LibGuides: Athletic Training: Find Articles (Databases)

Electronic Resources

There are a number of electronic resources you can use to research your area. The databases on this page are some of the more useful ones. You can also search for a specific journal using the search box below. If you cannot find what you need, please contact the Subject Specialist.

Education Librarian:
Laurie Heathcock
lheathcock@jsu.edu
(256) 782-5245

Who has access?

If you are faculty, staff, or currently enrolled in classes at Jacksonville State University, you can access the Library's electronic resources from your home computer.

Where can I access these resources?

Access is granted through an authentication application called EZproxy. It is very easy to use, and it allows our users to access our resources from any browser (Internet Explorer, Firefox, Chrome, etc.) or service provider (AOL, Mindspring, etc.).

How Do I Access These Resources?

Access is granted through the same credentials you use for MyJSU. When you select any of our electronic resources, databases or journals, you will be routed to MyJSU.

It is important to note that users will still be verified through the Library's system, so if there is a problem with your record in the Library’s System, you will be prompted to contact us at 256.782.5758 or 1-800-231-5291.

Special Note

NOTE: Due to license agreements, some journals and/or specific issues may not be available in full-text.

Resources

Start with these Databases to Locate Articles

To find articles on a topic, you will need to search in databases that index the articles in various journals. PLEASE NOTE! CORE JOURNALS in ATHLETIC TRAINING ARE: Journal of Athletic Training; American Journal of Sports Medicine; Orthopaedic Journal of Sports Medicine; Medicine & Science in Sports & Exercise; Physical Therapy; & Journal of Sport Rehabilitation

SPORTDiscus with Full Text
Covers sports, sports medicine, and exercise science journals and magazines. Contains over 1 million articles, with more than 25% full text coverage.
An EBSCOhost database
EBSCOhost's Education Databases
- This link opens in a new window
A collection of EBSCOhost databases covering education areas. See list of available databases in this group.
EBSCOhost databases some of which provided by the AVL. Databases included in this group are Academic Search Premier, ERIC, Professional Development Collection, PsychINFO, PsycARTICLES, and Education Full Text.
EBSCOhost's Health Databases
- This link opens in a new window
A collection of EBSCOhost databases covering medical disciplines.
An EBSCOhost database provided by the AVL. Databases included in this group are Alt HealthWatch, CINAHL Plus with Full Text, Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition.
Education Index Retrospective: 1929-1983
Journal articles in education.
An EBSCOhost database
Educator's Reference Complete
Gain insight on issues in administration, funding, and policy. Best for educators, administrators, and education students.
A Gale Cengage database which is part of Academic OneFile.
Education Database
Research on primary, secondary, and higher education, as well as special education, home schooling, adult education, and hundreds of related topics. Indexes 900 educational publications, including more than 600 of the titles in full text.
A ProQuest database | Part of ProQuest Central
ERIC (EBSCOhost)
- This link opens in a new window
Extensive index to educational literature containing some 1.5 million items, including journal articles, unpublished documents, research reports, curricular materials, etc.
ERIC (ProQuest)
Extensive index to educational literature containing some 1.5 million items, including journal articles, unpublished documents, research reports, curricular materials, etc.
ERIC (U.S. Department of Education)
Index to education publications.
Health & Medical Collection
Clinical, biomedical and health journals; dissertation research; and curriculum-based health videos supporting clinical care and education.
A ProQuest database | Part of ProQuest Central
Health Source: Consumer Edition
- This link opens in a new window
Covers information on many health topics including medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health.
An EBSCOhost database provided by the AVL.

Contains full text for over 190 journals as well as abstracts and indexing for over 205 general health publications.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
- This link opens in a new window
Index, abstracts, and full text focusing on many medical disciplines, particularly nursing and allied health.
An EBSCOhost database provided by the AVL
ProQuest Central
The largest single periodical resource available, bringing together complete databases across all major subject areas, including Business, Health and Medical, Social Sciences, Education, Science and Technology, and Humanities. Search across more than 30 databases at one time. Full-text available.
A ProQuest database.
PubMed (Medline)
- This link opens in a new window
Free government database for all things medical.
CINAHL Ultimate
The new definitive resource for nursing and allied health research, providing full text for more of the most used journals in the CINAHL index than any other database. It covers more than 50 nursing specialties and includes quick lessons, evidence-based care sheets, CEU modules and research instruments.
Gale Academic OneFile Select
- This link opens in a new window
Research academic topics ranging from art and literature to economics and the sciences. Ideal for smaller academic libraries.