/* This is the Niche Academy sync script */ Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Art and Design: Image and Video Databases

This guide is designed to help you find materials available from the Houston Cole Library for research in art and design.

Digital Image Collections

 A Race Meeting at Jacksonville, Alabama (1841) by W. S. Hedges

  • ArtVee
    Digital museum collections with a creative commons license.
  • Beinecke Rare Book & Manuscript Library
    This is a collection by Yale University that covers a wide range of images from illuminated manuscripts to early American photographs.
  • Duke University Library: Ad*Access
    This freely available resource through the Duke University Libraries’ Digital Collections contains images from over 7,000 American and Canadian advertisements from newspapers and magazines which were printed between 1911 and 1955. The advertisements are divided between five subjects: Radio, Television, Transportation, Beauty and Hygiene, and World War II.
  • Google Art Project
    Made possible with the technology of Google streetview, Art Project allows users to take virtual tours of various museums.
  • New York Public Library Digital Gallery
  • VADS
    This is primarily a design website, based in the United Kingdom.

Films on Demand: Art & Architecture

Alexander Street Press Videos

EBSCO's Image Collection

Fine Arts Librarian

Profile Photo
Tim Whittemore
Contact:
6th Floor
Houston Cole Library
Jacksonville State University
700 Pelham Rd N
Jacksonville, AL 36265
256-782-5246
256-782-5872
twhittemore@jsu.edu