropriate Federal Agency that might have information on your local community. For example if you wished to find what health resources your community have you could look for an agency that began with "health". Looking alphabetically in the "H" area you would find a link to the "Health Resources and Services Administration". Clinking on the link will take you to the agency homepage where you will find another link that says "Find a Health Care Center Near You." Click on that link and you will find a search screen where you can type in the name of your community (example: Weaver, AL) and get a list of health services with the distances to the services added in. It will provide: the name of the service, address, phone number, miles from Weaver, AL to the service, with a map if you wish, along with a link to their web site if they have one. You can also use the search box at the top of the page, for example: healthy food access in Alabama
Bureau of Labor Statistics
Employment and Unemployment statistics along with other labor data. Some statsitics at the local level. Use the search box at the top of the screen to find more information. For example: Calhoun County, Alabama
Data.gov
Site that can display many data sets at once related to where it is on the map. Provided by the Office of Citizen Services and Innovative Technologies.

Government, Non-Profit and Sectarian Organizations

Alabama Department of Mental Health
Serving more than 200,000 Alabama citizens with mental illnesses, intellectual disabilities, and substance use disorders.
Behavioral Health Treatment Services Locator
"An on-line source of information for persons seeking treatment facilities in the United States or U.S. Territories for substance abuse/addiction and/or mental health problems."
more...less...
"The Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA) is the agency within the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services that leads public health efforts to advance the behavioral health of the nation. SAMHSA's mission is to reduce the impact of substance abuse and mental illness on America's communities."
Child Welfare Information Gateway
Numerous links to issues of Child Welfare. See in particular the links at the bottom of the page.
more...less...
"Child Welfare Information Gateway promotes the safety, permanency, and well-being of children, youth, and families by connecting child welfare, adoption, and related professionals as well as the general public to information, resources, and tools covering topics on child welfare, child abuse and neglect, out-of-home care, adoption, and more. A service of the Children's Bureau, Administration for Children and Families, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, we provide access to print and electronic publications, websites, databases, and online learning tools for improving child welfare practice, including resources that can be shared with families."
County Health Departments
A list of Alabama County Health Departments
more...less...
"County health departments work to preserve, protect, and enhance the general health and environment of the community by:
- providing health assessment information to the community.
- providing leadership in public health policy.
- assuring access to quality health services and information, preventing disease, and enforcing health regulations.
Domestic Violence
Information about domestic violence in Alabama. Links are not clickable, you will need to copy and paste web addresses to view other sites.
more...less...
"Alabama's compensation law covers a variety of expenses for which compensation is paid. The Alabama Crime Victims Compensation Commission provides the only substantial financial compensation to victims for expenses for personal injuries including medical, funeral and counseling bills."
Food and Nutrition
State listing of Administrators of the Food Distribution Program.
more...less...
"The Food and Nutrition Service (FNS) and Center for Nutrition Policy and Promotion (CNPP) are agencies of USDA’s Food, Nutrition, and Consumer Services. FNS works to end hunger and obesity through the administration of 15 federal nutrition assistance programs including WIC, Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP), and school meals. In partnership with State and Tribal governments, our programs serve one in four Americans during the course of a year. Working with our public, private and non-profit partners, our mission is to increase food security and reduce hunger by providing children and low-income people access to food, a healthful diet and nutrition education in a way that supports American agriculture and inspires public confidence. No American should have to go hungry."
Homeless Service Organizations in Alabama
List of organizations that help the homeless in Alabama
more...less...
"Alabama has eight continuums of care organizations that coordinate services for the homeless regionally. If you are homeless and need help, or if you would like to help others, these organizations may put you in touch with those who provide direct services."
Hunger Relief Organizations
A list of Government, Faith-Based and other types of organizations that provide relief from hunger.
more...less...
"The Food and Nutrition Information Center (FNIC) is a leader in on-line global nutrition information. Located at the National Agricultural Library (NAL) (link is external) of USDA (link is external), the FNIC Web site contains over 2500 links to current and reliable nutrition information."
Intellectual Disabilities Service Providers
An Alabama County list of organizations that help those with Intellectual Disabilities
more...less...
"The Alabama Department of Mental Health envisions a future for Alabama when everyone with a mental health need at any state of life has access to effective care and supports essential for living, working, learning and participating fully in the community with dignity, respect and hope."
IRS Exempt Organizations
A large database that includes listings or organizations that are exempt from paying taxes: Charitable, Church and Religious, Political, Private and other non-profit organizations.
To search this database do the following:
1. Click on the "Exempt Organizations Select Check Tool" button.
2. Click on the circle next to "Have filed form 990-N'
3. Type in the name of the City and choose your state then Click the Search Button.
4. When results show, click on the name of the Organization for more information. There should be contact information.
Mental Illness Provider Directory
An alphabetical state-wide directory of Mental Illness organizations.
more...less...
"Leading Alabama’s efforts to enhance the health and well-being of those impacted by mental illnesses, developmental disabilities, substance abuse and addiction."
Mental Illness; Intellectual Disability; and Substance Use Disorder
A county-by-county listing of phone numbers to request help and/or information.
more...less...
"Through community service providers, the Alabama Department
of Mental Health offers help and assistance for persons with mental illness, intellectual disabilities, and/or substance use disorders."
Resources for Refugees
Click on the links: "For Parents" or "For Providers" or "For Partners" to see a comprehensive list of state resources.
more...less...
"Child Care Aware®, a program of Child Care Aware® of America, is partly funded by the Office of Child Care(OCC), Administration for Children and Families (ACF), U.S. Department of Health & Human Services."

State and Local Data

Alabama.gov
The Official website of the State of Alabama. Search on the name of your community in the search box. community
Alabama ARISE
Arise Citizens' Policy Project (ACPP), founded in 1994, is a statewide nonprofit, nonpartisan coalition of 150 congregations and community groups and hundreds of individuals united in their belief that low-income people are suffering because of state policy decisions. Under Resources, be sure to check out the Fact Sheets.
Alabama Directory
Links to Counties, Cities, Agencies and personnel.
Alabama Possible
Alabama Possible's data sheet about poverty throughout the state.
Alabama Public Health: Vital Records
The Center for Health Statistics operates the vital records system and collects and tabulates health-related statistical data for the state of Alabama.
Alabama State Department of Education: Data Center
Data about students in Alabama.
Associations of County Commissions of Alabama
Choose your County and then look under "Links" for your community.
Calhoun County Chamber of Commerce
A directory of town officials in Calhoun County.
CDC Sortable Stats
This site compiles data from various published CDC and federal sources into a format that allows users to view, sort, and analyze data at state/territory, regional, and national levels.
Center for Business and Economic Research
Includes Income, Poverty and Employment statistics along with other types for the State of Alabama.
Kids Count Data Center
A project of the Annie E. Casey Foundation, KIDS COUNT is the premier source for data on child and family well-being in the United States. Access hundreds of indicators, download data and create reports and graphics on the KIDS COUNT Data Center that support smart decisions about children and families.
State and County Quick Facts
"QuickFacts includes statistics for all states and counties, and for cities and towns with more than 5,000 people."
Switchboard
Find businesses, physicians and other types of services in the local area.

Human Behavior & the Social Environment: Collecting Data

The following resources provide information concerning the challenges facing your communities.

Census

Federal Agencies

Government, Non-Profit and Sectarian Organizations

State and Local Data