Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Biology: Find Articles

This guide is designed to help you find materials available from the Houston Cole Library for research in biology.

Electronic Resources

There are a number of electronic resources you can use for research in your area. The databases on this page are some of the more useful ones.  You can also search for a specific journal using the search box below. If you cannot find what you need, please contact the Subject Specialist.

Find Journal(s)

Search for Journal Title
Limit Your Results

Finding Articles

Who has access?

If you are faculty, staff, or currently enrolled in classes at Jacksonville State University, you can access the Library's electronic resources from your home computer.

Where can I access these resources?

Access is granted through an authentication application called EZproxy. It is very easy to use, and it allows our users to access our resources from any browser (Internet Explorer, Firefox, Chrome, etc.) or service provider (AOL, Mindspring, etc.).

How Do I Access These Resources?

Access is granted through the same credentials you use for MyJSU.  When you select any of our electronic resources, databases or journals, you will be routed to MyJSU.

MyJSU Login Screenshot

It is important to note that users will still be verified through the Library's system, so if there is a problem with your record in the Library’s System, you will be prompted to contact us at 256.782.5758 or 1-800-231-5291.

Special Note

NOTE: Due to license agreements, some journals and/or specific issues may not be available in full-text.

Finding Journal Articles (Databases)

Start with these databases to locate articles

To find articles on a topic, you will need to search in databases that index the articles in various journals. Depending on your topic, you may want to start with the following:

Research Tips

  • To find an individual article when you already have a citation, use the default GEM Finder search on the Library’s homepage. Start by searching by Title from the drop-down selections.
  • To find an online journal, click on the radio button for Journal Title List on the Library's homepage to conduct a search using Publication Finder. You can then choose the year, volume, and issue of the journal if it is available.
  • If a journal is not available, you can request an article from another library through Interlibrary Loan, if you are eligible.
  • Found your article? Check the subject headings/keywords for search terms and look at the references used by the author(s)
  • Need to find the article again? One method is to export the reference to RefWorks, which saves the URL
  • Find background information on your topic in references like AccessScience.
  • Look for articles marked Review Articles in databases.
  • Need help with starting your research? Try Sage Research Methods
  • Use Boolean operators (AND, OR, NOT)
  • Make a list of searches/keywords that worked, and which databases you used

Open Access Journal Resources

Google Scholar Search

Google Scholar Search

Health and Sciences Librarian

Paula Barnett-Ellis's picture
Paula Barnett-Ellis
Contact:
9th Floor
Houston Cole Library
Jacksonville State University
700 Pelham Road North
Jacksonville, AL 36265-1602
256-782-5249
256-782-5872
pbarnett@jsu.edu
Website